
YOUR 
GROUP TERM LIFE 
INSURANCE 
PLAN 

For Employees of 

North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System 

D2656 (06/23) 



 

 

 

LC18GP-ND-NDPERS-A 1 D2656 (06/23) 

 

 

ReliaStar Life Insurance Company certifies that we have issued the group Policy listed above to the Policyholder.  The 
Policy is available for you to review if you contact the Policyholder for more information. Subject to the provisions of 
this Certificate, we certify that eligible Employees are insured for the benefits described in this Certificate. 
 
This Certificate summarizes and explains the parts of the Policy which apply to you, if you are an eligible Employee as 
defined.  The Certificate is part of the group Policy but by itself is not a policy.  This Certificate replaces any other 
Certificates we may have given you under the Policy.  Your coverage may be changed under the terms and conditions 
of the Policy.  The Policy is delivered in and is governed by the laws of the governing jurisdiction and to the extent 
applicable by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) and any amendments.  Your rights and 
benefits under the Policy will not be less than those stated in your Certificate.  
 
For purposes of effective dates and ending dates under the Policy, all days begin at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the 
Policyholder's address and end at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder's address. 
 
In this Certificate, “you” and “your” refer to an Employee who is eligible for coverage under the Policy; “we”, “us” and 
“our” refer to ReliaStar Life Insurance Company. 
 

READ THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY! Insurance benefits may be subject to certain requirements, 
reductions, limitations and exclusions. If you are not satisfied with the Certificate for any reason 
and no benefits have been paid, you may return it within 20 days after receipt for a refund of any 
Premium you paid. 
 
GROUP TERM LIFE INSURANCE 
Term life insurance provides a benefit to a named beneficiary upon the death of a person insured under a policy, with 
benefits payable only if a loss occurs within its term.  Group insurance covers a group of persons under a single policy 
issued to a group policyholder. 
 

GROUP TERM LIFE INSURANCE CERTIFICATE 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

Claims: 888-238-4840 Customer Service: 800-955-7736 http://voya.com 

POLICYHOLDER: North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 67389-7GAT2 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: August 1, 2017 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1 

GOVERNING JURISDICTION: North Dakota 
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Signed for ReliaStar Life Insurance Company at its home office in Minneapolis, Minnesota on the Policy effective date. 
 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Premiums for Basic Life Insurance are Noncontributory by insured Employees. Premiums for Supplemental Life 
Insurance are Contributory by insured Employees. 
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Policyholder’s Contact Information: 
North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System, 400 East Broadway Ave, Suite 505,  
Bismarck, North Dakota 58501 

(701) 328-3900 or (800) 803-7377   

Please read this Certificate carefully.  If you are not satisfied with it for any reason and no benefits have been 
paid, you may return it within 20 days after receipt for a refund of any Premium you paid. 

California residents: 

If you are age 65 or older on the effective date of any Contributory coverage under the 
Policy, then you have 30 days from the date you receive your initial Certificate to cancel 
your coverage and have your full Premium contribution refunded, by returning the 
Certificate to the Policyholder for cancellation without claim. 

Florida Residents: 

The benefits of the Policy providing your coverage are governed primarily by the law of a 
state other than Florida. 
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ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES) 

All Eligible Employees in Active Employment with the Employer in the United States. 

All Eligible Retirees who are receiving retirement benefits under an eligible retirement plan sponsored by the 
Employer. 

You must be an Employee of the Employer and in an eligible class. 

 

MINIMUM HOURS REQUIREMENT 

All Eligible Employees: 20 hours per week. 
All Eligible Retirees: None 

 

ELIGIBILITY WAITING PERIOD 

Persons in an eligible class on or before the Policy effective date:  end of the month in which you begin active 
employment  

Persons entering an eligible class after the Policy effective date:  end of the month in which you begin active 
employment  

All Eligible Retirees: None 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE 
Basic Life Insurance is Noncontributory by Employees. 

Eligible Class(es) Amount 

Class 1 - Permanent employees employed by a governmental unit, as that term is defined 
in section 54-52-01; this includes members of the legislative assembly, judges of the 
supreme court, paid members of state or political subdivision boards, commissions or 
associations, full-time employees of political subdivisions, elective state officers as defined 
by subsection 2 of section 54-06-01, and disabled permanent employees who are 
receiving compensation from the North Dakota workers' compensation fund 

$12,000 

Class 2 - Temporary employees employed by the state, a participating county, city or 
school district, or any combination thereof, members of the legislative assembly, judges of 
the supreme or district courts and elected state officers as defined by the state 

$12,000 

Class 3 - Eligible retirees who are age 55 but less than age 65; have 10 years or more of 
service; and have an early retirement agreement with a State University or College (this 
coverage will terminate at age 65) 

$1,500 

Class 4 - Individuals who are less than age 65 and entitled to a retirement allowance from 
a department, board or agency and participates in Basic Employee Term Life Coverage 

$1,500 

 
MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF BASIC LIFE INSURANCE FOR ALL ELIGIBLE ACTIVE EMPLOYEES 
$12,000 
 

MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF BASIC LIFE INSURANCE FOR ALL ELIGIBLE RETIREES 
$1,500 

EMPLOYER(S): North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 67389-7GAT2 
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SUPPLEMENTAL LIFE INSURANCE 
Supplemental Life Insurance is Contributory by Employees. 
 

Eligible Class(es) Amount 

All Eligible Active Employees First increment $3,000 (for a total of $15,000 with Basic Life), 
then $5,000 increments to a combined Basic/Supplemental 
maximum of $600,000 

All Eligible Retirees First increment $3,500 (for a total of $5,000 with Basic Life), 
then $5,000 increments to a combined Basic/Supplemental 
maximum of $600,000 

 
MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF BASIC PLUS SUPPLEMENTAL LIFE INSURANCE FOR ALL ELIGIBLE 
ACTIVE EMPLOYEES 
$600,000 
 

MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF BASIC PLUS SUPPLEMENTAL LIFE INSURANCE FOR ALL ELIGIBLE 
RETIREES 
$600,000 
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Active Employment or Active Employee means you are working for the Employer for earnings that are paid regularly 
and you are performing the material and substantial duties of your regular occupation.  You must be working at least 
the minimum number of hours as described under the MINIMUM HOURS REQUIREMENT shown in the SCHEDULE 
OF BENEFITS.   
 
Your work site must be one of the following: 

 The Employer's usual place of business; 

 An alternative work site at the direction of the Employer, including your home; or 

 A location to which your job requires you to travel. 
 
Normal vacation is considered Active Employment. 
 
Beneficiary means the person(s) or entity to whom we will pay the life insurance benefits in accordance with the 
BENEFICIARY and PAYMENT OF PROCEEDS provisions. 
 
Certificate means this document that describes the benefits and rights of insured Employees under the Policy.  It may 
include riders, endorsements or amendments. 
 
Contributory means insurance for which insured Employees are required to pay any part of the Premium.   
 
Eligibility Waiting Period means the continuous period of time (shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) that you 
must be in Active Employment in an eligible class before you are eligible for coverage under the Policy. 
 
Employee means a person who is a citizen or legal resident of the United States in Active Employment with the 
Employer in the United States.  
 
Employer means the Policyholder and includes any division, subsidiary or affiliated company named in the Policy. 
 
Evidence of Insurability means your affirmation, on a form acceptable to us, of various factors that we will use to 
determine if you are approved for coverage.  Those factors may include, but are not limited to, your medical history 
and treatment, driving record, and/or family medical history.  We may also, at our expense, request additional 
information to determine your eligibility for coverage.  
 
Guaranteed Issue Amount means the benefit amount (as shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) for which you 
are eligible to enroll without providing Evidence of Insurability, according to the EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY 
provision. 
 
Noncontributory means insurance for which insured Employees are not required to pay any part of the Premium. 
 
Policy means the Written group insurance contract between us and the Policyholder, including the Certificates issued 
to insured Employees.  It may include riders, endorsements or amendments. 
 
Policyholder means the entity to whom the Policy is issued, as shown on the first page of this Certificate. 
 
Premium(s) means the amount the Policyholder and/or you must pay to us for the insurance provided under the 
Policy. 
 
Retiree means a person who is receiving retirement benefits under an eligible retirement plan sponsored by the 
Employer. 
 
Signed means any symbol or method executed or adopted by a person with the present intention to authenticate a 
record, and which is on or transmitted by paper, electronic or telephonic media, and which is consistent with applicable 
law. 
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Total Disability or Totally Disabled means that due to an injury or sickness you are unable to perform the material 
duties of your regular job, and you are unable to perform any other job for which you are fit by education, training or 
experience. 
 
Written or Writing means a record which is on or transmitted by paper, electronic or telephonic media, and which is 
consistent with applicable law. 
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ELIGIBILITY 
If you are an Employee in an eligible class (shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS), the date you are eligible for 
coverage is the later of the following: 

 The Policy effective date. 

 The day after you complete your Eligibility Waiting Period. 
  

ENROLLMENT 
If you are eligible for Contributory coverage, you must enroll for any Contributory coverage before it will become 
effective.  The Employer will provide you with the forms or information needed to complete your enrollment.  You may 
need to provide Evidence of Insurability, as described below.  
 
No enrollment is required if the Policy replaces a group policy issued by us or by another insurance company, and you 
were covered under the prior policy on the day before that policy was replaced by our Policy.  The amount of 
Contributory coverage that becomes effective on our Policy effective date will be at the same level as under the prior 
policy, subject to the terms of our Policy including any maximum coverage amounts under our Policy. 
 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY 
Evidence of Insurability is required for coverage under the conditions described below. Coverage is subject to the 
Evidence of Insurability requirements that are in force on the effective date of coverage. Any increase to coverage is 
subject to the Evidence of Insurability requirements that are in force on the effective date of the increase. We must 
approve any required Evidence of Insurability before coverage becomes effective. 
 

Basic Life Insurance Evidence Required  

Coverage on the Policy effective date continued 
from the Policyholder’s prior plan... 

Any amount exceeding the lesser of the most recent 
coverage from the policyholder's prior plan or the 
plan maximum 

 

Initial eligibility after the Policy effective date… Evidence is not required for any amount less than or 
equal to the plan maximum 

 

 

Supplemental Life Insurance Evidence Required  

Coverage on the Policy effective date continued from 
the Policyholder’s prior plan… 

Any amount exceeding the lesser of the most recent 
coverage from the policyholder's prior plan or $200,000 

 

Enrollment for supplemental coverage on the policy 
effective date, for employees who had supplemental 
coverage under the policyholder's prior plan… 

All increased amounts  

Enrollment for supplemental coverage on the Policy 
effective date, for Employees who had no 
supplemental coverage under the Policyholder’s prior 
plan… 

All amounts  

Initial eligibility on or after the Policy effective date… Any amount exceeding $300,000  
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Enrollment at a scheduled annual enrollment period 
for an increase to existing supplemental coverage… 

 
Any increased amount exceeding $25,000 

 

 
Any new or increased supplemental coverage not 
described above… 

 
All increased amounts 

 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE 
For Noncontributory coverage, you will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the 
date you are eligible for coverage. 
 
For Contributory coverage, you will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the latest 
of the following: 

 The date you are eligible for coverage, if you enroll for coverage on or before that date. 

 The date you enroll for coverage. 

 The date we approve your Evidence of Insurability, if Evidence of Insurability is required. 

 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment when your coverage would 
otherwise become effective.  Exception: Coverage starts on a non-working day if you were in Active Employment 
on your last scheduled working day before the non-working day.  Non-working days include time off for the 
following: vacations, personal holidays, weekends and holidays, approved nonmedical leave of absence and paid 
time off for nonmedical-related absences.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES TO COVERAGE 
Once your coverage begins, any increased or additional Contributory coverage will take effect on the latest of the 
following: 

 The first day of the month that is on or next follows the date of the increased or additional coverage, if you are in 
Active Employment. 

 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment on the date the increased or 
additional coverage would otherwise start. 

 The date we approve your Evidence of Insurability, if Evidence of Insurability is required.  
 
Any decrease in coverage will take effect at the end of the month but will not affect a payable claim that occurs prior to 
the decrease. 
 

CHANGE OF INSURANCE CARRIERS 
We will provide continuity of coverage under our Policy if both of the following are true:  

 You are not in Active Employment due to sickness or injury other than Total Disability or due to an Employer-
approved non-medical leave of absence on the date the Employer changes insurance carriers to our Policy. 

 You were covered under the prior group life policy, including payment of premiums to the prior insurance carrier 
when due, on the day before the coverage for your eligible class under our Policy became effective.   

 
You are not eligible under this provision if any of the following are true:  

 Your coverage is being continued under a waiver of premium (or any similar) provision of the prior policy. 

 Your coverage is being continued under a continuation or portability provision of the prior policy. 

 You converted or were eligible to convert your coverage with the prior insurance carrier. 

 You are not in Active Employment due to reasons other than sickness, injury or an Employer-approved non-
medical leave of absence. 
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If you are eligible for continuity of coverage under this provision, we will provide limited coverage under our Policy.  
Coverage under this provision will begin on the date your eligible class is covered under our Policy and will continue 
until the earliest of the following: 

 The date you return to Active Employment. 

 The date the Employer-approved leave of absence ends. 

 The date your continuation would end under the terms of our Policy. 

 The date your continuation would have ended under the terms of the prior policy. 

 The date coverage would otherwise end, according to the provisions of our Policy. 

 12 months following the date you were last in Active Employment. 
 
Your coverage under this provision is subject to payment of Premiums. 
 
Any benefits payable under this provision will be the lesser of the amount of coverage under the prior policy had it 
remained in force, or the amount you are eligible for under our Policy.  We will reduce our payment by any amount 
paid under the prior policy. 
 
If your coverage under this provision ends while the Policy is in force, and you are not otherwise eligible for insurance 
under the Policy, then you will be eligible for conversion as described in the CONVERSION provision. 
 
If you were not covered under the Employer's prior policy on the date that policy terminated, then the EFFECTIVE 
DATE OF COVERAGE provision will apply. 
 

TERMINATION OF COVERAGE 
Your coverage under the Policy ends on the earliest of the following dates: 

 The date the Policy terminates. 

 The date coverage for all Active Employees under the Policy terminates. 

 The last day of the month date you are no longer in an eligible class. 

 The date your eligible class is no longer covered. 

 The date you voluntarily cancel your Contributory coverage, as allowed by the Employer. 

 The end of the period for which Premiums are paid if the next Premium is not paid by its due date, subject to the 
Policy grace period. 

 The last day of the month that is on or next follows the last day you are in Active Employment.  This does not apply 
to Retirees. 

 
We will pay benefits for a loss that occurs while you are covered under the Policy. 
 

CONVERSION 
You may convert your life insurance, without Evidence of Insurability, to an individual life insurance policy if any part of 
your life insurance under the Policy stops for one of the following reasons: 

 Your coverage ends according to the TERMINATION OF COVERAGE provision other than your voluntary 
cancellation of your Contributory coverage. 

 Any continuation of insurance under the Policy ends. 

 Your coverage reduces due to your change from one eligible class to another. 

 Your coverage reduces due to a Policy change. 
 
Only life insurance is eligible for conversion.  The maximum amount of life insurance you are eligible to convert cannot 
be greater than the amount of life insurance you had prior to termination.  Conversion does not include any additional 
benefits such as accelerated death benefits, accidental death and dismemberment benefits, or waiver of premium 
benefits.  Any amounts of coverage for which you remain eligible under the Policy are not eligible for conversion.  
 
To convert your life insurance, you must apply and pay the first premium to us within 31 days of the date any part of 
your life insurance under the Policy terminates (the “conversion period”).  You will be given Written notice, in person or  
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at your last known address, of your conversion right at least 15 days before the date any part of your life insurance 
ends.  Your right to convert will expire on the later of 16 days after you are given such notice or the end of the 
conversion period, but in no event will your right to convert extend beyond 60 days after the expiration of the 
conversion period.  Any extension of time allowed for returning the completed application and first premium will not 
change the length of the conversion period itself. 
 
You may apply to convert the entire amount of life insurance that is terminating under the Policy, or a lesser amount.  
The maximum amount of life insurance coverage you are eligible to convert will be reduced by any amount of life 
insurance for which you become eligible under any group policy within 31 days after the beginning of the conversion 
period.  Premiums for the conversion policy will be based on our rates then in use, the form and amount of insurance, 
your class of risk, and your attained age at the beginning of the conversion period.  The conversion policy may be any 
individual life insurance policy then customarily offered by us for conversion, other than term insurance.  The 
conversion policy will not include any additional benefits.  When we accept your application and first premium, the 
conversion policy will become effective on the 32nd day after the date the life insurance under the Policy terminated. 
 
During the conversion period, your life insurance will continue under the terms of the Policy.  If you die within the 
conversion period, any life insurance amount that you were entitled to convert will be payable as a death benefit under 
the Policy and any premiums paid for conversion will be refunded to the Beneficiary. 
 
If you have made an absolute assignment of your insurance, only the current owner may apply for conversion. 
 

INCONTESTABILITY 
Any statement made by you is considered a representation and not a warranty.  We will not use such statement to 
avoid insurance, reduce benefits or defend a claim unless the statement is included in a Written statement of 
insurability which has been Signed by you and a copy of such statement of insurability has been given to you or to the 
Beneficiary.  Except for fraud, we will not use such statement relating to insurability to contest life insurance after it has 
been in force for two years during your lifetime.  Except for fraud, we will not use such statement to contest an 
increase or benefit addition to such insurance, after the increase or benefit has been in force for two years during your 
lifetime.  Fraud in the procurement of coverage under the Policy is only contestable after the coverage has been in 
force for two years from its effective date when permitted by applicable law in the governing jurisdiction.  
 
The statement on which any contest is based must be material to the risk accepted or the hazard assumed by us. 
 

CLERICAL ERROR 
Clerical error or omission by us or by the Policyholder will not: 

 Prevent you from receiving coverage, if you are entitled to coverage under the terms of the Policy. 

 Cause coverage to begin or continue for you when the coverage would not otherwise be effective. 
 
If the Policyholder gives us information about you that is incorrect, we will do both of the following: 

 Use the facts to decide whether you are eligible for coverage under the Policy and in what amounts. 

 Make a fair adjustment of the Premium. 
 
An error will not end insurance validly in effect, nor will it continue insurance validly ended. 
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MISSTATEMENT OF AGE 
If Premiums are based on your age and you have misstated your age, then your correct age will be used to determine 
if insurance is in effect and, as appropriate, the Premium and/or benefits will be adjusted.  We may require satisfactory 
proof of your age before paying any claim. 
 

