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This publication contains information, and instructions necessary for a terminating 
employee to apply for deferred retirement benefits administered by NDPERS 
under either the Defined Benefit or the Defined Contribution Plans and 
continuation of insurance.   The deferred forms related to this publication are to be 
completed by BOTH the employer and employee. 
 
This publication is intended to provide general information and may not be 
considered to be a legal interpretation of law. Statements contained in this 
publication do not supersede the North Dakota Century Code or Administrative 
Code or restrict the authority granted to the Retirement Board. 
 
The information in this publication is subject to changes made by the North Dakota 
legislature, by the Board of the North Dakota Public Employees Retirement 
System (NDPERS), and its agents. 

 
 
 

 

https://www.ndpers.nd.gov/


APPLY FOR DEFERRED RETIREMENT 

 

Forms may be submitted to NDPERS by fax, email, or by mail. 
Any forms that are incomplete or not legible will require resubmission to 

NDPERS. 

Applying for Deferred Retirement of your NDPERS Defined Benefit or 
Defined Contribution Plans: 

Defined Benefit Plan Defined Contribution 
Plan 

Complete the Application for 
Deferred Retirement Benefits 
SFN 59044 within 31 days of 
your termination.  If you file too 
late, your account may be 
subject to an automatic refund. 

Complete the NDPERS 
Request for Benefit 
Information SFN 53603 to 
request a retirement benefit 
estimate. 

Complete the Application 
for Deferred Retirement 
Benefits SFN 59044 
within 31 days of your 
termination.  If you file too 
late, your account may be 
subject to an automatic 
refund. 
 

Contact Empower at 1-
866-816-4400 for account
balance information.

Complete the Conversion 
of Unused Sick Leave 
Application- Defined 
Benefit SFN 58358 if you 
want to purchase your 
unused sick leave as 
service credit. 



 MEMBER ACCOUNT BALANCE OPTIONS 

To be eligible for benefits listed below, you must terminate employment. The Administrative 
Code Chapter 71-02-01-01(24) states: “Termination of Employment” means a severance of 
employment by not being on the payroll of a covered employer for a minimum of one month. 
Approved leave of absence does not constitute termination of employment. 

DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: 

MEMBER ACCOUNT BALANCE: 

The member account balance consists of the monthly employee contributions, the vested 
portion of your employer contributions, any purchase payments received and interest. This 
interest is compounded monthly up to the time you receive a refund/rollover of your account or 
begin receiving a monthly benefit. The interest paid on your account is based on a rate 
established by the NDPERS Board and builds on a tax deferred basis. If you take a refund or 
rollover, your retirement funds will not be available until you have been terminated for 
approximately 60-90 days, subject to tax notification requirements.  See “Special Tax Notice 
Regarding Plan Payments”. 

MEMBER ACCOUNT OPTIONS: 

Option 1 
You can choose to have your member account balance paid directly to you. If you choose this 
option, only 80 percent of the taxable amount of your member account balance is payable to 
you because NDPERS is required to withhold 20 percent of the payment for federal tax 
purposes. In addition, if you are under age 59 1/2, you may be subject to an additional 10 
percent penalty for early withdrawal.    If you choose this option, the Refund/Rollover Guide 
Forms are required. 

Option 2 
You can choose to have all, or a portion of, your member account balance directly rolled over 
into an IRA or another employer plan. If you have all or a portion of the amount rolled over, any 
taxable amount not rolled over will automatically be mailed to you and subject to the taxes 
indicated in “Option 1”. The portion rolled over is not taxed until you take it out of the IRA or 
other employer plan. (NOTE: Be sure to check to see if the other employer plan will accept a 
rollover from a 401(a) plan and request a letter of acceptance be forwarded to NDPERS from 
the named financial institution).  If any portion of your rollover includes non-taxable income, then 
the letter of acceptance is required before your request will be processed.  If you choose this 
option, the Refund/Rollover Guide Forms are required. 