ASSIGNMENT 
You may make an absolute assignment of ownership of your insurance under the Policy to any person or entity by 
sending us Written notice on a form that we accept.  An absolute assignment transfers all your duties, rights, title and 
interest under the Policy to the new owner.  The new owner can make any changes allowed under the Policy and 
Certificate. 
 
An absolute assignment form is available from the Employer or us.  Any assignment form must be Signed by both the 
current owner and the new owner.  The Signed form must be received and accepted by us in order to be valid.  An 
accepted assignment will take effect on the date the form is Signed by you, unless otherwise specified in the Signed 
form.  An assignment does not affect any payment we make or action we take before receiving the Signed form.  An 
assignment does not change the insurance or the Beneficiary designation. 
 
If you want to continue an absolute assignment made under the Employer’s prior group life insurance policy, a 
statement of intent form is available from the Employer or us.  The form must be Signed by both you and the assignee.  
The Signed form must be received and accepted by us in order to be valid.  A statement of intent does not affect any 
payment we make or action we take before receiving the Signed form.  A statement of intent does not change the 
insurance or the Beneficiary designation. 
 
We assume no responsibility for the validity of any assignment.  You are responsible to see that the assignment is 
legal in your state and that it accomplishes the goals that you intend. 
 

BENEFICIARY 
The Beneficiary is named by you to receive any proceeds payable at your death.  While your coverage is in force, you 
may change the Beneficiary designation by Written request on a form that is acceptable to us.  A Beneficiary 
designation form is available from the Employer or us.  An accepted designation will take effect as of the date it is 
Signed, unless you specify otherwise in the Signed designation, but will not affect any payment we make or action we 
take before receiving the Signed form.  If you have made an absolute assignment of your insurance, only the current 
owner may change the Beneficiary designation. 
 
If an irrevocable Beneficiary is named, the Beneficiary designation can only be changed with the consent of the 
irrevocable Beneficiary. 
 
There can be one or more Beneficiaries.  If two or more Beneficiaries are named and their shares are not specified in 
the Beneficiary designation, then the Beneficiaries will share any insurance proceeds equally.  If a primary Beneficiary 
does not survive you, their share will be payable to the remaining primary Beneficiaries.  One or more contingent 
Beneficiaries may be named to receive the proceeds in the event that all of the primary Beneficiaries named do not 
survive you. 
 
Please refer to the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS section of the Certificate for information about payment. 
 

AGENCY 
For purposes of the Policy, the Policyholder acts on its own behalf or as your agent.  Under no circumstances will the 
Policyholder be deemed our agent. 
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ENTIRE CONTRACT 
Coverage for insured Employees is provided under a contract of group term insurance between us and the 
Policyholder.  The entire contract consists of all of the following: 

 The Policy issued to the Policyholder including Part A and Part B. 

 The Certificates which are made part of Part B under the Policy. 

 Any riders, endorsements and/or amendments issued. 

 The Policyholder's Signed application, a copy of which is attached to the Policy when issued. 
 

CHANGES TO POLICY OR CERTIFICATE 
The terms and provisions of the Policy and this Certificate may be changed at any time without the consent of you or 
anyone else with a beneficial interest in the Policy.  We will issue riders, endorsements or amendments to effect such 
changes, and only those forms Signed by one of our executive officers will be valid.  We will only make changes 
consistent with the standards of the applicable regulatory body in the governing jurisdiction.  We will provide a copy of 
the rider, endorsement or amendment to the Policyholder for attachment to the Policy, and also for the Employees if 
the change affects the Certificate(s). 
 
Riders, endorsements and amendments are subject to prior approval by the appropriate regulatory body in the 
governing jurisdiction.  A rider, endorsement or amendment will not affect the insurance provided under the 
Certificate(s) until the effective date of the change, unless retroactivity is required by the applicable regulatory body. 
 
No agent, representative or employee of ours or of any other entity, except one of our executive officers, may 
approve a change to or waive the terms of the Policy. 
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We pay a death benefit to the Beneficiary if we receive Written proof that you died while your insurance under the 
Policy is in force.  The death benefit is the amount of life insurance for your class as shown on the SCHEDULE OF 
BENEFITS in effect on the date of your death minus any amount paid under the Accelerated Death Benefit Rider. 
 

NOTICE OF CLAIM AND PROOF OF LOSS 
A claim form is available from the Employer.  The process for completing the claim form and submitting the claim form 
will be explained in the claim form paperwork. Proof of loss, including any attachments indicated on the claim form as 
required, should be sent directly to the Employer.  We may also require information from the Employer in order to 
verify eligibility. 
 
Proof of loss consists of a certified copy of your death certificate or other lawful evidence providing equivalent 
information, and proof of the claimant’s interest in the proceeds. 
 
We will review the claim and proof of loss we receive in order to determine our liability and the correct payee(s). If we 
approve the claim, we will pay the benefits subject to the terms of this Certificate. 
 

AUTOPSY 
We reserve the right to make a reasonable request for an autopsy at our expense where permitted by law. 
 

PAYMENT OF PROCEEDS 
To be eligible to receive proceeds, the Beneficiary must be living on the date of your death. 
 
If there is no eligible Beneficiary, we will pay the proceeds to the first survivor(s), who is living on the date of your 
death, in the following order: 
1. Your spouse. 
2. Your natural and adopted children. 
3. Your parents. 
4. Your estate. 
 
If the Beneficiary or survivor is eligible to receive proceeds but dies before receiving them, we will pay the proceeds to 
that person’s estate. 
 
“Spouse” means the spouse of a participant but shall not include an individual legally separated from a participant 
under a decree of divorce or of separate maintenance.  An individual shall be considered lawfully married regardless of 
where the individual is domiciled if either of the following are true:  (1) the individual was married in a state, 
possession, or territory of the U.S. and the individual is recognized as lawfully married by that state, possession, or 
territory of the U.S.; or (2) the individual was married in a foreign jurisdiction and the laws of at least one state, 
possession, or territory of the U.S. would recognize the individual as lawfully married.. 
 
We will pay the death benefit to the Beneficiary in one sum or in a method comparable to one sum.  Other methods of 
payment may be made available to the Beneficiary at the time of claim. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability to the extent of such payment. 
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PAYMENT OF INTEREST 
We pay interest on the death benefit proceeds, accruing from the date of your death up to the date of payment.  The 
minimum interest rate payable will be the interest rate applicable for funds left on deposit with us as of the date of 
death.  
 
Interest will accrue at an annual rate of 10% plus the interest rate applicable for funds left on deposit beginning with 
the date that is 31 calendar days from the latest of the dates below and continuing up to the date of payment:  

 The date we receive due proof of loss following death. 

 The date we receive sufficient information to determine our liability, the extent of our liability, and the appropriate 
payee legally entitled to the proceeds. 

 The date that legal impediments to payment of proceeds that depend on the action of parties other than us are 
resolved and sufficient evidence of this resolution is provided to us.  Legal impediments to payment include but are 
not limited to: the establishment of guardianships and conservatorships; the appointment and qualification of 
trustees, executors and administrators; and the submission of information required to satisfy state or federal 
reporting requirements. 

 

LEGAL ACTION 
The time period during which any person can start legal action regarding any claim under the Policy is subject to 
applicable law in the governing jurisdiction.  Nothing in this provision waives, extends or tolls any applicable statute of 
limitations governing any claim relating in any way to your coverage. 



 

 

EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
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We pay a death benefit for all causes of death.   
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This rider is made a part of the Group Term Life Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations 
and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 

 
SUPPLEMENTAL DEPENDENT FAMILY LIFE INSURANCE 
Supplemental Dependent Family Life Insurance is Contributory by Employees. 
 

 

 
MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF SUPPLEMENTAL DEPENDENT FAMILY LIFE INSURANCE  
$10,000 
 
 
SUPPLEMENTAL SPOUSE LIFE INSURANCE 
Supplemental Spouse Life Insurance is Contributory by Employees. 
 

 

 
MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF SUPPLEMENTAL SPOUSE LIFE INSURANCE 
$300,000, not to exceed 50% of Employee Supplemental Life coverage amount 
  

Eligible Class(es) Amount 

Eligible Spouse of Eligible Active Employee or 
Eligible Retiree, as defined, electing additional 
Supplemental Spouse Life coverage 

In addition to Supplemental Dependent Family Life 
Insurance, spouse coverage may be elected up to 
50% of Employee Supplemental Life coverage 
amount, not to exceed $300,000 

 

Eligible Class(es) Amount 

Eligible Spouse of Eligible Active Employee or 
Eligible Retiree, as defined 

Choice of $2,000, $5,000, $7,000 or $10,000;  
amount elected will be the same for Child(ren) 
covered under this option 
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SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 
 

SPOUSE LIFE INSURANCE RIDER 
RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 
POLICYHOLDER: North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 67389-7GAT2 
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DEFINITIONS 
 
Evidence of Insurability means your Spouse’s affirmation, on a form acceptable to us, of various factors that we 
will use to determine if your Spouse’s coverage is approved.  Those factors may include, but are not limited to, your 
Spouse’s medical history and treatment, driving record, and/or family medical history.  If we need more information, 
any costs will be at our expense. 
 
Guaranteed Issue Amount means the Spouse benefit amount (as shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) for 
which you are eligible to enroll without providing Evidence of Insurability, according to the EVIDENCE OF 
INSURABILITY provision. 
 
Spouse means the spouse of a participant but shall not include an individual legally separated from a participant 
under a decree of divorce or of separate maintenance.  An individual shall be considered lawfully married regardless of 
where the individual is domiciled if either of the following are true:  (1) the individual was married in a state, 
possession, or territory of the U.S. and the individual is recognized as lawfully married by that state, possession, or 
territory of the U.S.; or (2) the individual was married in a foreign jurisdiction and the laws of at least one state, 
possession, or territory of the U.S. would recognize the individual as lawfully married.    
 
The person must also meet all of the following: 
• Not be on full-time active duty in the armed forces of any country or subdivision thereof. 
• Legally reside in the United States or its territories or possessions. 
 
 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

ELIGIBILITY 
If you are covered under the Policy, then your Spouse is eligible under this rider on the latest of the following: 
• The Policy effective date. 
• The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
• Your Supplemental life insurance coverage effective date. 
• The date of your marriage. 
 
ENROLLMENT 
If you have a Spouse eligible for coverage, you must enroll your Spouse for any Contributory coverage before the 
coverage will become effective.  The Employer will provide you with the forms or information needed to complete your 
enrollment. 
 
No enrollment is required if the Policy replaces a group policy issued by us or by another insurance company, and your 
Spouse was covered under the prior policy on the day before that policy was replaced by our Policy.  The amount of 
Contributory coverage for your Spouse that becomes effective on our Policy effective date will be at the same level as 
under the prior policy, subject to the terms of our Policy including any maximum coverage amounts under our Policy. 
 
You may need to provide Evidence of Insurability on your Spouse, as described below. 
 
EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY 
Evidence of Insurability is required for coverage under the conditions described below.  Coverage is subject to the 
Evidence of Insurability requirements that are in force on the effective date of coverage.  Any increase to coverage is 
subject to the Evidence of Insurability requirements that are in force on the effective date of the increase.  We must 
approve any required Evidence of Insurability before coverage becomes effective. 
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Supplemental Dependent Family Life Insurance Evidence Required  

Coverage on the Policy effective date continued from 
the Policyholder’s prior plan… 

Any amount exceeding the lesser of the most recent 
coverage from the policyholder's prior plan or the plan 
maximum 

 

Enrollment for Supplemental Dependent Family 
coverage on the policy effective date, for employees 
who had supplemental spouse coverage under the 
policyholder's prior plan… 

All increased amounts  

Enrollment for Supplemental Dependent Family 
coverage on the policy effective date, for employees 
who had no supplemental spouse coverage under the 
policyholder's prior plan… 

All amounts  

Enrollment at a scheduled annual enrollment period 
for initial Supplemental Dependent Family coverage, 
or an increase to existing Supplemental Dependent 
Family coverage… 

Evidence is not required for any increase in which the 
total Supplemental Dependent Family Life Insurance 
amount is less than or equal to the plan maximum 

 

Initial eligibility for Supplemental Dependent Family 
coverage on or after the policy effective date… 

Evidence is not required for any amount less than or 
equal to the plan maximum 

 

Any new or increased Supplemental Dependent 
Family coverage not described above… 

All increased amounts  

 

Supplemental Spouse Life Insurance Evidence Required  

Coverage on the Policy effective date continued from 
the Policyholder’s prior plan… 

Any amount exceeding the lesser of the most recent 
coverage from the policyholder's prior plan or the plan 
maximum 

 

Enrollment for supplemental spouse coverage on the 
policy effective date, for employees who had 
supplemental spouse coverage under the 
policyholder's prior plan… 

All increased amounts  

Enrollment for supplemental spouse coverage on the 
policy effective date, for employees who had no 
supplemental spouse coverage under the 
policyholder's prior plan… 

All amounts  

Initial eligibility for supplemental spouse coverage on 
or after the policy effective date… 

Any amount exceeding $100,000  

Any new or increased supplemental spouse coverage 
not described above… 

All increased amounts  
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EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE 
Your Spouse will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the latest of the following: 
• The date your Spouse is eligible for coverage, if you enroll for Spouse coverage on or before that date. 
• The date you enroll for Spouse coverage. 
• The date we approve your Spouse’s Evidence of Insurability, if Evidence of Insurability is required. 
• The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment when your Spouse’s coverage 

would otherwise become effective.  Exception: Coverage starts on a non-working day if you were in Active 
Employment on your last scheduled working day before the non-working day.  Non-working days include time off 
for the following: vacations, personal holidays, weekends and holidays, approved nonmedical leave of absence 
and paid time off for nonmedical-related absences. 

• The date your Spouse is no longer hospitalized, or confined at home under a doctor’s care, or receiving or 
applying to receive disability benefits from any source, if any of these conditions are true on the date your 
Spouse’s coverage would otherwise become effective. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES TO COVERAGE 
Once your Spouse’s coverage begins, any increased or additional coverage will take effect on the latest of the 
following: 
• The first day of the month that is on or next follows the date of the increased or additional coverage, if you are in 

Active Employment. 
• The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment on the date the increased or 

additional coverage would otherwise start. 
• The date we approve your Spouse’s Evidence of Insurability, if Evidence of Insurability is required. 
• The date your Spouse is no longer hospitalized, or confined at home under a doctor’s care, or receiving or 

applying to receive disability benefits from any source, if any of these conditions are true on the date the increased 
or additional coverage would otherwise start. 

 
Any decrease in coverage will take effect at the end of the month but will not affect a payable claim that occurs prior to 
the decrease. 
 
CHANGE OF INSURANCE CARRIERS 
If your coverage is being provided under the CHANGE OF INSURANCE CARRIERS provision in the Certificate, then 
we will also provide continuity of Spouse coverage under the same conditions and for the same duration. 
 
Any benefits payable under this provision will be the lesser of the amount of coverage under the prior policy had it 
remained in force, or the amount of eligible Spouse coverage under our Policy.  We will reduce our payment by any 
amount paid under the prior policy. 
 
If Spouse coverage under this provision ends while the Policy is in force, and your Spouse is not otherwise eligible for 
insurance under the Policy, then your Spouse coverage will be eligible for conversion as described in the 
CONVERSION provision.   
 
If your Spouse was not covered under the Employer's prior policy on the date that policy terminated, then the 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE provision will apply. 
 
SPOUSE ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY 
If your Spouse is covered under this rider and your Spouse begins full-time active duty in the armed forces of any 
country or subdivision thereof then you should notify the Policyholder to cancel this rider.  Coverage under this rider 
will terminate at the beginning of the period during which your Spouse is no longer eligible, and any unearned 
Premiums that were collected will be refunded. 
 
If your Spouse’s full-time active military duty ends, then you may re-enroll for this rider subject to the following: 
• If you re-enroll for this rider within 2 months of the date your Spouse is eligible for coverage again, then the 

maximum amount of Spouse coverage available will be the lesser of the amount that was in effect on the day 
before coverage ended and the then current maximum amount of Spouse coverage available under this rider.  
Spouse coverage will be effective on the later of the following:  
− The date you re-enroll. 
− The date your Spouse is not hospitalized or confined at home under a doctor’s care. 
− The date your Spouse is not receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source. 
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• If you re-enroll for this rider more than 2 months after your Spouse is eligible for coverage again, then Evidence of 
Insurability on your Spouse will be required.  If Evidence of Insurability is approved by us, Spouse coverage will 
become effective on the date specified by us. 

 
SPOUSE CHANGE OF LEGAL RESIDENCE 
If your Spouse is covered under this rider and your Spouse changes their legal residence to outside the United States 
or its territories or possessions, then you should notify the Policyholder to cancel this rider.  Coverage under this rider 
will terminate at the beginning of the period during which your Spouse is no longer eligible, and any unearned 
Premiums that were collected will be refunded. 
 
If your Spouse resumes legal residence in the United States or its territories or possessions, then you may re-enroll for 
this rider subject to the following: 
• If you re-enroll for this rider within 2 months of the date your Spouse is eligible for coverage again, then the 

maximum amount of Spouse coverage available will be the lesser of the amount that was in effect on the day 
before coverage ended and the then current maximum amount of Spouse coverage available under this rider.  
Spouse coverage will be effective on the later of the following:  
− The date you re-enroll. 
− The date your Spouse is not hospitalized or confined at home under a doctor’s care. 
− The date your Spouse is not receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source. 

• If you re-enroll for this rider more than 2 months after your Spouse is eligible for coverage again, then Evidence of 
Insurability on your Spouse will be required.  If Evidence of Insurability is approved by us, Spouse coverage will 
become effective on the date specified by us. 

 
TERMINATION OF COVERAGE 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 
• The date your life insurance terminates. 
• The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 
• The date this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
• The date you voluntarily cancel this rider, as allowed by the Employer. 
• The date your Spouse is no longer an eligible Spouse as defined by this rider. 
• The end of the period for which Premiums are paid if the next Premium is not paid by its due date, subject to the 

Policy grace period. 
 
We will pay benefits for a loss that occurs while your Spouse is covered under this rider. 
 
CONVERSION 
You may convert Spouse life insurance, without Evidence of Insurability, to an individual life insurance policy if Spouse 
life insurance under this rider stops for any reason other than nonpayment of Premium, your Spouse ceasing to be an 
eligible Spouse as defined, or your death.  You may also convert any part of Spouse life insurance that reduces due to 
your change from one eligible class to another or a Policy change.  If you have made an absolute assignment of 
insurance, only the current owner may apply for conversion under this paragraph. 
 