Option 3 
Whether vested or not, you can leave your member account balance intact with NDPERS and 
take a refund or rollover at a later date.  Interest continues to compound monthly up to the time 
you receive a refund/rollover of your account.  If you elect to leave your Member Account 
Balance intact with NDPERS, then you must complete the NDPERS Deferred Retirement Guide 
Forms. 



Option 4 [This option is only available for vested members] 
To be vested in a defined benefit program means that you have become legally entitled to a 
monthly benefit from NDPERS when you reach retirement age and terminate employment.  
Under NDPERS, you become vested at: 

Retirement Plan Months For Vesting 
Disability 6 
Main 
Public Safety  
State Public Safety 
State National Guard 
State BCI agents hired before 8/1/2023 

36 

Judges 60 
BCI agents hired on or after 8/1/2023 
Highway Patrol  

120 

You can elect a Deferred Vested Benefit. Under this option, you leave your account with 
NDPERS and elect to receive a monthly benefit at a later date. The earliest age a member can 
begin to receive a monthly benefit may be either age 50 or age 55. Under the Deferred Vested 
Benefit Option, unreduced monthly benefits may begin at age 65 or by meeting the “Rule”, 
whichever happens first. Interest continues to compound on your member account balance until 
you begin receiving a monthly benefit.  If you choose this option, you will need to complete a 
“NDPERS Deferred Retirement Guide”. 



Option 5 
You are eligible to receive NDPERS retirement benefits upon termination of employment if: 

Retirement Plan Eligibility 
Main Plan EARLY RETIREMENT 

 age 55 or older and have 3 years of eligible service credit;
or
NORMAL RETIREMENT

 meets the Rule of 85; (Rule of 90 with minimum age 60 for
members hired on or after 01-01-2016)

 attained age 65 while actively employed with a NDPERS
participating agency.

Public Safety,  
National Guard   
& BCI agents hired 
before 8/1/2023 

EARLY RETIREMENT 
 age 50 or older and have 3 years of eligible service; or

NORMAL RETIREMENT
 meets the Rule of 85
 attained age 55 and have 3 years of eligible service.

BCI Agents hired  
on or after 8/1/2023 

EARLY RETIREMENT 
 age 50 or older and have 10 years of eligible service; or

NORMAL RETIREMENT
 meets the Rule of 85
 attained age 55 and have 10 years of eligible service.

Judges EARLY RETIREMENT 
 age 55 or older and have 5 years of eligible service; or

NORMAL RETIREMENT
 meets the Rule of 85
 attained age 65 while actively employed with a NDPERS

participating agency.
Highway Patrol EARLY RETIREMENT 

 age 50 or older and have 10 years of eligible service; or
NORMAL RETIREMENT (Max. age 60)

 meet the Rule of 80
 attained age 55 and have 10 years of eligible service.

Eligible service credit may include dual membership service. 

See the NDPERS Group Retirement Plan handbook for specific information on early retirement 
reductions, meeting the “Rule”, eligible service credit, and dual membership service. 

You and your employer must complete a “NDPERS Retirement Guide”. 

If you are not vested, your member account balance is less than $1,000 and you do not indicate 
you wish to leave your account intact, you will be issued a refund automatically upon 
termination. 

CONVERTING UNUSED SICK LEAVE TO RETIREMENT SERVICE CREDIT: 
To elect to convert your unused sick leave, the Conversion of Unused Sick Leave 
Application – Defined Benefit SFN 58358 must be completed and received by NDPERS 
before the last day of the month in which you terminate employment or are no longer 
eligible to accrue sick leave hours.   



Why convert unused sick leave? 
Converting unused sick leave means that NDPERS will use the balance of your unused sick 
leave hours at time of termination to offer you an additional number of months for retirement 
service credit that you may choose to purchase. People purchase additional service credit for 
the following reasons: 1) to obtain normal retirement or meet “Rule” 2) to increase the monthly 
benefit amount payable at regular retirement date or 3) obtain both. 