Your Spouse may convert Spouse life insurance, without Evidence of Insurability, to an individual life insurance policy 
if Spouse life insurance under this rider stops because your Spouse is no longer an eligible Spouse as defined, or 
because of your death. 
 
Only life insurance is eligible for conversion.  The maximum amount of life insurance eligible for conversion cannot be 
greater than the amount of Spouse life insurance you had prior to termination.  Conversion does not include any 
additional benefits such as accelerated death benefits, accidental death and dismemberment benefits, or waiver of 
premium benefits.  Any amounts of coverage for which your Spouse remains eligible under the Policy are not eligible 
for conversion. 
 
To convert Spouse life insurance, application must be made and the first premium paid to us within 31 days of the date 
any part of Spouse life insurance under this rider terminates (the “conversion period”).  You will be given Written 
notice, in person or at your last known address, of your conversion right at least 15 days before the date any part of 
Spouse life insurance ends.  Your right to convert will expire on the later of 16 days after you are given such notice or 
the end of the conversion period, but in no event will your right to convert extend beyond 60 days after the expiration of 
the conversion period.  Any extension of time allowed for returning the completed application and first premium will not 
change the length of the conversion period itself. 
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Application for conversion may be for the entire amount of Spouse life insurance that is terminating under this rider, or 
a lesser amount.  The maximum amount of Spouse life insurance coverage eligible for conversion will be reduced by 
any amount of Spouse life insurance for which you become eligible under any group policy within 31 days after the 
beginning of the conversion period.  Premiums for the conversion policy will be based on our rates then in use, the 
form and amount of insurance, your Spouse’s class of risk, and your Spouse’s attained age at the beginning of the 
conversion period.  The conversion policy may be any individual life insurance policy then customarily offered by us for 
conversion, other than term insurance.  The conversion policy will not include any additional benefits.  When we accept 
the application and first premium, the conversion policy will become effective on the 32nd day after the date the life 
insurance under the Policy terminated. 
 
During the conversion period, Spouse life insurance will continue under the terms of this rider.  If your Spouse dies 
within the conversion period, any life insurance amount that was eligible for conversion will be payable as a death 
benefit under the Policy and any premiums paid for conversion will be refunded to the Beneficiary. 
 
INCONTESTABILITY 
Any statement made by you or your Spouse is considered a representation and not a warranty.  We will not use such 
statement to avoid insurance, reduce benefits or defend a claim unless the statement is included in a Written 
statement of insurability which has been Signed by you or your Spouse and a copy of such statement of insurability 
has been given to you or to the Beneficiary.  Except for fraud, we will not use such statement relating to insurability to 
contest life insurance after it has been in force for two years during your Spouse’s lifetime.  Except for fraud, we will 
not use such statement to contest an increase or benefit addition to such insurance, after the increase or benefit has 
been in force for two years during your Spouse’s lifetime.  Fraud in the procurement of coverage under the Policy is 
only contestable after the coverage has been in force for two years from its effective date when permitted by applicable 
law in the governing jurisdiction.  
 
The statement on which any contest is based must be material to the risk accepted or the hazard assumed by us. 
 
BENEFICIARY 
You are the Beneficiary for proceeds that become payable at your Spouse’s death under this rider.  If you have made 
an absolute assignment of your insurance, then during your lifetime the current owner is the Beneficiary.  See the 
Portability Rider for information about the eligible Beneficiary for continued coverage after your death or divorce.  This 
Beneficiary designation may not be changed.  If the Beneficiary is not living on the date payment is made, benefits are 
payable to the Beneficiary’s estate.  Please refer to the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS section for more information 
about payment. 
 
 

LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS 
 

We pay a death benefit to the Beneficiary if we receive Written proof that your Spouse died while Spouse insurance 
under this rider is in force.  See the CONVERSION provision for information about death benefits payable during the 
conversion period following your death.  The death benefit is the amount of Spouse life insurance for the eligible class 
as shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS in effect on the date of your Spouse’s death. 
 
NOTICE OF CLAIM AND PROOF OF LOSS 
A claim form is available from the Employer.  The process for completing the claim form and submitting the claim form 
will be explained in the claim form paperwork.  Proof of loss, including any attachments indicated on the claim form as 
required, should be sent directly to the Employer.  We may also require information from the Employer in order to 
verify eligibility.   
 
Proof of loss consists of a certified copy of your Spouse’s death certificate or other lawful evidence providing 
equivalent information, and proof of the claimant’s interest in the proceeds. 
 
We will review proof of loss we receive in order to determine our liability and the correct payee(s).  If we approve the 
claim, we will pay the benefits subject to the terms of this rider. 
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PAYMENT OF PROCEEDS 
To be eligible to receive proceeds, the Beneficiary must be living on the date of your Spouse’s death.  Exception: If 
your Spouse dies during the conversion period following your death and you would otherwise have been the 
Beneficiary, we will pay the proceeds to your estate. 
 
If the Beneficiary is eligible to receive proceeds but dies before receiving them, we will pay the proceeds to the 
Beneficiary’s estate. 
 
We will pay the death benefit to the Beneficiary in one sum or in a method comparable to one sum.  Other methods of 
payment may be made available to the Beneficiary at the time of claim. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability to the extent of such payment. 
 
PAYMENT OF INTEREST 
We pay interest on the death benefit proceeds, accruing from the date of your Spouse’s death up to the date of 
payment. The minimum interest rate payable will be the interest rate applicable for funds left on deposit with us as of 
the date of death. 
 
Interest will accrue at an annual rate of 10% plus the interest rate applicable for funds left on deposit beginning with 
the date that is 31 calendar days from the latest of the dates below and continuing up to the date of payment: 
• The date we receive due proof of loss following death. 
• The date we receive sufficient information to determine our liability, the extent of our liability, and the appropriate 

payee legally entitled to the proceeds. 
• The date that legal impediments to payment of proceeds that depend on the action of parties other than us are 

resolved and sufficient evidence of this resolution is provided to us.  Legal impediments to payment include but are 
not limited to: the establishment of guardianships and conservatorships; the appointment and qualification of 
trustees, executors and administrators; and the submission of information required to satisfy state or federal 
reporting requirements. 

 
 

EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
 
We pay a death benefit for all causes of death. 
 

 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
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This rider is made a part of the Group Term Life Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations 
and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 

 
SUPPLEMENTAL DEPENDENT FAMILY LIFE INSURANCE 
Supplemental Dependent Family Life Insurance is Contributory by Employees. 
 

Eligible Class(es) Amount 

Eligible Child of Eligible Active Employee or Eligible 
Retiree, as defined 
 

Choice of $2,000, $5,000, $7,000 or $10,000;  
amount elected will be the same for Spouse covered 
under this option  

 
MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF SUPPLEMENTAL DEPENDENT FAMILY LIFE INSURANCE  
$10,000 
 
 

 
DEFINITIONS 

 
Child or Children means a child from birth but less than 26 years of age who is one of the following: 
 Your natural or adopted child (including a child placed for adoption). 
 Your stepchild. 
 A child of your domestic partner or civil union partner who is recognized as equivalent to a Spouse in the state with 

governing jurisdiction. 
 Your foster child or a child or grandchild for whom you are a legal guardian. 
 Your grandchild if the child’s parent is insured as your Child under this rider. 
 
  

CONTENTS 

Schedule of Benefits................................................ page 1 

Definitions................................................................ page 1 

General Provisions................................................ page 2 

Life Insurance Benefits............................................. page 5 

Exclusions and Limitations....................................... page 6 

 
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

 

CHILDREN’S LIFE INSURANCE RIDER 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 
POLICYHOLDER: North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 67389-7GAT2 
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The child must also meet all of the following conditions: 
 Be unmarried or not in a domestic partnership or civil union that is recognized as equivalent to marriage in the 

state with governing jurisdiction. 
 Not be on full-time active duty in the armed forces of any country or subdivision thereof. 
 Legally reside in the United States or its territories or possessions. 
 Not be insured under the Policy as an Employee or Spouse. 
 Not be insured by an individual policy that was issued under any conversion right of this rider. 
 
This definition includes your Child age 26 or older who is incapable of self-sustaining employment due to physical or 
intellectual disability.  Written proof of the Child's incapacity must be furnished to us at our home office within 31 days 
after the Child reaches the limiting age.  We may require, at reasonable intervals, but not more than once a year after 
the two year period following attainment of the limiting age, evidence satisfactory to us that the incapacity is continuing. 
 
Coverage will continue while the Child remains incapable of self-sustaining employment due to physical or intellectual 
disability and continues to meet the definition of Child except for the age limit. If the Child becomes capable of self-
sustaining employment and proof of the Child’s incapacity can no longer be furnished to us, you may convert your 
Child’s life insurance to an individual life insurance policy as described in the CONVERSION provision of this rider. 
 
Evidence of Insurability means your affirmation, on a form acceptable to us, of various factors that we will use to 
determine if your Child’s coverage is approved.  Those factors may include, but are not limited to, your Child’s medical 
history and treatment, driving record, and/or family medical history.  If we need more information, any costs will be at 
our expense. 
 
Guaranteed Issue Amount means the Child benefit amount (as shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS) for 
which you are eligible to enroll without providing Evidence of Insurability, according to the EVIDENCE OF 
INSURABILITY provision. 
 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
ELIGIBILITY 
If you are covered under the Policy, then your Children are eligible under this rider on the latest of the following: 
 The Policy effective date. 
 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 Your Supplemental life insurance coverage effective date. 
 The date you acquire a Child by marriage, birth or adoption. 
 
If your Child is covered under the Policy as an Employee, then your Child is not eligible for coverage under this rider. 
 
ENROLLMENT 
If you have a Child eligible for coverage, you must enroll all Children for any Contributory coverage before the 
coverage will become effective.  The Employer will provide you with the forms or information needed to complete your 
enrollment.   
 
No enrollment is required if the Policy replaces a group policy issued by us or by another insurance company, and your 
Children were covered under the prior policy on the day before that policy was replaced by our Policy.  The amount of 
Contributory coverage for your Children that becomes effective on our Policy effective date will be at the same level as 
under the prior policy, subject to the terms of our Policy including any maximum coverage amounts under our Policy. 
 
You may need to provide Evidence of Insurability on your Children, as described below.  
 
EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY 
Evidence of Insurability is required for coverage under the conditions described below.  Coverage is subject to the 
Evidence of Insurability requirements that are in force on the effective date of coverage.  Any increase to coverage is 
subject to the Evidence of Insurability requirements that are in force on the effective date of the increase.  We must 
approve any required Evidence of Insurability before coverage becomes effective.  When you have Children covered 
under this rider, then newly eligible Children will not require Evidence of Insurability. 
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Supplemental Dependent Family Life Insurance Evidence Required  

Coverage on the Policy effective date continued from 
the Policyholder’s prior plan… 

Any amount exceeding the lesser of the most recent 
coverage from the policyholder's prior plan or the plan 
maximum 

 

Enrollment for Supplemental Dependent Family 
coverage on the policy effective date, for employees 
who had Supplemental Dependent Family coverage 
under the policyholder's prior plan… 

All increased amounts  

Enrollment for Supplemental Dependent Family 
coverage on the policy effective date, for employees 
who had no Supplemental Dependent Family 
coverage under the policyholder's prior plan… 

All amounts  

Initial eligibility for Supplemental Dependent Family 
coverage on or after the policy effective date… 

Evidence is not required for any amount less than or 
equal to the plan maximum 

 

Enrollment at a scheduled annual enrollment period 
for initial Supplemental Dependent Family coverage, 
or an increase to existing Supplemental Dependent 
Family coverage… 

Evidence is not required for any increase in which the 
total Supplemental Dependent Family Life Insurance 
amount is less than or equal to the plan maximum 

 

Any new or increased Supplemental Dependent 
Family coverage not described above… 

All increased amounts  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE 
Your Children will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the latest of the following: 
 The date your Children are eligible for coverage, if you enroll for Children’s coverage on or before that date. 
 The date you enroll for Children’s coverage. 
 The date we approve each Child’s Evidence of Insurability, if Evidence of Insurability is required. 
 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment when your Children’s coverage 

would otherwise become effective.  Exception: Coverage starts on a non-working day if you were in Active 
Employment on your last scheduled working day before the non-working day.  Non-working days include time off 
for the following: vacations, personal holidays, weekends and holidays, approved nonmedical leave of absence 
and paid time off for nonmedical-related absences. 

 The date your Child is no longer hospitalized, or confined at home under a doctor’s care, or receiving or applying 
to receive disability benefits from any source, if any of these conditions are true on the date that Child’s coverage 
would otherwise become effective.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES TO COVERAGE 
Once your Children’s coverage begins, any increased or additional coverage will take effect on the latest of the 
following: 
 The first day of the month that is on or next follows the date of the increased or additional coverage, if you are in 

Active Employment. 
 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment on the date the increased or 

additional coverage would otherwise start. 
 The date we approve each Child’s Evidence of Insurability, if Evidence of Insurability is required. 
 The date your Child is no longer hospitalized, or confined at home under a doctor’s care, or receiving or applying 

to receive disability benefits from any source, if any of these conditions are true on the date that Child’s increased 
or additional coverage would otherwise start. 

 
Any decrease in coverage will take effect at the end of the month but will not affect a payable claim that occurs prior to 
the decrease. 
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CHANGE OF INSURANCE CARRIERS 
If your coverage is being provided under the CHANGE OF INSURANCE CARRIERS provision in the Certificate, then 
we will also provide continuity of Children’s coverage under the same conditions and for the same duration. 
 
Any benefits payable under this provision will be the lesser of the amount of coverage under the prior policy had it 
remained in force, or the amount of eligible Children’s coverage under our Policy.  We will reduce our payment by any 
amount paid under the prior policy. 
 
If Children’s coverage under this provision ends while the Policy is in force, and your Children are not otherwise 
eligible for insurance under the Policy, then your Children’s coverage will be eligible for conversion as described in the 
CONVERSION provision.   
 
If your Children were not covered under the Employer's prior policy on the date that policy terminated, then the 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE provision will apply. 
 
TERMINATION OF COVERAGE 
Coverage for each Child ends on the earliest of the following: 
 The date this rider terminates. 
 The date the Child is no longer an eligible Child as defined by this rider. Coverage of a disabled Child ends when 

there is no longer evidence satisfactory to us that the incapacity is continuing. 
 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 
 The date your life insurance terminates. 
 The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 
 The date this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 The date you voluntarily cancel this rider, as allowed by the Employer 
 The date you no longer have any eligible Children as defined by this rider. 
 The end of the period for which Premiums are paid if the next Premium is not paid by its due date, subject to the 

grace period. 
 
We will pay benefits for a loss that occurs while your Child is covered under this rider. 
 
CONVERSION 
You may convert Children’s life insurance, without Evidence of Insurability, to an individual life insurance policy if a 
Child’s life insurance under this rider stops for any reason other than nonpayment of Premium, your Child reaching the 
termination age under this rider, or your death.  You may also convert any part of Children’s life insurance that reduces 
due to your change from one eligible class to another or a Policy change.  If you have made an absolute assignment of 
insurance, only the current owner may apply for conversion under this paragraph. 
 
Your Child may convert Children’s life insurance, without Evidence of Insurability, to an individual life insurance policy 
if that Child’s life insurance under this rider stops because your Child reaches the termination age under this rider, or 
because of your death.  If a Child is too young to contract for life insurance after your death, then a parent or a court-
appointed guardian of the Child may apply for conversion of that Child’s coverage. 
 
Only life insurance is eligible for conversion.  Conversion does not include any additional benefits such as accelerated 
death benefits, accidental death and dismemberment benefits, or waiver of premium benefits.  Any amounts of 
coverage for which your Child remains eligible under the Policy are not eligible for conversion. 
 
To convert Children’s life insurance, application must be made and the first premium paid to us within 31 days of the 
date any part of a Child’s life insurance under this rider terminates (the “conversion period”).  You will be given Written 
notice, in person or at your last known address, of your conversion right at least 15 days before the date any part of 
Children’s life insurance ends.  Your right to convert will expire on the later of 16 days after you are given such notice 
or the end of the conversion period, but in no event will your right to convert extend beyond 60 days after the expiration 
of the conversion period.  Any extension of time allowed for returning the completed application and first premium will 
not change the length of the conversion period itself. 
 
Application for conversion may be for the entire amount of Children’s life insurance that is terminating under this rider, 
or a lesser amount.  The maximum amount of Children’s life insurance coverage eligible for conversion will be reduced 
by any amount of Children’s life insurance for which you become eligible under any group policy within 31 days after 
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the beginning of the conversion period. Premiums for the conversion policy will be based on our rates then in use, the 
form and amount of insurance, your Child’s class of risk, and your Child’s attained age at the beginning of the 
conversion period.  The conversion policy may be any individual life insurance policy then customarily offered by us for 
conversion, other than term insurance.  The conversion policy will not include any additional benefits.  When we accept 
the application and first premium, the conversion policy will become effective on the 32nd day after the date the life 
insurance under the Policy terminated. 
 
During the conversion period, Children’s life insurance will continue under the terms of this rider.  If your Child dies 
within the conversion period, any life insurance amount that was eligible for conversion will be payable as a death 
benefit under the Policy and any premiums paid for conversion will be refunded to the Beneficiary. 
 
INCONTESTABILITY 
Any statement made by you or your Child is considered a representation and not a warranty.  We will not use such 
statement to avoid insurance, reduce benefits or defend a claim unless the statement is included in a Written 
statement of insurability which has been Signed by you or your Child and a copy of such statement of insurability has 
been given to you or to the Beneficiary.  Except for fraud, we will not use such statement relating to insurability to 
contest life insurance after it has been in force for two years during your Child’s lifetime.  Except for fraud, we will not 
use such statement to contest an increase or benefit addition to such insurance, after the increase or benefit has been 
in force for two years during your Child’s lifetime.  Fraud in the procurement of coverage under the Policy is only 
contestable after the coverage has been in force for two years from its effective date when permitted by applicable law 
in the governing jurisdiction. 
 
The statement on which any contest is based must be material to the risk accepted or the hazard assumed by us. 
 
BENEFICIARY 
You are the Beneficiary for proceeds that become payable at your Child’s death under this rider.  If you have made an 
absolute assignment of your insurance, then during your lifetime the current owner is the Beneficiary. See the 
Portability Rider for information about the eligible Beneficiary for continued coverage after your death.  This Beneficiary 
designation may not be changed.  Please refer to the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS section for more information 
about payment. 
 

LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS 
 
We pay a death benefit to the Beneficiary if we receive Written proof that your Child died while Children’s insurance 
under this rider is in force.  See the CONVERSION provision for information about death benefits payable during the 
conversion period following your death.  The death benefit is the amount of Children’s life insurance on that Child for 
the eligible class as shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS in effect on the date of your Child’s death.   
 
NOTICE OF CLAIM AND PROOF OF LOSS 
A claim form is available from the Employer.  The process for completing the claim form and submitting the claim form 
will be explained in the claim form paperwork.  Proof of loss, including any attachments indicated on the claim form as 
required, should be sent directly to the Employer.  We may also require information from the Employer in order to 
verify eligibility.   
 
Proof of loss consists of a certified copy of your Child’s death certificate or other lawful evidence providing equivalent 
information, and proof of the claimant’s interest in the proceeds. 
 
We will review proof of loss we receive in order to determine our liability and the correct payee(s).  If we approve the 
claim, we will pay the benefits subject to the terms of this rider. 
 
PAYMENT OF PROCEEDS 
To be eligible to receive proceeds, the Beneficiary must be living on the date of your Child’s death.  Exception: If your 
Child dies during the conversion period following your death and you would otherwise have been the Beneficiary, we 
will pay the proceeds to your estate. 
 
If the Beneficiary is eligible to receive proceeds but dies before receiving them, we will pay the proceeds to the 
Beneficiary’s estate. 
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We will pay the death benefit to the Beneficiary in one sum or in a method comparable to one sum.  Other methods of 
payment may be made available to the Beneficiary at the time of claim. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability to the extent of such payment. 
 
PAYMENT OF INTEREST 
We pay interest on the death benefit proceeds, accruing from the date of your Child’s death up to the date of payment.  
The minimum interest rate payable will be the interest rate applicable for funds left on deposit with us as of the date of 
death.    
 
Interest will accrue at an annual rate of 10% plus the interest rate applicable for funds left on deposit beginning with 
the date that is 31 calendar days from the latest of the dates below and continuing up to the date of payment:  
 The date we receive due proof of loss following death. 
 The date we receive sufficient information to determine our liability, the extent of our liability, and the appropriate 

payee legally entitled to the proceeds. 
 The date that legal impediments to payment of proceeds that depend on the action of parties other than us are 

resolved and sufficient evidence of this resolution is provided to us.  Legal impediments to payment include but are 
not limited to: the establishment of guardianships and conservatorships; the appointment and qualification of 
trustees, executors and administrators; and the submission of information required to satisfy state or federal 
reporting requirements. 

 
 

EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
 
 

We pay a death benefit for all causes of death. 
 

 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
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Applicable only to Active Employees 

This rider is made a part of the Group Term Life Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations 
and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 

Covered Person means: 
 You, if you are covered for life insurance under the Policy. 
 Your Spouse who is covered under your Spouse Life Insurance Rider. 
 Your Children who are covered under your Children’s Life Insurance Rider. 
 
Doctor means a person who is licensed to practice medicine in the state in which treatment is received and providing 
treatment or advice in accordance with the license.  State law may require consideration of professional services of a 
practitioner other than a medical physician.  If so, then this definition includes persons recognized as qualified to treat 
the condition for which claim is made by the state in which treatment is received.  This definition does not include you 
or your spouse, or your or your spouse’s children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, siblings and their spouses. 
 
Total Disability or Totally Disabled means that for the first 24 months of being disabled, you are unable to 
perform with reasonable continuity the substantial and material duties of your job due to sickness or bodily injury.  After 
you have been disabled for 24 months, Total Disability or Totally Disabled means that due to sickness or bodily injury, 
you are unable to engage with reasonable continuity in any other job in which you could reasonably be expected to 
perform satisfactorily in light of your age, education, training, experience, station in life, or physical and mental 
capacity. 
 
If we pay you an Employee benefit under the Accelerated Death Benefit Rider, you will automatically meet the 
definition of Total Disability under this rider following the date you became eligible for an accelerated benefit payment. 
 
Waiting Period means the 9 month period immediately following the date you stop Active Employment during which 
you are continuously Totally Disabled.  If you return to work for a total of 30 days or less during the Waiting Period and 
then stop work again due to the same Total Disability, your Waiting Period will not be interrupted. If we pay you an 
Employee benefit under the Accelerated Death Benefit Rider, you will automatically satisfy the Waiting Period 
requirement under this rider.    
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WAIVER OF PREMIUM RIDER 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
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GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 67389-7GAT2 

 



 

LR14GP-WOP-ND 2 WOP-2656 (11/17) 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
ELIGIBILITY FOR RIDER 
If you are covered under the Policy, then you are eligible for this rider on the latest of the following: 
 The Policy effective date. 
 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 Your life insurance coverage effective date. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF RIDER  
You will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the date you are eligible for this rider. 
 
TERMINATION OF RIDER 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 
 The date your life insurance terminates. 
 The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 
 The date this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 The date life insurance coverage is being continued under the terms of the Portability Rider. 
 
This rider will not terminate while Premiums are being waived under the terms of this rider. 
 
TERMINATION OF COVERAGE 
The TERMINATION OF COVERAGE provision in your Certificate is revised to add this item to the terms under which 
your coverage ends: 
 The date Premiums are no longer being waived under the Waiver of Premium Rider, if you are not in an eligible 

class on that date. 
 

WAIVER OF PREMIUM BENEFIT 
 
If you become Totally Disabled while covered under this rider and meet the other conditions below, we will waive 
Premiums due under the Policy and continue insurance during your Total Disability, according to the terms of this rider.  
When we waive Premiums, the amount of continued life insurance equals the amount that would have been provided if 
you had not become Totally Disabled.  That amount will reduce or stop according to the Certificate and riders in effect 
on the date Total Disability began.  Premiums that are waived are not deducted from any proceeds that may become 
payable. 
 
Continued life insurance includes the following if effective on the date before your Total Disability began: 
 Employee life insurance. 
 the Spouse Life Insurance Rider. 
 the Children’s Life Insurance Rider. 
 the Accelerated Death Benefit Rider. 
 
Continued life insurance does not include: 
 the AD&D Rider. 
 the Portability Rider. 
 any continuation rider(s). 
 
Any rider or coverage that is not eligible for waiver of premium under this rider will terminate on the date that coverage 
would otherwise end due to your termination of Active Employment.  See the CONVERSION provision of the 
Certificate and riders for more information about conversion. 
 
Continued insurance is subject to all other terms of the Policy. 
 
CONDITIONS FOR WAIVER OF PREMIUM 
All of the following conditions must be met in order to waive Premiums: 
 Total Disability begins before your 60th birthday. 
 You are covered under this rider on the date your Total Disability begins. 
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 You are continuously Totally Disabled for the entire Waiting Period.  Premiums due during the Waiting Period are 
subject to the continuation provision(s) of any riders.  

 All Premiums due for life insurance and this rider are paid to us through the date we approve your claim for waiver 
of Premium or the date the continuation period under any rider ends, whichever is earlier. Premiums due are 
payable by the Policyholder or you as applicable. 

 You provide notice of claim and proof of Total Disability to us as described below. 
 
NOTICE OF CLAIM AND PROOF OF TOTAL DISABILITY 
You must send us written notice of claim while you are living, while you are Totally Disabled, and within 9 months of 
the date your Total Disability begins.  Failure to give notice within 9 months will not invalidate or reduce any claim if it is 
shown not to have been reasonably possible to give such notice and that notice was given as soon as was reasonably 
possible. 
 
Notice of claim includes proof of your Total Disability.  Proof of your Total Disability includes information from your 
Doctor, at your expense, regarding your condition and your inability to work.  We may require additional information 
from the Employer in order to verify eligibility.  We may also require you to be interviewed by our authorized 
representative.  Proof of your Total Disability, including any attachments indicated on the claim form(s) as required, 
should be sent directly to us at the address indicated on the form(s).  Claim forms are available from the Employer or 
us. 
 
We have the right to request a second or third medical opinion, at our expense, in order to determine if you are Totally 
Disabled.  Any second medical opinion may include a physical examination by a Doctor or other medical practitioner of 
our choice.  In the case of conflicting medical opinions, Total Disability will be determined by a third medical opinion 
that is provided by a Doctor who is mutually acceptable to you and us. 
 
If a Covered Person dies within 12 months of the date your Total Disability began and all of the following are true: 

 You didn’t previously submit a claim under this rider, and 
 You would otherwise have met the CONDITIONS FOR WAIVER OF PREMIUM, and 
 Life insurance for the Covered Person would still have been in force under the Policy on the date of the 

Covered Person’s death if a claim for waiver of Premium had been approved,  
then the Beneficiary can submit a claim for death benefit proceeds along with notice of claim under this rider and proof 
that your Total Disability continued without interruption from the last day you were in Active Employment until the 
Covered Person’s death.  For your death, completion of the entire Waiting Period is not required.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF WAIVER OF PREMIUM 
When we approve your claim, Premiums are waived as of the date after the Waiting Period ends.  We will refund any 
unearned Premiums we receive to the Policyholder or to you, as appropriate.  We will notify you in writing when your 
claim is approved. 
 
We will notify you and the Employer if we deny your claim.  If we deny your claim, conversion is available as described 
in the CONVERSION provision of the Certificate and riders. 
 
If we approve a claim for which notice of claim was provided to us more than 12 months after the date your Total 
Disability began, then any refund of unearned Premiums will not exceed 12 months of Premiums dating back from the 
date the notice of claim was received by us. 
 
If you converted life insurance due to your termination of Active Employment and then a claim under this rider is 
approved, the conversion policy must be surrendered without claim.  We will cancel the conversion policy as of the 
date of issue and refund any premiums paid.  We will retain any beneficiary designation you made under your 
conversion policy as the Beneficiary under the group Policy, unless you change the Beneficiary as described under the 
BENEFICIARY provision in the Certificate.  If the conversion policy is not surrendered without claim, then Premiums 
will not be waived under this rider.  The same coverage(s) that would otherwise end due to your termination of Active 
Employment may not be both continued under this rider and converted. 
 
After your claim is approved, we may periodically request additional proof of your continuing Total Disability, but not 
more frequently than once every six months. 
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TERMINATION OF WAIVER OF PREMIUM 
We will stop waiving Premiums on the earliest of the following dates: 
 The date you are no longer Totally Disabled. 
 The date you do not give us proof of Total Disability as requested. 
 Your 65th birthday. 
 For your Spouse and Children’s coverage, the date you die. 
 For your Spouse and Children’s coverage, the date your Spouse or Children are no longer eligible under the 

Policy. 
 For your Spouse and Children’s coverage, the date the Policy terminates. 
 For your Spouse and Children’s coverage, the date that life insurance is no longer in force for Active Employees 

under the Policy. 
 
If Premiums are no longer waived, insurance under the Policy will stay in force only if all of the following conditions are 
met: 
 Life insurance is in force for Active Employees under the Policy, and 
 You are in an eligible class for coverage under the Policy, and 
 Your Premium payments are resumed. 
 
The amount of insurance will be subject to the Certificate and riders in effect on the date your Premium payments are 
resumed. 
 
You will not be eligible for portability under any Portability Rider on the date we stop waiving your Premiums. 
 
CONVERSION AFTER TERMINATION OF WAIVER OF PREMIUM 
When Waiver of Premium under this rider ends, and if the Covered Person is not otherwise eligible for insurance under 
the Policy, then conversion will be available as described in the CONVERSION provision of the Certificate and riders. 
 
 

 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
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Applicable only to Active Employees 

This rider is made a part of the Group Term Life Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations 
and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

THE AMOUNT OF LIFE INSURANCE WILL BE REDUCED IF AN ACCELERATED DEATH BENEFIT IS PAID.  THE 
RECEIPT OF ACCELERATED DEATH BENEFITS MAY AFFECT ELIGIBILITY FOR GOVERNMENT-ENTITLED 
BENEFITS. THE RECEIPT OF ACCELERATED DEATH BENEFITS MAY BE A TAXABLE EVENT. YOU SHOULD 
SEEK ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE TAX STATUS OF THE PAYMENT FROM A PERSONAL TAX 
ADVISOR. 

 

Accelerated Death Benefit 

You: .................................................... 75% of the amount of Basic and Supplemental Life Insurance in force, or 
$200,000, whichever is less. 

You must have at least $5,000 of life insurance coverage in force. 
 

DEFINITIONS 
 
 
 
Doctor means a person who is licensed to practice medicine in the state in which treatment is received and 
providing treatment or advice in accordance with the license.  State law may require consideration of professional 
services of a practitioner other than a medical physician.  If so, then this definition includes persons recognized as 
qualified to treat the condition for which claim is made by the state in which treatment is received.  This definition 
does not include you or your spouse, or your or your spouse’s children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, 
siblings and their spouses. 

Institution means any hospital, convalescent hospital, health clinic, nursing home, extended care facility, or other 
institution devoted to the care of sick, infirm, or aged persons. 

Qualifying Event means either of the following: 
 Terminal Illness. 
 A medical condition that is reasonably expected to require continuous confinement in an Institution and you are 

expected to remain there for the rest of your life. 

Terminal Illness means a medical condition that is expected to result in your death within 12 months and from 
which there is no reasonable chance of recovery.   
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GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

ELIGIBILITY FOR RIDER 
If you are covered under the Policy, then you are eligible for this rider on the latest of the following: 
 The Policy effective date. 
 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 Your life insurance coverage effective date. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF RIDER  
You will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the date you are eligible for this 
rider. 

TERMINATION OF RIDER 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 
 The date your life insurance terminates. 
 The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 
 The date this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 
This rider will not terminate while this rider is being continued under the terms of another rider. 
 
Termination of this rider will not prejudice the payment of benefits for a Qualifying Event that occurred while this rider 
was in force. 
 
CONVERSION 
When this rider terminates, conversion of this rider is not available. 
 

 
ACCELERATED DEATH BENEFIT 

Accelerated death benefit proceeds is the amount we pay to you, while you are living, if you have a Qualifying Event.  
The accelerated death benefit proceeds are paid only once.  This payout is the only settlement option available prior to 
your death. 
 
The benefit is the amount of the accelerated death benefit shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS in effect on the 
date you request accelerated death benefit proceeds.  
 
CONDITIONS FOR THE ACCELERATED DEATH BENEFIT 
To receive a benefit payment under this rider, all of the following conditions must be met: 
 Any required life insurance Premium is paid through the date you request proceeds under this rider. 
 You request proceeds in writing while you are living and before you attain age 65.  If you are unable to request 

payment yourself, your legal representative may request it on your behalf. 
 You are insured for life insurance benefits under the Policy. 
 You are insured for the minimum amount of life insurance as shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS in order to 

be eligible for benefits under this rider. 
 The benefit percentage elected will equal no less than $5,000. 
 You provide to us written proof from a Doctor that you have a Qualifying Event. 
 You provide to us written consent for payment from any irrevocable beneficiary and, in community property states, 

from your spouse. 
 
NOTICE OF CLAIM AND PROOF OF LOSS 
You must send us written notice of claim while you are living and within 90 days of the date the Qualifying Event is 
diagnosed.  Failure to give notice within 90 days will not invalidate or reduce any claim if it is shown not to have been 
reasonably possible to give such notice and that notice was given as soon as was reasonably possible. 
 
Notice of claim includes proof of loss.  Proof of loss includes information from your Doctor, at your expense, regarding 
your medical condition.  We may require additional information from the Employer in order to verify eligibility.  Proof of 
loss, including any attachments indicated on the claim form(s) as required, should be sent directly to the Employer.  A 
claim form is available from the Employer.   
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We have the right to request a second or third medical opinion, at our expense, in order to determine if you are the 
Covered Person is eligible under the terms of this rider.  Any second medical opinion may include a physical 
examination by a Doctor designated by us.  In the case of conflicting medical opinions, eligibility will be determined by 
a third medical opinion that is provided by a Doctor who is mutually acceptable to you and us. 
 
When you request proceeds under this rider, you will be provided with a disclosure demonstrating the effect of the 
acceleration on the death benefit and Premium, and any other effects on coverage. 
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
We pay the benefit proceeds to you immediately upon receipt of due written proof of loss.  If you are not the current 
owner of coverage under the Certificate or riders on the date proceeds are requested under this rider, then while you 
are living the benefit proceeds are payable to the current owner.  
 
For coverage continued by your Spouse after your death or divorce, any benefit proceeds under this rider are payable 
to your Spouse.  If your Spouse is not the current owner of coverage under the Spouse Life Insurance Rider and 
Children’s Life Insurance Rider on the date accelerated death benefit proceeds are requested, then the benefit 
proceeds are payable to the current owner. 
 
Benefit proceeds received for Terminal Illness will be paid as a lump sum. 
 
For a Qualifying Event other than Terminal Illness, you may elect to receive the benefit proceeds as a lump sum or in 
monthly installments.  You may elect monthly installments equal to 1 through 20% of the full amount of the benefit 
payable under this rider.  The minimum monthly installment is $500. Monthly installments are paid once every 30 days 
until the full accelerated benefit amount has been paid out.  Each monthly installment paid will reduce the remaining 
death benefit by the same amount. 
 
Any payment we make in good faith will discharge our liability to the extent of such payment. 
 
If you die after you request proceeds under this rider but before any proceeds are received, then the accelerated death 
benefit claim will be cancelled and any death benefit will be payable under the terms of the Certificate and riders.  If 
any monthly installments are remaining at the time of death, the remaining amount will be payable as a death benefit 
under the terms of the Certificate and riders.  
 
EFFECTS ON COVERAGE 
When we pay this benefit, coverage is affected in the following ways: 
 Your Life Insurance amount is reduced by the accelerated death benefit proceeds paid under this rider. 
 Your life insurance amount that may be converted is reduced by the accelerated death benefit proceeds paid 

under this rider. 
 You will not be eligible to increase your Contributory life insurance amount. 
 Premium is based upon the life insurance amount in force prior to any proceeds paid under this rider.  Such 

Premium must be paid, unless waived under the Waiver of Premium Rider, to keep the life insurance coverage in 
force. 

 You will not be able to reinstate your coverage to its full amount in the event of a recovery from a Qualifying Event. 
 
Payment of accelerated death benefits for a Covered Person will not affect the amount of life insurance on other 
Covered Persons.  If any death benefit remains after payment of the accelerated death benefit, coverage under the 
AD&D Rider will be unaffected by the payment of an accelerated death benefit.  
 

 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 



 

LR14GP-CNT-ND 1 CNT-2656 (11/17) 
 

 

Applicable only to Active Employees 

This rider is made a part of the Group Term Life Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations 
and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 

Covered Person means: 
 You, if you are covered for life insurance under the Policy. 
 Your Spouse who is covered under your Spouse Life Insurance Rider. 
 Your Children who are covered under your Children’s Life Insurance Rider. 
 