Sick leave conversion with NDPERS is available to you, even if your employer pays out a 
portion of your sick leave at time of separation.  Whether or not you choose to convert and 
purchase service using your remaining unused sick leave hours, your employer will still honor 
any unused sick leave payout agreement you have with them.  Payout of unused sick leave at 
termination by an employer to an employee and converting unused sick leave with NDPERS are 
two different things.  Please confirm any rules that may apply to unused sick leave payout with 
your employer.  

Purchase of Unused Sick Leave Conversion Process 

Step 1: To elect to convert your unused sick leave, the Conversion of Unused Sick Leave 
Application SFN 58358 must be completed and received by NDPERS before the last day of the 
month in which you separate employment or are no longer eligible to accrue sick leave hours.  If 
using pre-tax dollars for your purchase, please ask your Employer to complete Part F on the 
form.  Please review the terms on the conversion application carefully.   

Step 2: You may purchase all or part of your unused sick leave for retirement service credit.  
One month of service credit may be purchased with NDPERS for each 173.3 hours of unused 
sick leave.   

 Number of unused sick leave hours    
______________________________ 
 173.3 (# of working hours in a month) 

Step 3: The cost to purchase sick leave is determined as follows: 

Number of months eligible to purchase (rounded up) 
X 

Final Average Salary (FAS) 
X 

Plan Contribution Rate (16.26% for Main Plan Members) 
= 

Cost to Purchase Unused Sick Leave* 

*After receiving a completed application, the final payment amount will be calculated by
NDPERS and mailed to you.   NDPERS will send you a request for payment, which will include
a Purchase Payment Election Form SFN 53757. If needed, a rollover form, SFN 52059, will also
be included to complete your purchase.

Step 4: Complete all required forms and submit payment in full to NDPERS prior to deadline. 

=  Number of months eligible to purchase (rounded up) 
 



• Payment may be made either on an after-tax basis through personal check or pre-tax
basis with qualified funds (457, 403(b), 401K, IRA, etc.) through direct rollover/transfer.

• You must return the Purchase Payment Election Form SFN 53757 with a personal check
for the retiree health insurance credit (RHIC) amount of the purchase, if applicable. If
making the entire purchase payment with after-tax dollars, write a check for the full
amount.

• If electing to rollover/transfer funds, you must work with your provider to complete the
rollover form SFN 52059.

• The unused sick leave completed forms and payment(s) must be paid by the 15th of
the month following the month of your termination.

2025 Required Contribution Rates: 

16.26%  = Main System 
18.04%  = Public Safety with Prior Service 
15.80%  = Public Safety w/o Prior Service 
21.48%  = State Public Safety 
18.04% = State National Guard 
31.40% = State BCI 
26.66%  = Judges 
38.14% = Highway Patrol System 

FEDERAL LIMITATIONS: 
Certain types of purchase payments may be subject to limitations established in the Internal 
Revenue Code Section 415(c).  Current law may limit after-tax employee contributions into the 
retirement plan.  NDPERS will notify you if federal limits apply to your purchase payment(s). 



 
 

DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN: 
 
 

  
PLAN 

  
FIRST 

ENROLLED 

  
VESTING 

  
CONTRIBUTION 

RATE 

  
OPTIONAL 

CONTRIBUTIONS 
Defined 
Contribution Plan, 
Tier 1 

Prior to 
January 1, 2020 

Gradual vesting  
2 years = 50%,  
3 years =75%,  
4 years =100% 
  

Or 100% vested if 
age 65 while 
employed 

Mandatory EE 
Contribution: 7% 
Mandatory ER 
Contribution: 7.12% 
Mandatory RHIC 
Contribution: 1.14% 

  