Leave of Absence means you are absent from Active Employment for a period of time under a leave granted in 
writing by the Employer that is in accordance with the Employer’s formal leave policies.  Your normal vacation time is 
not considered a Leave of Absence. 
 
Total Disability or Totally Disabled means that due to an injury or sickness you are unable to perform the material 
duties of your regular job, and you are unable to perform any other job for which you are fit by education, training or 
experience. 
 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
ELIGIBILITY FOR RIDER 
If you are covered under the Policy, then you are eligible for this rider on the latest of the following: 
 The Policy effective date. 
 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 Your life insurance coverage effective date. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF RIDER  
You will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the date you are eligible for this rider. 
 
CHANGE OF INSURANCE CARRIERS 
The CHANGE OF INSURANCE CARRIERS provision in the Certificate is revised to include an Employee whose 
coverage was being continued under a similar continuation provision of the Employer’s prior policy on the date the 
Employer changes insurance carriers to our Policy. 
 
  

CONTENTS 

Definitions................................................................ page 1 

General Provisions................................................... page 1 

Continuation of Insurance........................................ page 2 

DEFINITIONS 
 

CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE RIDER 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 
POLICYHOLDER: North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 67389-7GAT2 

 



 

LR14GP-CNT-ND 2 CNT-2656 (11/17) 
 

TERMINATION OF RIDER 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 
 The date your life insurance terminates. 
 The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 
 The date this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 
 

CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE 
 
If you stop Active Employment due to: 
 Employer-approved Leave of Absence, or 
 Total Disability, 
then life insurance coverage may be continued under the Policy beyond the date you are no longer in Active 
Employment, limited to the time period(s) described below. 
 
During this continued coverage period, the amount of continued insurance equals the amount in effect the day prior to 
the continuation period.  That amount will reduce or stop according to the Certificate and riders in effect the day prior to 
the continuation period.   
 
Premiums are due during the continuation period on the same basis as on the day prior to the continuation period.  
Contact the Employer for more information. 
 
If an eligible claim occurs while coverage is being continued under this rider, then benefits will be paid as described in 
the Certificate and riders. 
 
FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 
If you are on a Leave of Absence as described under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 and any amendments 
("FMLA") or applicable state family and medical leave law ("State FML"), and the Employer's human resource policy 
provides for continuation of life insurance during an FMLA or State FML Leave of Absence, then life insurance 
coverage for all Covered Persons may be continued until the end of the later of: 
 The leave period permitted by FMLA. 
 The leave period permitted by state FML. 
 
This continuation of coverage includes all riders that were in effect on the date before the FMLA or State FML Leave of 
Absence began. 
 
SICKNESS OR INJURY 
If you are on a Leave of Absence due to your sickness or injury, including Total Disability, then life insurance coverage 
for all Covered Persons may be continued until the date which is 12 months after the date you stopped Active 
Employment. 
 
This continuation of coverage includes all riders that were in effect on the date before the Leave of Absence began. 
 
MILITARY LEAVE 
If you are on a Leave of Absence for active military service as described under the Uniformed Services Employment 
and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (“USERRA”) and applicable state law, then life insurance coverage for all 
Covered Persons may be continued until the date which is 24 months after the date you stopped Active Employment. 
 
This continuation of coverage includes all riders that in effect on the date before the Leave of Absence began. 
 
CONCURRENT LEAVES OF ABSENCE 
If you would be eligible for more than one type of continuation under this rider during any one period that you are not in 
Active Employment, we will consider such periods to be concurrent for the purpose of determining how long your 
coverage may continue under the Policy. 
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TERMINATION OF CONTINUATION 
Coverage continued under this rider will end on the earliest of the following: 
 The end of the continuation period as indicated above. 
 The end of the period for which Premiums are paid if the next Premium is not paid by its due date, subject to the 

grace period. 
 The date you are eligible under the Policy as an Active Employee. 
 The date of your death. 
 The date you become covered under another group life insurance policy as an employee or member. 
 The date Premiums are waived under the Waiver of Premium Rider. 
 The date the Policy terminates. 
 The date coverage for all Active Employees under the Policy terminates. 
 
In no event will coverage for any Covered Person be continued beyond the date coverage would otherwise end 
according to the termination provision(s) of the Certificate and riders. 
 
When this continuation ends, other than by waiver of Premium, insurance under the Policy will stay in force only if all of 
the following conditions are met: 
 Life insurance is in force for Active Employees under the Policy, and  
 You are in an eligible class for coverage under the Policy, and 
 Your Premium payments are resumed. 
 
The amount of insurance will be subject to the Certificate and riders in effect on the date your Premium payments are 
resumed. 
 
CONVERSION FOLLOWING TERMINATION OF CONTINUATION 
When continuation under this rider ends other than for nonpayment of Premium or waiver of premium, and if the 
Covered Person is not otherwise eligible for insurance under the Policy, then conversion will be available as described 
in the CONVERSION provision of the Certificate and riders. 
 
RETURN TO ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT 
If coverage is not continued during an FMLA or State FML Leave of Absence, and you return to Active Employment 
immediately following the end of the FMLA or State FML Leave of Absence and while coverage is in force for Active 
Employees under the Policy, then coverage for all Covered Persons may be reinstated effective the date you return to 
Active Employment.  The amount(s) of coverage will be subject to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS in effect on the date 
you return to Active Employment.  We will not apply a new Eligibility Waiting Period or require Evidence of Insurability 
for the same or lesser amount(s) of coverage.  
 
If coverage is not continued during your Leave of Absence for active military service, and you return to Active 
Employment while coverage is in force for Active Employees under the Policy, then coverage for all Covered Persons 
may be reinstated in accordance with USERRA and applicable state law. 
 
If coverage is not continued during any other period that is eligible for continuation under the Policy, and you return to 
Active Employment while coverage is in force for Active Employees under the Policy, then the terms of the Certificate 
and riders will apply.  
 

 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
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This rider is made a part of the Group Term Life Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations 
and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 

Covered Person means: 
 You, if you are covered for life insurance under the Policy. 

 Your Spouse who is covered under your Spouse Life Insurance Rider. 

 Your Children who are covered under your Children’s Life Insurance Rider. 
 

Total Disability or Totally Disabled means that due to an injury or sickness you are unable to perform the material 

duties of your regular job, and you are unable to perform any other job for which you are fit by education, training or 
experience. 

 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
ELIGIBILITY FOR RIDER 
If you are covered under the Policy, then you are eligible for this rider on the latest of the following: 

 The Policy effective date. 

 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 

 Your life insurance coverage effective date. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF RIDER  
You will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s address on the date you are eligible for this rider. 
 

TERMINATION OF RIDER 
This rider terminates on the earliest of the following: 

 The date your life insurance terminates. 

 The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 

 The date this rider is terminated for the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 
This rider will not terminate while your coverage is being continued under the terms of this rider. 
 

PORTABILITY 
 
If there are any Covered Persons on portability under this rider when the Policy would otherwise terminate, the Policy 
will remain in force to cover those Covered Persons on portability until the date there are no Covered Persons on 
portability. 
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EMPLOYEE PORTABILITY 
Portability means you can apply to continue coverage under the same Policy after it would otherwise terminate, if 
certain conditions are met.  Continued coverage under this rider includes the following: 

 Employee Life Insurance under the Certificate 

 Spouse Life Insurance under the Spouse Life Insurance Rider 

 Children’s Life Insurance under the Children’s Life Insurance Rider 

 Employee AD&D Insurance under the AD&D Rider 

 Coverage under all riders except the Waiver of Premium Rider and any Continuation riders  
 

CONDITIONS FOR EMPLOYEE PORTABILITY 
All of the following conditions must be met: 

 You must apply for a minimum of $5,000 in continued Employee coverage.  

 If you apply for portability of Spouse coverage, you must apply for a minimum of $5,000 in continued Spouse 
coverage. 

 If you apply for portability of Children’s coverage, you must apply for a minimum of $5,000 in continued Children’s 
coverage. 

 You have not applied for conversion of life insurance on the same amounts. 

 You apply for portability before the date you attain age 69. 

 You did not stop Active Employment due to Total Disability. 

 You are not on a leave of absence for your sickness or injury. 

 You apply for portability within 31 days of the date your life insurance coverage would otherwise terminate due to 
any of the following: 

 You terminate employment with the Employer, if coverage remains in effect under the Policy for other Active 
Employees. 

 The Policyholder terminates coverage under the Policy for all Active Employees, and does not replace it with 
another life insurance plan. 

 You are no longer in an eligible class for coverage under the Policy. 

 Any other continuation provided under the Policy ends. 
 
You will be given notice of your portability and conversion rights at least 15 days before the date any part of your life 
insurance ends.  Your portability rights will expire on the later of 16 days after you are given such notice or the end of 
the conversion period, but in no event will your portability rights extend beyond 60 days after the expiration of the 
conversion period. 
 
Portability is not available for any of the following: 

 Any amounts of life insurance for which a conversion application has been received by us. 

 Coverage that reduces due to your change from one eligible class to another. 

 Coverage that reduces due to a Policy change. 

 Coverage that is being continued under the Waiver of Premium Rider. 

 Coverage that ends due to termination under the Waiver of Premium Rider. 

 Coverage that ends due to termination of a continuation for your sickness or injury. 

 Coverage that ends due to termination of a continuation for your Total Disability. 
 
You may apply for conversion of any terminating life insurance amounts that are not eligible for portability.  See the 
CONVERSION provision of the Certificate and riders. 
 

APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYEE PORTABILITY 
You may apply for portability on the same amount of insurance that would otherwise terminate or a lesser amount 
according to the available amounts on the portability application.  You must apply for portability of your insurance in 
order to continue Spouse and Children’s insurance.  The amount(s) that can be continued under this rider are subject 
to the following maximum(s): 

 The lesser of 5 times your Basic Yearly Earnings or $600,000 total Employee Life Insurance 

 $600,000 total Employee AD&D Insurance, not to exceed the total amount of Employee Life ported 

 $300,000 total Spouse Life Insurance, not to exceed the total amount of Employee Life ported 

 $10,000 total Children’s Life Insurance, not to exceed the total amount of Employee Life ported 
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You may apply for conversion of any terminating life insurance amounts that exceed the maximum amount(s) eligible 
for portability.  See the CONVERSION provision of the Certificate and riders.  You will not be eligible to increase the 
ported coverage amount(s).  Ported coverage is subject to all the terms of the Policy. 
 
If you die within 31 days of the date you become eligible for portability under this rider (the “conversion period”), any 
life insurance amount that you were entitled to convert will be payable according to the CONVERSION provision of the 
Certificate and riders.  If your Spouse or Child dies during the conversion period, any Spouse or Children’s life 
insurance amount that you were entitled to convert will be payable according to the CONVERSION provision of your 
Spouse Life Insurance Rider or Children’s Life Insurance Rider. Any AD&D Insurance amount you are eligible to port 
will be payable according to the AD&D Rider.  Any unearned Premiums paid for portability will be refunded to the 
Beneficiary. 
 
You do not need to provide Evidence of Insurability in order to apply for portability.  You may complete the Evidence of 
Insurability section of the application if you want to request a lower portability Premium rate.  If we accept your 
application for portability but decline any Evidence of Insurability, you may either pay the standard portability Premium 
rate or apply for conversion of life insurance within 31 days of the date we provide you written notice of conversion.  
See the CONVERSION provision of the Certificate and riders.  Your coverage must be ported under the terms of this 
rider in order for Spouse or Children’s coverage to be ported. 
 
Your application for portability must be approved by us.  When we approve your application, ported coverage under 
this rider will be effective on the day after the conversion period ends.  Premiums under this rider will be billed directly 
to you on a quarterly basis.  Each quarterly Premium due will include a billing fee as indicated on the portability 
application or subsequent notice.  Continued Premium payment is required to keep coverage in force.  The initial 
Premium will be based on the portability Premium rates in effect at the time you apply for portability.  We may change 
the portability Premium rates at any time upon 90 days written notice to you. 
 
If you have made an absolute assignment of your insurance, only the current owner may apply for portability. 
 

MISSTATEMENT OF EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY FOR EMPLOYEE PORTABILITY 
If your or your Spouse’s Premium rates are based on Evidence of Insurability as provided on your application for 
portability, and you or your Spouse have misstated any information requested on the application for portability such 
that the lower Premium rates would not have been approved by us, then we will adjust your or your Spouse’s Premium 
to the standard portability Premium rates.  Any back Premium due as a result of this adjustment will be required.  We 
will not adjust your or your Spouse’s Premium after coverage has been continued under this rider for two years during 
your or your Spouse’s lifetime.   
 

GRACE PERIOD FOR EMPLOYEE PORTABILITY 
You have a grace period of 31 days for the payment of any Premium due.  During the grace period coverage will 
remain in force.  If full Premium payment is not received by us by the due date, we will give written notification to you 
that if the Premium is not paid by the end of the grace period then all coverage will end on the last day of the grace 
period.  If we fail to give such written notice, coverage will continue in effect until the date such notice is given.  We 
may extend the grace period by giving written notice of such intent to you, and such notice will specify the date all 
coverage will terminate if the Premium remains unpaid.  You are required to pay a pro rata Premium for any period 
coverage was in force during the grace period.  Premium payment is required for any grace period, any extension of 
such period, and any period for which coverage was in effect and Premium was not paid. 
 

TERMINATION OF EMPLOYEE PORTABILITY 
Coverage continued under this provision will end on the earliest of the following: 

 The end of the period for which Premiums are paid if the next Premium is not paid by its due date, subject to the 
grace period. 

 The date you attain age 70. 

 The date you die. 

 The date we approve a claim under the Waiver of Premium Rider. 
 
You may apply for conversion of any life insurance amount(s) that terminate when portability under this rider ends, 
other than for nonpayment of Premium or at your death.  Your surviving Spouse and Children may apply for 
conversion of any Spouse and Children’s life insurance amount(s) that terminate when you die.  See the 
CONVERSION provision of the Certificate and riders. 
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Any unearned Premiums paid for ported coverage will be refunded. 
 

PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
If you die, your Spouse can apply to continue coverage under the same Policy if certain conditions are met.  Continued 
coverage following your death includes the following: 

 Spouse Life Insurance under the Spouse Life Insurance Rider 

 Children’s Life Insurance under the Children’s Life Insurance Rider 
 
If you divorce, your Spouse can apply to continue coverage under the same Policy if certain conditions are met.  Your 
Spouse’s continued coverage following divorce includes the following: 

 Spouse Life Insurance under the Spouse Life Insurance Rider 
 
For purposes of this rider, “divorce” includes annulment. 
 

CONDITIONS FOR PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
All of the following conditions must be met: 

 Your Spouse must have been insured under your Spouse Life Insurance Rider on the date of your death or 
divorce.   

 Your Spouse must apply for portability before the date your Spouse attains age 60. 

 Your Spouse must apply for portability within 31 days of your death or divorce. 
 
Your Spouse will be given notice of portability and conversion rights when your Spouse’s life insurance ends due to 
death or divorce.  Your Spouse’s portability rights will expire on the later of 16 days after your Spouse is given such 
notice or the end of the conversion period, but in no event will your Spouse’s portability rights extend beyond 60 days 
after the expiration of the conversion period. 
 
Children may be covered following your death only if they would have been eligible for coverage under the eligibility 
rules in force prior to your death. 
 
Conversion is available for any terminating life insurance amount(s) that are not eligible for portability.  See the 
CONVERSION provision of the riders.  Any amounts of life insurance for which an application for conversion has been 
received by us are not eligible for portability under this rider. 
 

APPLICATION FOR PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
Your Spouse may apply for portability of the same amount of insurance that would otherwise terminate or a lesser 
amount according to the available amounts on the portability application.  Your Spouse must apply for portability of 
Spouse insurance in order to continue Children’s insurance.  Your Spouse may only apply for portability of Children’s 
Insurance in the event of your death. The amount(s) that can be continued under this provision are subject to the 
following maximum(s): 

 $300,000 total Spouse Life Insurance 

 $10,000 total Children’s Life Insurance, not to exceed the total amount of Spouse Life ported 
 
Conversion is available for any life insurance amounts that exceed the maximum amount(s) eligible for portability 
under this provision.  See the CONVERSION provision of the riders.  Your Spouse will not be eligible to increase the 
ported coverage amount.  Ported coverage is subject to all the terms of the Policy, Certificate and any riders. 
 
If your Spouse dies within 31 days of the date your Spouse becomes eligible for portability under this provision (the 
“conversion period”), any Spouse life insurance amount that was eligible for conversion will be payable according to 
the CONVERSION provision of the Spouse Life Insurance Rider. If your Child dies during the conversion period, any 
Children’s life insurance amount that was eligible for conversion on that Child will be payable according to the 
CONVERSION provision of the Children’s Life Insurance Rider. Any unearned Premiums paid for portability will be 
refunded to the Beneficiary. 
 
Your Spouse does not need to provide Evidence of Insurability in order to apply for portability.  Your Spouse may 
complete the Evidence of Insurability section of the application if your Spouse wants to request a lower portability 
Premium rate.  If we accept your Spouse’s application for portability but decline your Spouse’s Evidence of Insurability, 
your Spouse may either pay the standard portability Premium rate or apply for conversion of life insurance within 31 
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days of the date we provide your Spouse written notice of conversion.  See the CONVERSION provision of the riders.  
Spouse coverage must be ported under the terms of this rider in order for Children’s coverage to be ported. 
 
If we approve your Spouse’s application for portability, your Spouse will become the owner of the Spouse coverage 
that was previously provided under your Spouse Life Insurance Rider.  If Children’s coverage is ported after your 
death, your Spouse will also become the owner of the Children’s coverage that was previously provided under your 
Children’s Life Insurance Rider.  Ported coverage under this provision will be effective on the day after the conversion 
period ends.  Premiums under this provision will be billed directly to your Spouse on a quarterly basis.  Each quarterly 
Premium due will include a billing fee as indicated on the portability application or subsequent notice.  Continued 
Premium payment is required to keep coverage in force.  The initial Premium will be based on the portability Premium 
rates in effect at the time your Spouse applies for portability.  We may change the portability Premium rates at any time 
upon 90 days written notice to your Spouse. 
 
If you have made an absolute assignment of your insurance, the current owner’s rights under the Policy will terminate 
on the date of your death.  The current owner’s rights regarding your Spouse’s insurance will terminate on the date of 
your divorce.  Your Spouse as the new owner under this provision may make an absolute assignment of insurance, as 
described in the ASSIGNMENT provision of the Certificate. 
 

BENEFICIARY FOR PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
For coverage continued under this provision, the Beneficiary is named by your Spouse to receive any proceeds 
payable at your Spouse’s death.  While your Spouse’s coverage is in force under this provision, your Spouse may 
change the Beneficiary by Written request on a form that is acceptable to us.  A Beneficiary designation form is 
available from us.  An accepted designation will take effect as of the date it is Signed but will not affect any payment 
we make or action we take before receiving the Signed form.  If your Spouse has made an absolute assignment of 
insurance, only the current owner may change the Beneficiary designation for proceeds payable at your Spouse’s 
death. 
 
If an irrevocable Beneficiary is named for proceeds payable at your Spouse’s death, the Beneficiary designation can 
only be changed with the consent of the irrevocable Beneficiary. 
 
There can be one or more Beneficiaries for proceeds payable at your Spouse’s death.  If two or more Beneficiaries are 
named and their shares are not specified in the Beneficiary designation, then the Beneficiaries will share any 
insurance proceeds equally.  If a primary Beneficiary does not survive your Spouse, their share will be payable to the 
remaining primary Beneficiaries.  One or more contingent Beneficiaries may be named to receive the proceeds in the 
event that all of the primary Beneficiaries named do not survive your Spouse. 
 
Your Spouse is the Beneficiary for all other proceeds payable.  This Beneficiary designation may not be changed.  If 
your Spouse has made an absolute assignment of insurance, then during your Spouse’s lifetime those proceeds are 
payable to the current owner. 
 

PAYMENT OF PROCEEDS FOR PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
For coverage continued under this provision, a Spouse death benefit is payable if your Spouse dies while the Spouse 
Life Insurance Rider is in force.  Other benefits are payable if a covered loss occurs while coverage is in force, and 
while your Spouse is living.  See the CONVERSION provision of the Children’s Life Insurance Rider for information 
about death benefits payable during the conversion period following your Spouse’s death. 
 
To be eligible to receive proceeds, the Beneficiary must be living on the date of your Spouse’s or Child’s death or loss 
under any rider.  Exception: If your Child dies during the conversion period following your Spouse’s death and your 
Spouse would otherwise have been the Beneficiary, we will pay the Child death benefit proceeds to your Spouse’s 
estate. 
 
If the Beneficiary is eligible to receive proceeds but dies before receiving them, we will pay the proceeds to the 
Beneficiary’s estate. If there is no eligible Beneficiary, we will pay the proceeds to your Spouse’s estate. 
 

MISSTATEMENT OF EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY FOR PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
If your Spouse’s Premium rates are based on Evidence of Insurability as provided on your Spouse’s application for 
portability, and your Spouse has misstated any information requested on the application for portability such that the 
lower Premium rates would not have been approved by us, then we will adjust your Spouse’s Premium to the standard 
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portability Premium rates.  Any back Premium due as a result of this adjustment will be required. We will not adjust 
your Spouse’s Premium after coverage has been continued under this rider for two years during your Spouse’s 
lifetime. 
 

GRACE PERIOD FOR PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
Your Spouse has a grace period of 31 days for the payment of any Premium due.  During the grace period coverage 
will remain in force.  If full Premium payment is not received by us by the due date, we will give written notification to 
your Spouse that if the Premium is not paid by the end of the grace period then all coverage will end on the last day of 
the grace period.  If we fail to give such written notice, coverage will continue in effect until the date such notice is 
given.  We may extend the grace period by giving written notice of such intent to your Spouse, and such notice will 
specify the date all coverage will terminate if the Premium remains unpaid.  Your Spouse is required to pay a pro rata 
Premium for any period coverage was in force during the grace period.  Premium payment is required for any grace 
period, any extension of such period, and any period for which coverage was in effect and Premium was not paid. 
 

TERMINATION OF PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
Coverage continued under this provision will end on the earliest of the following: 

 The end of the period for which Premiums are paid if the next Premium is not paid by its due date, subject to the 
grace period. 

 The date your Spouse attains age 70. 

 The date your Spouse dies. 

 For each Child’s coverage, the date the Child is no longer an eligible Child as defined by the Children’s Life 
Insurance Rider.  Coverage of a disabled Child ends when there is no longer evidence satisfactory to us that the 
incapacity is continuing. 

 For Children’s coverage, the date there are no longer any eligible Children covered under the Children’s Life 
Insurance Rider. 

 
If your Spouse is continuing coverage under this provision and then later your Spouse becomes eligible as an Active 
Employee under the Policy, then any amount(s) of coverage continued under this rider will be reduced by the 
amount(s) of coverage your Spouse has as an Active Employee.  Any unearned Premiums paid for ported coverage 
will be refunded. 
 

CONVERSION FOR TERMINATION OF PORTABILITY AT DEATH OR DIVORCE 
Your Spouse may convert any life insurance amounts that stop when portability under this provision ends for any 
reason other than nonpayment of Premium, or your Spouse’s death, or your Child reaching the termination age under 
the Children’s Life Insurance Rider.  Conversion is also available for any part of Spouse life insurance that reduces 
due to a Policy change.  Conversion is also available for any part of Children’s life insurance that reduces due to a 
Policy change.  See the CONVERSION provision of the rider(s).  If your Spouse has made an absolute assignment of 
insurance, only the current owner may apply for conversion under this paragraph. 
 
Your Child may convert any Children’s life insurance amount that stops under the Children’s Life Insurance Rider due 
to your Child reaching the termination age under that rider, or when portability under this rider ends due to your 
Spouse’s death.  If a Child is too young to contract for life insurance after your Spouse’s death, then a parent or a 
court-appointed guardian of the Child may apply for conversion of that Child’s coverage.  See the CONVERSION 
provision of the rider. 
 
 

 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 

20 Washington Avenue South 

Minneapolis, MN 55401 
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This rider is made a part of the Group Term Life Insurance Certificate and is subject to all of the provisions, limitations 
and exclusions of the Policy and Certificate, unless changed by this rider.  Unless expressly changed by this rider, the 
terms used in this rider have the same meaning as in the Certificate. 

 

 
BASIC EMPLOYEE AD&D INSURANCE 
Basic Employee AD&D Insurance is Noncontributory by Employees. 
 

 

 
MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF BASIC EMPLOYEE AD&D INSURANCE   
The Basic Employee AD&D Insurance amount will not exceed the Basic Employee life insurance amount in force. 
 
SUPPLEMENTAL EMPLOYEE AD&D INSURANCE 
Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance is Contributory by Employees, and is included in the cost of Supplemental 
Employee Life Insurance. 
 

 

 
MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF BASIC PLUS SUPPLEMENTAL EMPLOYEE AD&D INSURANCE   
The Basic plus Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance amount will not exceed the Basic plus Supplemental 
Employee life insurance amount in force. 
 
 
ACCIDENTAL DEATH BENEFIT 
 
For:  Benefit Amount: 

Loss of life  Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
 

Eligible Class(es)  Full Amount 

All Eligible Active Employees and Retirees  Equal to the amount of Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance 

 

Eligible Class(es)  Full Amount 

All Eligible Active Employees and Retirees  Equal to the amount of Basic Employee Life Insurance 
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SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 
 

ACCIDENTAL DEATH & DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) RIDER 

RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 
POLICYHOLDER: North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System 

GROUP POLICY NUMBER: 67389-7GAT2 
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ACCIDENTAL DISMEMBERMENT BENEFITS 
 
For:  Benefit Amount: 

Loss of an Arm  50% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Loss of a Leg  50% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Loss of a Hand   50% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Loss of a Foot  50% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
 
OTHER ACCIDENTAL LOSS BENEFITS 
 
 

For:  Benefit Amount: 

Loss of Sight in both eyes  100% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Loss of Sight in one eye  50% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Loss of Speech  50% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Loss of Hearing  50% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Paralysis of all four limbs  100% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Paralysis of three limbs  75% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Paralysis of two limbs  75% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Paralysis of one limb  25% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Coma  2% of the Full Amount of AD&D Insurance to a maximum of 

$10,000 
 
Only one Full Amount is payable for any combination of the losses listed above per Covered Person.  For example: if 
the Covered Person has a loss for which the Benefit Amount paid was 50% of the Full Amount of that Covered 
Person’s AD&D Insurance, then the Benefit Amount for that Covered Person’s next loss will be no more than 50% of 
the Full Amount.   
 
ADDITIONAL ACCIDENT BENEFITS 
 

 
Benefit:  Additional Amount: 

Safety Belt use  Equal to 10% of the full Benefit Amount for loss of life to a 
maximum of $25,000 

Airbag use  Equal to 5% of the full Benefit Amount for loss of life to a 
maximum of $15,000 

Transportation/Repatriation  Equal to 2% of the full Benefit Amount for loss of life to a 
maximum of $2,000 

Child Care (per child)  Equal to 5% of the full Benefit Amount for loss of life 
annually up to a total of $10,000 for all children 

Child education (per student)  Equal to 5% of the full Benefit Amount for loss of life up to a 
total of $3,000 for all students per academic year for up to 4 
years. 

Spouse education  Equal to 5% of the full Benefit Amount for loss of life up to a 
total of $3,000 per academic year for up to 4 years                                                

Occupational assault  Equal to 100% of the full Benefit Amount for the loss to a 
maximum of $10,000 

Line of duty  Equal to 50% of the full Benefit Amount for the loss to a 
maximum of $50,000 
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DEFINITIONS 
 
 

Accidental Injury means a bodily injury sustained by a Covered Person, which is a direct result of an accident, 
independent of disease or bodily or mental illness or infirmity or any other cause, and which occurs while the 
Covered Person’s insurance under this rider is in force.  Accidental Injury includes bodily injury caused by exposure 
to the elements when the exposure is a direct result of an accident. 

Airbag means a passenger restraint system properly installed in the Automobile in which the Covered Person was 
riding at the time of the Accidental Injury, which inflates for added protection to the head and chest areas. 

Automobile means any self-propelled private passenger vehicle which has four or more tires and which is not 
being used for commercial purposes. 

Child Care means any facility or private care that: 
 is licensed as child care by the state, 
 provides non-medical care and supervision for children, and 
 is not operated by you or a member of your immediate family. 

Coma means a state of deep and total unconsciousness from which the comatose person cannot be aroused, as 
determined by a Doctor, and which continues for a period of 30 days. 

Covered Person means: 
 You, if you are covered for Supplemental life insurance under the Policy and you are enrolled for Contributory 

coverage under this rider. 

Doctor means a person who is licensed to practice medicine in the state in which treatment is received and 
providing treatment or advice in accordance with the license.  State law may require consideration of professional 
services of a practitioner other than a medical physician.  If so, then this definition includes persons recognized as 
qualified to treat the condition for which claim is made by the state in which treatment is received.  This definition 
does not include you or your spouse, or your or your spouse’s children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, 
siblings and their spouses. 

Loss of a Foot means the foot is permanently severed from the body at or above the ankle but below the knee. 
 
Loss of a Hand means the hand is permanently severed from the body at or above the wrist, but below the elbow.  
Loss of a Hand includes loss of the thumb and index finger of the same hand where the thumb and index finger are 
permanently severed through or above the metacarpophalangeal joints (i.e. the third joint from the tip of the finger or 
the second joint from the tip of the thumb). 
 
Loss of a Leg means the leg is permanently severed from the body at or above the knee. 

Loss of an Arm means the arm is permanently severed from the body at or above the elbow. 
 
Loss of Hearing means the entire and irrevocable loss of hearing in both ears, as determined by a Doctor. 
 
Loss of Sight means permanent and uncorrectable loss of sight in an eye, as determined by a Doctor.  The visual 
acuity must be 20/200 or worse in the eye, or the field of vision must be less than 20 degrees. 
 
Loss of Speech means the entire and irrevocable loss of speech as determined by a Doctor. 

Paralysis means the total impairment of voluntary movement and sensory function of a limb (arm or leg), without 
severance, and the paralysis is determined by a Doctor to be permanent, complete and irreversible. 

Safety Belt means a passenger restraint system properly installed in the Automobile in which the Covered Person 
was riding at the time of the Accidental Injury, which consists of a belt or strap. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
ELIGIBILITY 
If you are working for the Employer in an eligible class (shown in the Certificate’s SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS), you are 
eligible for this rider on the latest of the following dates: 
 The Policy effective date. 
 The date this rider is available to the eligible class of Employees to which you belong. 
 Your life insurance coverage effective date. 
 
ENROLLMENT 
If you are eligible for AD&D coverage, you must enroll for any Contributory AD&D coverage before the coverage will 
become effective.  We or the Employer will provide you with the forms or information needed to complete your 
enrollment.   
 
No enrollment is required if the Policy replaces a group policy issued by us or by another insurance company, and you 
were covered under the prior policy on the day before that policy was replaced by our Policy.  The amount of 
Contributory AD&D coverage that becomes effective on our Policy effective date will be at the same level as under the 
prior policy, subject to the terms of our Policy including any maximum coverage amounts under our Policy.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE 

 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES TO COVERAGE 
Once AD&D coverage begins, any increased or additional coverage will take effect on the latest of the following: 
 The first day of the month that is on or next follows the date of the increased or additional coverage, if you are in 

Active Employment. 
 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment on the date the increased or 

additional coverage would otherwise start. 
 
Any decrease in coverage will take effect at the end of the month but will not affect a payable claim that occurs prior to 
the decrease. 
 
TERMINATION 
This rider will terminate on the earliest of the following: 
 The date your life insurance terminates. 
 The date this rider is terminated for all Employees under the Policy. 
 The end of the period for which Premiums for this rider are paid if the next Premium is not paid by its due date, 

subject to the grace period. 
 The date you voluntarily cancel this rider in Writing, as allowed by the Employer unless prohibited by federal and 

state law. 
 The date a claim is approved under the Waiver of Premium Rider. 
 
Termination will not prejudice the payment of benefits for a covered loss caused by an Accidental Injury that occurs 
while the Covered Person is insured under this rider. 
 
CONVERSION 
When coverage under this rider terminates, conversion of AD&D coverage to an individual policy is not available. 

For Noncontributory coverage, each Covered Person will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the 
Policyholder’s address on the date the Covered Person is eligible for coverage. 

For Contributory coverage, each Covered Person will be covered at 12:01 a.m. standard time at the Policyholder’s 
address on the latest of the following: 
 The date the Covered Person is eligible for coverage, if you enroll for coverage on or before that date. 
 The date you enroll for coverage. 
 The date you return to Active Employment, if you are not in Active Employment when the Covered Person’s 

coverage would otherwise become effective.  Exception: Coverage starts on a non-working day if you were in 
Active Employment on your last scheduled working day before the non-working day.  Non-working days include 
time off for the following: vacations, personal holidays, weekends and holidays, approved nonmedical leave of 
absence and paid time off for nonmedical-related absences. 
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INCONTESTABILITY 
Any statement made by you is considered a representation and not a warranty.  Except for fraud, we will not use such 
statement to contest insurance under this rider after it has been in force for two years during the Covered Person’s 
lifetime.  Except for fraud, we will not use such statement to contest an increase or benefit addition to such insurance, 
after the increase or benefit has been in force for two years during the Covered Person’s lifetime.  Fraud in the 
procurement of coverage under the Policy is only contestable after the coverage has been in force for two years from 
its effective date when permitted by applicable law in the governing jurisdiction. 
 
The statement on which any contest is based must be material to the risk accepted or the hazard assumed by us. 
 

AD&D BENEFITS 
 
We will pay an AD&D benefit according to the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS if a Covered Person suffers a covered loss 
(as described below) as the result of an Accidental Injury.  The Covered Person must be insured under this rider on the 
date of the Accidental Injury, and the cause of the loss must not be excluded. 
 
If any benefit described below indicates that it is payable to you if living, and you are not the current owner of coverage 
under the Certificate or riders on the date of the loss, then those benefit proceeds are payable to the current owner. 
See the Portability Rider for information about the eligible Beneficiary for continued coverage after your death or 
divorce. 
 
Accidental Death 
A benefit is payable to the Beneficiary if an Accidental Injury causes a Covered Person’s death within 180 days of the 
Accidental Injury.  See the Certificate and riders for more information about the Beneficiary. 
 
We will presume that the Covered Person died as a result of Accidental Injury if all of the following are true:  
 The conveyance in which the Covered Person was traveling (including but not limited to an automobile, airplane, 

ship or train) disappears, sinks or is wrecked. 
 The body of the Covered Person is not found. 
 A reasonable period of time, but not more than 365 days has lapsed from the later of the date the conveyance was 

scheduled to arrive at its destination or the date the Covered Person was reported missing to the authorities. 
If we pay an Accidental Death benefit due to the Covered Person’s disappearance and it is later found that the 
Covered Person is alive, the benefits paid must be refunded to us. 
 
Accidental Dismemberment 
A benefit is payable if an Accidental Injury causes a Covered Person’s loss of a covered limb or appendage within 180 
days of the Accidental Injury.  The types of and benefit amounts for covered Accidental Dismemberment losses are 
shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.  Accidental Dismemberment benefits are payable to you if living, otherwise 
to the Beneficiary. 
 
If Accidental Injury causes more than one loss to the same covered limb or appendage, only the largest benefit for the 
loss will be payable. 
 
Other Accidental Loss 
A benefit is payable if an Accidental Injury causes a Covered Person’s loss as described below.  The benefit amounts 
for these covered losses are shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.  These benefits are payable to you if living, 
otherwise to the Beneficiary. 
 
Loss of Sight: The Covered Person has a Loss of Sight in one or both eyes, and the Loss of Sight is continuous for 
180 days following the date the Loss of Sight began.   
Loss of Speech: The Covered Person has a Loss of Speech that is continuous for 180 days following the date the 
Loss of Speech began. 
Loss of Hearing: The Covered Person has a Loss of Hearing in both ears, and the Loss of Hearing is continuous for 
180 days following the date the Loss of Hearing began. 
 
Paralysis: The Covered Person has Paralysis of one or more limbs.  Only one Paralysis benefit is payable per 
Accidental Injury. 
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Coma: The Covered Person is in a Coma that is continuous for 30 days following the date the Coma began. 

Additional Accident Benefits 
When a benefit is payable under this rider for Accidental Death, Accidental Dismemberment or Other Accidental 
Loss, an Additional Accident Benefit may be payable under the terms described below.  The additional benefit 
amounts are shown on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.  These benefits are payable to you if living, otherwise to the 
Beneficiary. 

Safety Belt use: The Accidental Injury causing death occurs while the Covered Person is riding in an Automobile 
equipped with Safety Belts, and the Covered Person was wearing a properly fastened Safety Belt at the time of the 
Accidental Injury. 
 
If the accident report or other accident records can’t verify the Safety Belt use, and payment of this benefit would not 
otherwise be excluded, then a flat benefit amount of $1,000 is payable. 
 
This benefit is not payable if the death was caused or contributed to by any use of intoxicating liquors, marijuana, 
narcotic drugs, depressants or similar substances, whether or not prescribed by a Doctor, by the Covered Person or 
by the driver of the Automobile in which the Covered Person was riding.  

Airbag use: The Accidental Injury causing death occurs while the Covered Person is riding in an Automobile 
equipped with an Airbag for the Covered Person’s seat in which the Airbag for the Covered Person’s seat operated 
properly upon impact at the time of the Accidental Injury.  The Covered Person must also have been wearing a 
properly fastened Safety Belt at the time of the Accidental Injury. 
 
If the accident report or other accident records can’t verify the Airbag use, and payment of this benefit would not 
otherwise be excluded, then a flat benefit amount of $1,000 is payable. 
 
This benefit is not payable if the death was caused or contributed to by any use of intoxicating liquors, marijuana, 
narcotic drugs, depressants or similar substances, whether or not prescribed by a Doctor, by the Covered Person or 
by the driver of the Automobile in which the Covered Person was riding. 

Transportation/Repatriation: The Covered Person’s accidental death occurs at least 100 miles from the Covered 
Person’s primary residence. 

Child Care: Your dependent child under age 13 is enrolled in Child Care within 31 days of the date of your death for 
which a benefit is payable under this rider.  The Beneficiary must provide proof annually that your child remains 
eligible.  Benefits will stop when your child is no longer eligible. 
 
If you do not have an eligible dependent child, a flat benefit amount of $1,000 is payable. 

Child education: Your dependent child is enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited post-secondary institution 
of higher learning beyond grade 12 within 365 days following the date of your death for which a benefit is payable 
under this rider.  To be considered full-time, your child’s full-time school attendance must be 6 months or more in 
each annual period following the loss.  Benefits are payable at the end of each annual period following the loss.  The 
Beneficiary must provide proof annually that your child remains eligible.  Benefits will stop when your child is no 
longer eligible. 
 
A dependent child for this benefit has the same meaning as a Child under the Children’s Life Insurance Rider.  

Spouse education: Your spouse is enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited post-secondary institution of 
higher learning beyond grade 12 within 365 days following the date of your death for which a benefit is payable under 
this rider.  To be considered full-time, your spouse’s full-time school attendance must be 6 months or more in each 
annual period following the death.  Benefits are payable at the end of each annual period following the death.  The 
Beneficiary must provide proof annually that your spouse remains eligible.  Benefits will stop when your spouse is no 
longer eligible. 
  
A spouse for this benefit has the same meaning as a Spouse under the Spouse Life Insurance Rider.  
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Occupational assault: Your loss for which a benefit is payable under this rider is the result of an intentional and 
unlawful act of physical violence directed at you by another person while you were performing assigned duties of 
your employment with the Employer.  A report of criminal activity must be filed by you or on your behalf with the 
appropriate law enforcement authority within 48 hours of the assault.  If an occupational assault benefit and a line of 
duty benefit  would be otherwise payable for the same loss, then only the larger of the benefits will be payable.   

Line of duty: Your loss for which a benefit is payable under this rider is the result of an Accidental Injury that occurs 
while you were performing assigned duties of your employment with the Employer and while in the line of duty.  Line 
of duty means any action that you are authorized or obligated to perform by law, rule, regulation or condition of 
employment or service.  If a line of duty benefit and an occupational assault benefit would be otherwise payable for 
the same loss, then only the larger of the benefits will be payable. 

 
NOTICE OF CLAIM AND PROOF OF LOSS 
You or the Beneficiary must send us written notice of claim within 90 days after the date of loss.  Failure to give notice 
within 90 days will not invalidate or reduce any claim if it is shown not to have been reasonably possible to give such 
notice and that notice was given as soon as was reasonably possible.   
 
Notice of claim includes proof of loss.  Proof of loss for a death claim consists of a certified copy of the Covered 
Person’s death certificate or other lawful evidence providing equivalent information, and proof of the claimant’s interest 
in the proceeds.  Proof of loss for any other claim consists of information from the Covered Person’s Doctor, at your 
expense, regarding the Covered Person’s loss that is covered under this rider.  We may require additional information 
from the Employer in order to verify eligibility.  Proof of loss, including any attachments indicated on the claim form(s) 
as required, should be sent directly to us at the address indicated on the form(s).  A claim form is available from the 
Employer or us. 
 
We will review proof of loss we receive in order to determine our liability and the correct payee(s). 
 
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION 
We may require the Covered Person to be examined, at our expense, by one or more Doctors or other medical 
practitioners of our choice.  We can require an examination as often as it is reasonable to do so for the duration of a 
claim.  
 

EXCLUSIONS 
Benefits under this rider are not payable for any loss caused or contributed to by any of the following: 

 Suicide or attempted suicide, or intentionally self-inflicted injury, regardless of mental capacity. 
 Disease or infirmity of mind or body, or medical and surgical treatment for such disease or infirmity. 
 An infection, other than an infection that is a direct result or consequence of an Accidental Injury. 
 War or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared, other than acts of terrorism. 
 Accidental Injury that occurs while on full-time active duty as a member of the armed forces of any country or 

subdivision thereof.  We will refund, upon written notice of such service, any Premium that has been accepted 
under this rider for any period not covered as a result of this exclusion. 

 Active participation in a riot, insurrection or terrorist activity. 
 Committing or attempting to commit a felony. 
 Participation in an illegal occupation or activity. 
 Intoxication as defined by the jurisdiction where the accident occurred. 
 Voluntary intake or use by any means of any drug, other than those prescribed or administered by a Doctor and 

taken in accordance with the Doctor’s instructions or an over-the-counter drug taken in accordance with the 
manufacturer’s instructions. 

 Voluntary intake or use by any means of poison, gas or fumes, unless a direct result of an occupational accident. 
 Travel in or descent from an aircraft, if the Covered Person acted in a capacity other than as a passenger. 
 Travel in an aircraft or device used for testing or experimental purposes, used by or for any military authority, 

used for travel beyond the earth’s atmosphere. 
 Riding in or driving an air, land or water vehicle in a race, speed or endurance contest. 
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Benefits under this rider are not payable for loss caused or contributed to by a Covered Person’s Accidental Injury that 
occurs while the Covered Person is incarcerated. 
 
 

 

           

 

   Carolyn M. Johnson     Jennifer M. Ogren 
     President      Secretary 
 

Executed at our Home Office: 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401 
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ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 

20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55401 
 
 
 

NOTICE TO CALIFORNIA POLICYHOLDERS/CERTIFICATEHOLDERS 
KEEP THIS NOTICE WITH YOUR INSURANCE PAPERS 

 
 

If you have a question about your policy, if you need assistance with a problem, 

or if you have questions about a claim, you may write to us at the above address 

or call 1-800-955-7736. 
 

You will need to provide your policy number with any communication. 
 
 

If you do not reach a satisfactory resolution after having discussions with us, or 

our agent or representative, or both, you may contact the following unit within the 

Department of Insurance that deals with consumer affairs: 
 

California Department of Insurance 

Consumer Communications Bureau 

300 South Spring Street, South Tower 

Los Angeles, California 90013 

 

Outside Los Angeles:  1-800-927-HELP (1-800-927-4357) 

Los Angeles:  (213) 897-8921 

 

Web Site: www.insurance.ca.gov/01-consumers/101-help 
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NOTICE OF PROTECTION PROVIDED BY 

CALIFORNIA LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTEE ASSOCIATION 
 

This notice provides a brief summary regarding the protections provided to policyholders by the 

California Life and Health Insurance Guarantee Association (“the Association”).  The purpose of the 

Association is to assure that policyholders will be protected, within certain limits, in the unlikely event 

that a member insurer of the Association becomes financially unable to meet its obligations. Insurance 

companies licensed in California to sell life insurance, health insurance, annuities and structured 

settlement annuities are members of the Association.  The protection provided by the Association is not 

unlimited and is not a substitute for consumers’ care in selecting insurers.  This protection was created 

under California law, which determines who and what is covered and the amounts of coverage. 
 

Below is a brief summary of the coverages, exclusions and limits provided by the Association.  This 

summary does not cover all provisions of the law; nor does it in any way change anyone’s rights or 

obligations or the rights or obligations of the Association. 
 

COVERAGE 
 

 Persons Covered 
 

Generally, an individual is covered by the Association if the insurer was a member of the Association and 

the individual lives in California at the time the insurer is determined by a court to be insolvent.  Coverage 

is also provided to policy beneficiaries, payees or assignees, whether or not they live in California.   
 

 Amounts of Coverage 
 

The basic coverage protections provided by the Association are as follows. 
 

 Life Insurance, Annuities and Structured Settlement Annuities 
 

For life insurance policies, annuities and structured settlement annuities, the Association will 

provide the following: 
 

 Life Insurance 

80% of death benefits but not to exceed $300,000 

80% of cash surrender or withdrawal values but not to exceed $100,000 
 

 Annuities and Structured Settlement Annuities 

80% of the present value of annuity benefits, including net cash withdrawal and net 

cash surrender values but not to exceed $250,000 
 

The maximum amount of protection provided by the Association to an individual, for all life 

insurance, annuities and structured settlement annuities is $300,000, regardless of the number of 

policies or contracts covering the individual. 
 

 Health Insurance 
 

The maximum amount of protection provided by the Association to an individual, as of July 1, 

2016, is $546,741.  This amount will increase or decrease based upon changes in the health care 

cost component of the consumer price index to the date on which an insurer becomes an insolvent 

insurer. Changes to this amount will be posted on the Association’s website www.califega.org.
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COVERAGE LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE 
 

The Association may not provide coverage for this policy.  Coverage by the Association generally 

requires residency in California.  You should not rely on coverage by the Association in selecting an 

insurance company or in selecting an insurance policy. 
 

The following policies and persons are among those that are excluded from Association coverage: 
 

 A policy or contract issued by an insurer that was not authorized to do business in California 

when it issued the policy or contract 
 

 A policy issued by a health care service plan (HMO), a hospital or medical service 

organization, a charitable organization, a fraternal benefit society, a mandatory state pooling 

plan, a mutual assessment company, an insurance exchange, or a grants and annuities society 
 

 If the person is provided coverage by the guaranty association of another state. 
 

 Unallocated annuity contracts; that is, contracts which are not issued to and owned by an 

individual and which do not guaranty annuity benefits to an individual 
 

 Employer and association plans, to the extent they are self-funded or uninsured 
 

 A policy or contract providing any health care benefits under Medicare Part C or Part D 
 

 An annuity issued by an organization that is only licensed to issue charitable gift annuities 
 

 Any policy or portion of a policy which is not guaranteed by the insurer or for which the 

individual has assumed the risk, such as certain investment elements of a variable life 

insurance policy or a variable annuity contract 
 

 Any policy of reinsurance unless an assumption certificate was issued 
 

 Interest rate yields (including implied yields) that exceed limits that are specified in Insurance 

Code Section 1607.02(b)(2)(C). 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 

NOTICES 
 

Insurance companies or their agents are required by law to give or send you this notice.  Policyholders 

with additional questions should first contact their insurer or agent.  To learn more about coverages 

provided by the Association, please visit the Association’s website at www.califega.org, or contact either 

of the following: 
 

California Life and Health Insurance    California Department of Insurance 

Guarantee Association     Consumer Communications Bureau 

P.O. Box 16860,      300 South Spring Street 

Beverly Hills, CA 90209-3319    Los Angeles, CA 90013 

(323) 782-0182     (800) 927-4357 
 

Insurance companies and agents are not allowed by California law to use the existence of the 

Association or its coverage to solicit, induce or encourage you to purchase any form of insurance.  

When selecting an insurance company, you should not rely on Association coverage.  If there is any 

inconsistency between this notice and California law, then California law will control. 



ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 
20 Washington Avenue South 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401 

(612) 372-5432   

 

NOTICE CONCERNING POLICYHOLDER RIGHTS IN AN INSOLVENCY UNDER THE MINNESOTA LIFE AND 

HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION LAW 
 
If the insurer or health maintenance organization that issued your life, annuity or health insurance policy becomes impaired 
or insolvent, you are entitled to compensation for your policy or contract from the assets of that insurer. The amount you 
recover will depend on the financial condition of the insurer or the health maintenance organization. 
 
In addition, residents of Minnesota who purchase life insurance, annuities, health insurance, or health maintenance 
coverage from insurance companies authorized to do business in Minnesota are protected, SUBJECT TO LIMITS AND 
EXCLUSIONS, in the event the insurer or health maintenance organization becomes financially impaired or insolvent. This 
protection is provided by the Minnesota Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association. 
 
For purposes of this notice, the terms “insurance company” and “insurer” include health maintenance organizations.   
 

Minnesota Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 
3300 Wells Fargo Center 
90 South Seventh Street 

Minneapolis, Minnesota  55402 
Telephone: (612) 322-8713 

 
The maximum amount the Guaranty Association will pay for all policies or contracts issued on one life by the same insurer 
or health maintenance organization is limited to $500,000. Subject to this $500,000 limit, the Guaranty Association will pay 
up to $500,000 in life insurance death benefits, $130,000 in net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values for life 
insurance, $500,000 in health insurance, health maintenance organization, and long-term care  benefits, including any net 
cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values, $500,000 in disability income insurance, $250,000 in annuity net cash 
surrender and net cash withdrawal values, $410,000 in the present value of annuity benefits for annuities which are part of 
a structured settlement or for annuities in regard to which periodic annuity benefits, for a period of not less than the 
annuitant’s lifetime or for a period certain of not less than ten years, have begun to be paid on or before the date of 
impairment or insolvency, or if no coverage limit has been specified for a covered policy or benefit, the coverage limit shall 
be $500,000 in present value. Unallocated annuity contracts issued to retirement plans, other than defined benefit plans, 
established under section 401, 403(b), or 457 of the Internal Revenue code of 1986, as amended through December 31, 
1992, are covered up to $250,000 in net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values, for Minnesota residents covered 
by the plan provided, however, that the association shall not be responsible for more than $10,000,000 in claims from all 
Minnesota residents covered by the plan. If total claims exceed $10,000,000, the $10,000,000 shall be prorated among all 
claimants. These are the maximum claim amounts. Coverage by the Guaranty Association is also subject to other 
substantial limitations and exclusions and requires continued residency in Minnesota. If your claim exceeds the Guaranty 
Association’s limits you may still recover a part or all of that amount from the proceeds of the liquidation of the insolvent 
insurer, if any exist. Funds to pay claims may not be immediately available. The Guaranty Association assesses insurers 
and health maintenance organizations licensed to sell life and health insurance in Minnesota after the insolvency occurs. 
Claims are paid from this assessment. 
 
Benefits provided by a long-term care rider to a life insurance policy or annuity contract shall be considered the same type 
of benefits as the base life insurance policy or annuity contract to which it relates.   
 
THE COVERAGE PROVIDED BY THE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION IS NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR USING CARE IN 
SELECTING INSURANCE COMPANIES THAT ARE WELL MANAGED AND FINANCIALLY STABLE.  IN SELECTING 
AN INSURANCE COMPANY CONTRACT OR POLICY, YOU SHOULD NOT RELY ON COVERAGE BY THE 
GUARANTY ASSOCIATION.   
 
THIS NOTICE IS REQUIRED BY MINNESOTA STATE LAW TO ADVISE POLICYHOLDERS OF LIFE, ANNUITY, 
HEALTH INSURANCE, OR HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATION POLICIES AND CONTRACTS OF THEIR 
RIGHTS IN THE EVENT THEIR INSURANCE CARRIER BECOMES FINANCIALLY IMPAIRED OR INSOLVENT. THIS 
NOTICE IN NO WAY IMPLIES THAT THE COMPANY CURRENTLY HAS ANY TYPE OF FINANCIAL PROBLEMS. ALL 
LIFE, ANNUITY, HEALTH INSURANCE, AND HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATION   POLICIES AND 
CONTRACTS ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE THIS NOTICE. 
 
 
R-08221c             5/2020 
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ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 

 
 

MONTANA CERTIFICATE ENDORSEMENT 
for Group Term Life Insurance 

 
 
Your Certificate has been changed to include this endorsement. Please keep this endorsement with your Certificate. 
This endorsement is subject to all other terms of the Policy, Certificate, riders and endorsements issued. 
 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
The following paragraph is added to the INCONTESTABLITY provision in your Certificate: 
 

The Policy also has an INCONTESTABILITY provision.  Any statement made by the Policyholder is 
considered a representation and not a warranty.  We will not use such statement to avoid insurance, reduce 
benefits or defend a claim unless the statement is included in a Written application which has been made a 
part of the Policy.  Except for fraud, we will not use such statement to contest life insurance after it has been 
in force for two years from its effective date.  Fraud in the procurement of the Policy is only contestable after 
the Policy has been in force for two years from its effective date when permitted by applicable law in the 
governing jurisdiction.  The statement on which any contest is based must be material to the risk accepted or 
the hazard assumed by us. 

 
The following provisions are added to your Certificate: 
 

GRACE PERIOD 
The Policyholder has a grace period of 31 days for the payment of any Premium due except the first.  During 
the grace period the Policy will remain in force.  There is no grace period if the Policyholder gives us advance 
written notice of termination, or if we have given the Policyholder advance written notice of termination, as 
described under the POLICY TERMINATION provision. 
 
If full Premium payment is not received by us by the due date, we will give Written notification to the 
Policyholder that if the Premium is not paid by the end of the grace period then the Policy will end on the last 
day of the grace period.  If we fail to give such Written notice, the insurance provided under the Policy will 
continue in effect until the date such notice is given.  We may extend the grace period by giving Written notice 
of such intent to the Policyholder, and such notice will specify the date the Policy will terminate if the Premium 
remains unpaid.   
 
If the Policyholder replaces this Policy with another group policy but does not give us Written notice of intent 
to terminate this Policy, then this grace period provision will still apply. 
 
The Policyholder is required to pay a pro rata Premium for any period the Policy was in force during the grace 
period.  Premium payment is required for any grace period, any extension of such period, and any period for 
which insurance under this Policy was in effect and Premium was not paid. 

 

CONFORMITY WITH MONTANA STATUTES 
The provisions of the Certificate conform to the minimum requirements of Montana law and control over any 
conflicting statutes of any state in which you reside on or after the effective date of your coverage under the 
Policy. 
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LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS 
The following paragraph is added to the PAYMENT OF INTEREST provision in your Certificate: 
 

If payment of proceeds is made after the first 30 days following the date we receive proof of death, the interest 
rate from the 30th day until the date of payment will be the greater of these: 

 The monthly average discount rate on 90-day AA asset-backed commercial paper in effect at the federal 
reserve bank in the ninth federal reserve district on the date proof of death is received. 

 The rate stated in your Certificate. 
 
 

      

       
Melissa A. O’Donnell 

Secretary 
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ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 

 
 

OREGON ACCELERATED BENEFIT DISCLOSURE 
for Group Term Life Insurance 

 
 

Please keep this disclosure with your Certificate. 
 
 
Your Certificate includes an Accelerated Death Benefit Rider that provides a benefit if a covered person is diagnosed 
with a Qualifying Event.  This rider provides payment of a percentage of the death benefit otherwise payable, as noted 
in the rider, while the covered person is living.  The accelerated death benefit payment reduces the amount of life 
insurance payable at death. 
 
“Qualifying Event” means either of the following: 
 Terminal Illness. 
 A medical condition that is reasonably expected to require continuous confinement in an institution and the 

covered person is expected to remain there for the rest of his or her life. 
 
“Terminal Illness” means a medical condition that is expected to result in the covered person’s death within 12 months 
and from which there is no reasonable chance of recovery. 
 
The cost of the accelerated death benefit is incorporated into the cost of life insurance and is not a separately 
identifiable premium.  When an eligible claim is paid, an administrative expense charge may be subtracted from the 
payment. 
 
Following payment of accelerated death benefits, future life insurance premiums for the covered person will be 
waived. 
 
Please refer to the rider for the provisions that relate to your Certificate. 
 
The receipt of accelerated death benefits may be a taxable event, and you should seek additional information about 
the tax status of the payment from a personal tax advisor. 
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NOTICE OF PROTECTION PROVIDED BY 
PENNSYLVANIA LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION  

 
 
This notice provides a brief summary regarding the protections provided to the policyholders by the 
Pennsylvania Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association (“the Association”).  This protection was created 
under Pennsylvania law, which determines who and what is covered and the amounts of coverage. 
 
The Association was established to provide protection in the unlikely event that your member life, annuity, 
or health insurance company, RANLI PPO, hospital plan corporation, professional health services plan 
corporation or health maintenance organization (member insurer) becomes financially unable to meet its 
obligations.  If this should happen, the Association will typically arrange to provide coverage, pay claims, 
or otherwise provide protection in accordance with Pennsylvania law.  The protection provided by the 
Association is not unlimited and is not a substitute for consumers’ care in selecting companies that are 
well managed and financially stable.   
 
Below is a brief summary of the coverages, exclusions and limits provided by the Association.  This 
summary does not cover all provisions of the law; nor does it in any way change anyone’s rights or 
obligations or the rights or obligations of the Association. 
 
 

COVERAGE 
Persons Covered 
 
Generally, individuals will be protected by the Association if the member insurer was a member of the 
Association and the individual lives in Pennsylvania at the time the member insurer is determined by a 
court to be insolvent.  Coverage is also provided to policy beneficiaries, payees or assignees of such 
individuals.   
 
Amounts of Coverage 
 
The basic coverage protections provided by the Association per insured in each insolvency are limited in 
the aggregate to $300,000 (or $500,000 in the case of health benefit plans), including specific limits for the 
following types of coverage but not in excess of the contractual obligations of the member insurer;  
 
Life insurance: 

 Up to $300,000 in death benefits including up to $100,000 in net cash surrender or withdrawal value. 
 

Accident, accident and health, or health insurance (including HMOs): 

 Up to $500,000 for health benefit plans, with some exceptions. 

 Up to $300,000 for disability income benefits. 

 Up to $300,000 for long-term care insurance benefits. 

 Up to $100,000 for all other types of health insurance. 
 

Individual Annuities 

 Up to $250,000 in the present value of benefits, including cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values. 
 
 

LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE 
 

The Association also does not provide coverage for: 

 any policy or contract or portion of a policy or contract which is not guaranteed by the member insurer or for 
which the individual has assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold by prospectus;  
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 claims based on marketing materials or other documents which are not approved policy or contract forms, 
claims based on misrepresentations of policy or contract benefits, and other extra-contractual claims;  

 any policy of reinsurance (unless an assumption certificate was issued); 

 interest rate yields or increases based on an index that exceed an average rate specified by statute; 

 dividends, experience rating credits, or credits given in connection with the administration of a policy or 
contract by a group contract holder; 

 employers’ plans that are self-funded (that is, not insured by member insurer, even if member insurer 
administers them);  

 unallocated annuity contracts (which give rights to group contract holders, not individuals) other than in 
limited circumstances and amounts;  

 certain contracts which establish benefits by reference to a portfolio of assets not owned by the member 
insurer; or  

 policies providing health care benefits for Medicare Parts C or D coverage, for Medicaid or under the 
Pennsylvania program for Comprehensive Health Care for Uninsured Children. 

 
The following policies and persons are among those that are excluded from Association coverage: 

 A policy or contract issued by an insurer that was not authorized to do business in Pennsylvania when it 
issued the policy or contract. 

 If the person is provided coverage by the guaranty association of another state. 

 A policy issued by a fraternal benefit society, a mandatory state pooling plan, a mutual assessment company 
or similar plan in which the policyholder is subject to future assessments, or by an insurance exchange. 
 

NOTICES 
 
Member insurers or their agents are required by law to give or send you this notice, and are prohibited by law 
from using the existence of the Association to induce you to purchase any kind of insurance or other coverage.  
Policyholders with additional questions should first contact their member insurer or agent.  To learn more about 
coverages provided by the Association, please visit the Association’s website at www.palifega.org.  You can 
obtain additional information from the Association by contacting it at the address below.  You may also contact the 
Pennsylvania Insurance Department to file a complaint with the Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner to allege a 
violation of any provisions of Pennsylvania laws and regulations relating to insurance including the law 
establishing the Association: 
 
Pennsylvania Life and Health Insurance   Pennsylvania Insurance Department 
   Guaranty Association     1209 Strawberry Square  
290 King of Prussia Road     Harrisburg, PA  17120 
Radnor Station Building 2, Suite 218    1-877-881-6388 
Radnor, PA  19087      www.insurance.pa.gov 
(610) 975-0572 
 
The summary provided by this notice and on the Association’s website do not limit or alter the more 
comprehensive and detailed provisions of the law and are subject to change without notice.  The statements 
made herein are for information purposes only.  The Association has not reviewed any specific policy, or verified 
the information provided regarding residency or other relevant factors.  Moreover, whether coverage will be 
provided to any specific policyholder can only be determined by reference to the statute in effect, at the earliest, at 
the time that the member insurer is declared insolvent.  No final determination of coverage can be made until a 
member insurer is declared insolvent and the specific factual and legal circumstances can be reviewed.  Nothing 
contained herein is intended to guarantee coverage for any insured, or to bind the Association in any way.  
Finally, this summary and the Association’s website are for general information purposes and should not be relied 
upon as legal advice.   
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NOTICE CONCERNING COVERAGE 

LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS UNDER 

THE SOUTH DAKOTA LIFE AND 

HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY 

ASSOCIATION ACT 
 

 
Residents of South Dakota who purchase life insurance, annuities or health insurance should know that the 

insurance companies licensed in this state to write these types of insurance are members of the South Dakota 

Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association.  The purpose of this association is to assure that policy 

owners, contract owners, and certificate owners will be protected, within limits, in the unlikely event that a 

member insurer becomes financially unable to meet its obligations.  If this should happen, the Guaranty 

Association will assess its other member insurance companies for the money to pay the claims of insured 

persons who live in this state and, in some cases, to keep coverage in force.  The valuable extra protection 

provided by these insurers through the Guaranty Association is not unlimited, however.  And, as noted in the 

box below, this protection is not a substitute for consumers' care in selecting companies that are well-managed 

and financially stable. 
 

  

The Guaranty Association does not provide coverage for all types of life, health, or annuity 

benefits, and the Guaranty Association may not provide coverage for this policy or contract.  If 

coverage is provided, it may be subject to substantial limitations or exclusions, and required 

continued residency in South Dakota.  You should not rely on coverage by the South Dakota Life 

and Health Insurance Guaranty Association in selecting an insurance company or in selecting an 

insurance policy or contract. 

Coverage is NOT provided for your policy or contract for any portion of it that is not 

guaranteed by the insurer or for which you have assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold 

by prospectus. 

Insurance companies or their agents are required by law to give or send you this notice.  

However, insurance companies and their agents are prohibited by law from using the existence of 

the Guaranty Association for the purpose of sales, solicitation, or inducement to purchase any kind 

of insurance policy or contract.   

 

  
The South Dakota Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 

Charles D. Gullickson, Executive Director 

206 West 14th Street 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57104 

Tel. (605) 336-0177 

www.sdlifega.org 

 

South Dakota Division of Insurance 

124 S. Euclid Avenue, 2nd Floor 

Pierre, South Dakota 57501 

Tel. (605) 773-3563 

www.dlr.sd.gov/insurance 

 

 

(Please turn to back of page) 



R-07053h                                                                                                                                                                             Rev 3/02/2020                                                                                

The state law that provides for this safety-net coverage is called the South Dakota Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 

Act.  Below is a brief summary of this law's coverages, exclusions and limits.  This summary does not cover all provisions of the law, 

nor does it in any way change anyone's rights or obligations under the act or the rights or obligations of the Guaranty Association. 

 

COVERAGE  
Generally, individuals will be protected by the Guaranty Association if they live in this state and hold a life or health insurance 

contract, or an annuity, or if they are an insured certificateholder under a group insurance contract, issued by a member insurer.  The 

beneficiaries, payees or assignees of insured persons are protected as well, even if they live in another state.  Coverage is also 

provided by the Guaranty Association to persons eligible to receive payment under structured settlement annuities who are residents of 

this state and, under certain conditions, such persons even if they are not a resident of this state. 

 

EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE 

However, persons holding such policies are not protected by the Guaranty Association if: 

 they are eligible for protection under the laws of another state (this may occur when the insolvent insurer was 

incorporated in another state whose guaranty association protects insureds who live outside that state); 

 the insurer was not authorized to do business in this state; 

 their policy or contract was issued by an HMO, a fraternal benefit society, a mandatory state pooling plan, a mutual 

assessment company or similar plan in which the policy owner, contract owner or certificate owner is subject to future 

assessments, or by an insurance exchange. 

 

The Guaranty Association also does not provide coverage for: 

 any policy or contract or portion of a policy or contract which is not guaranteed by the insurer or for which the individual 

has assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold by prospectus; 

 claims based on marketing materials or other documents which are not approved policy or contract forms, claims based 

on misrepresentations of policy or contract benefits, and other extra-contractual claims; 

 any policy of reinsurance (unless an assumption certificate was issued); 

 interest rate yields that exceed an average rate specified by statute; 

 dividends; 

 credits given in connection with the administration of a policy or contract by a group contract holder; 

 employers' plans to the extent they are self-funded (that is, not insured by an insurance company, even if an insurance 

company administers them); 

 unallocated annuity contracts (which give rights to group contractholders, not individuals); 

 certain contracts which establish benefits by reference to a portfolio of assets not owned by the insurer; or 

 policies providing health care benefits for Medicare Parts C or D Coverage. 

 

LIMITS ON AMOUNT OF COVERAGE 

The Guaranty Association in no event will pay more than what an insurance company would owe under a policy or contract.  In 

addition, state law limits the amount of benefits the guaranty association will pay for any one insured life, and no matter how many 

policies or contracts there are with the same company, as follows: (i) for life insurance, not more that $300,000 in death benefits and 

not more than $100,000 in net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values;  (ii) for health benefit plans, not more than $500,000,  

but not more than $300,000 for disability insurance and long term care insurance, and not more than $100,000 for other types of health 

insurance, and (iii) for annuities, not more than $250,000 in the present value of annuity benefits, including net cash surrender and net 

cash withdrawal values.  However, in no event will the Guaranty Association be obligated to cover more than an aggregate of 

$300,000 in benefits with respect to any one life except with respect to health benefit plans, for which the aggregate liability of the 

guaranty association may not exceed $500,000.  These general statements of the limits on coverage are only summaries and the actual 

limitations are set forth in South Dakota law. 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

The statutes which govern the Guaranty Association are contained in SDCL Chapter 58-29C.  Additional information about the 

Guaranty Association may be found at www.sdlifega.org, which contains a link to SDCL Chapter 58-29C. 

 

Information about the financial condition of insurers is available from a variety of sources, including financial rating agencies such as 

A.M. Best Company, Fitch Ratings, Moody's Investors Service, Inc., and Standard & Poor's.  Additional information about financial 

rating agencies may be obtained by clicking on "Useful Links" on the website of the South Dakota Division of Insurance at 

www.dlr.sd.gov/insurance 

 

The Guaranty Association is subject to supervision and regulation by the director of the South Dakota Division of Insurance.  Persons 

who desire to file a complaint to allege a violation of the statues governing the Guaranty Association may contact the Division of 

Insurance.  State law provides that any suit against the Guaranty Association shall be brought in Hughes County, South Dakota. 



RELIASTAR LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
Home Office:  Minneapolis, Minnesota 

 
 
 

Texas Accelerated Death Benefit Disclosure Notice: 
 
The accelerated death benefit under this Group Policy is intended to qualify for favorable tax 
treatment under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.  If the accelerated death benefit qualifies for 
such favorable tax treatment, the benefits will be excludable from your income and not subject to 
federal taxation.  Tax laws relating to accelerated benefits are complex.  You are advised to 
consult with a qualified tax advisor about circumstances under which you could receive 
accelerated benefits excludable from income under federal law. 
 
Receipt of accelerated death benefits may affect your, your spouse or your family’s eligibility for 
public assistance programs such as medical assistance (Medicaid), Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children (AFDC), supplementary social security income (SSI), and drug assistance 
programs.  You are advised to consult with a qualified tax advisor and with social service 
agencies concerning how receipt of such a payment will affect you, your spouse and your family’s 
eligibility for public assistance. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
R-08121a 
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Texas Residents:  Have a complaint or need help? 
 
If you have a problem with a claim or your premium, call your insurance company first.  If you can’t work out the issue, the Texas 
Department of Insurance may be able to help. 
 
Even if you file a complaint with the Texas Department of Insurance, you should also file a complaint or appeal through your 
insurance company.  If you don’t, you may lose your right to appeal. 
 
ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 
 
To get information or file a complaint with your insurance company:   
 
Call:  Customer Contact Center Manager at 1-800-955-7736 
 
Toll-free:  1-888-238-4840 for Life Insurance and 1-877-236-7564 for Supplemental Benefits Insurance  
 
Email:  LifeClaims@voya.com 
 
Mail:  20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN  55401 
 
The Texas Department of Insurance 
 
To get help with an insurance question or file a complaint with the state:   
 
Call with a question:  1-800-252-3439 
 
File a complaint:  www.tdi.texas.gov 
 
Email:  ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov 
 
Mail:  MC 111-1A, P.O. Box 149091, Austin, TX  78714-9091 
 
Tiene una queja o necesita ayuda? 
 
Si tiene un problema con una reclamacion o con su prima de seguro, llame primero a su compania de seguros.  Si no puedo 
resolver el problema, es possible que el Deparamento de Seguros de Texas (Texas Department of Insurance, pro su nombre en 
ingles) pueda ayudar.   
 
Aun si usted presenta una queja ante el Departamento de Seguros de Texas, tamblen debe presenter una queja a traves del 
proceso de quejas o de apelaciones de su compania de seguros.  Si no lo hace, podria perder su derecho para apelar.   
 
ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 
 
Para obtener informacion o para presenter una queja ante su compania de seguros:   
 
Llame a:  Customer Contact Center Manager at 1-800-955-7736 
 
Telefono gratuito:  1-888-238-4840 for Life Insurance and 1-877-236-7564 for Supplemental Benefits Insurance 
 
Correo electronico:  LifeClaims@voya.com 
 
Direccion postal:  20 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN  55401 
 
El Departamento de Seguros de Texas  
 
Para obtener ayuda con una pregunta relacion ada con los seguros o para presenter una queja ante el estado:   
 
Llame con sus preguntas al:  1-800-252-3439 
 
Presente una queja en:  www.tdi.texas.gov 
 
Correo electronico:  ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov 
 
Direccion postal:  MC 111-1A, P.O. Box 149091, Austin, TX  78714-9091 
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ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 

 
 

VIRGINIA BENEFICIARY DESIGNATION NOTICE 
for Group Term Life Insurance 

 
 

Please keep this notice with your Certificate. 
 
 

BENEFICIARY DESIGNATION MAY NOT APPLY IN THE EVENT OF ANNULMENT OR DIVORCE 
 
Under Virginia law (Virginia Code Section 20-111.1), a revocable beneficiary designation in a policy owned by one 
spouse that names the other spouse as beneficiary becomes void upon the entry of a decree of annulment or divorce, 
and the death benefit prevented from passing to a former spouse will be paid as if the former spouse had 
predeceased the decedent.  In the event of annulment or divorce proceedings, and if it is the intent of the parties that 
the beneficiary designation of the former spouse is to continue, you are advised to make certain that one of the 
following courses of action is taken prior to the entry of a decree of annulment or divorce: 
 Change the beneficiary designation to make it irrevocable. 
 Change the ownership of the policy or contract. 
 Execute a separate written agreement stating the intention of both parties that the beneficiary designation is to 

remain in effect beyond the date of entry of the decree of annulment or divorce. 
 Make certain that the decree of annulment or divorce contains a provision stating that the beneficiary designation 

is not to be revoked pursuant to Section 20.111.1. 
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Wisconsin Complaint Notice 
 
 

KEEP THIS NOTICE WITH YOUR INSURANCE PAPERS 
 
PROBLEMS WITH YOUR INSURANCE? – If you are having problems with your insurance 
company or agent, do not hesitate to contact the insurance company or agent to resolve your 
problem.  

ReliaStar Life Insurance Company 
Customer Service 

P.O. Box 20 
Minneapolis, MN 55440-0020 

1-800-955-7736 
 
You can also contact the OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE, a state agency 
which enforces Wisconsin's insurance laws, and file a complaint. You can file a complaint 
electronically with the OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE  

at its website at http://oci.wi.gov/, 
or by contacting: 

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance 
Complaints Department 

P.O. Box 7873 
Madison, WI 53707-7873 

1-800-236-8517 
608-266-0103. 
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