N/A 

Defined 
Contribution Plan 
2020, Tier 2 

January 1, 
2020 – 
December 31, 
2024 

Gradual vesting  
2 years = 50%,  
3 years =75%,  
4 years =100% 
  

Or 100% vested if 
age 65 while 
employed 

Mandatory EE 
Contribution: 7% 
Mandatory ER 
Contribution: 8.26% 
No RHIC 

  

N/A 

Defined 
Contribution Plan 
2025, Tier 3 

After December 
31, 2024 

Gradual vesting  
2 years = 50%,  
3 years =75%,  
4 years =100% 
  

Or 100% vested if 
age 65 while 
employed 

Mandatory EE 
Contribution: 4% 
Mandatory ER 
Contribution: 5.26% 
No RHIC  

  
  

If, 
Optional EE Contribution: 
up to additional 3% made to 
either DC plan or NDPERS 
457 plan. 
 
Then, 
Required ER Contribution 
Match: up to additional 3% 

  
  

 
 
Deferred Member Account Balance 
When you terminate employment, you can apply to defer your entire vested account balance.  
Under this option you leave your account balance with the Trustee Company until you either 
take it out as a lump sum or periodic distribution.  If you choose this option, you and your 
employer must complete a “NDPERS Deferred Retirement Guide”. 
 
Lump Sum Distributions 
If you elect this option, your entire vested account balance will be paid to you as a lump-sum 
distribution.  You may elect to roll this lump-sum distribution into an IRA or another eligible 
employer plan. If you choose this option you will need to complete a “NDPERS Refund/Rollover 
Guide” and a “Trustee Company Distribution Form”, which you must obtain from NDPERS. 
 
Periodic Distributions 
If you elect this option, your vested account balance will be paid to you in monthly, quarterly, 
semiannual, or annual periodic payments until your account is exhausted.   If you choose this 



 
 

option you will need to complete a “NDPERS Retirement Guide” and a “Trustee Company 
Distribution Form”, which you must obtain from NDPERS. 
 
Distributions will be subject to the following rules: 
 
1.) Refund Distribution 
Any taxable distribution paid by the Trustee Company directly to you will be subject to 
mandatory Federal income tax withholding of 20% of the requested distribution. You cannot 
elect out of this tax withholding, but you can avoid it by electing a direct rollover distribution. This 
withholding is not a penalty but rather a prepayment of your federal income taxes, although 
there may also be an IRS penalty assessed in certain circumstances. If you are under age 59 
1/2 at the time the distribution occurs, you may be subject to a 10% penalty at the time you file 
your income tax return for the year you took the distribution. 
 
2.) Direct Rollover Distribution 
As an alternative to a cash distribution, you may request that your entire distribution be rolled 
directly into a Traditional IRA or another eligible employer’s plan (if it accepts rollover 
contributions).  Federal income taxes will not be withheld on any direct rollover distribution. 
 
a.) Rollover to an IRA – You must complete a Qualified Plan Distribution Form and indicate the 
name and address of the custodian or trustee, and account number for your Traditional IRA. 
After authorizing your distribution, NDPERS will forward the form to the Trustee Company. A 
check will be issued by the Trustee Company payable to the IRA custodian or trustee for your 
benefit. The check will contain the notation ‘Direct Rollover’ and it will be mailed directly to you. 
You will be responsible for forwarding it on to the custodian or trustee. You must provide 
NDPERS with complete information to facilitate your direct rollover distribution. 
 
b.) Rollover to Another Eligible Employer Plan - You should check with your employer to 
determine if its plan will accept rollover contributions.  If allowed, then you must complete a 
Qualified Plan Distribution Form and indicate the name, address and plan number of your 
employer’s qualified plan. After authorizing your distribution, NDPERS will forward the form to 
the Trustee. A check will be issued by the Trustee Company payable to the trustee of your 
eligible employer plan. The check will contain the notation ‘Direct Rollover’ and it will be mailed 
directly to you. You will be responsible for forwarding it on to the new trustee. You must provide 
NDPERS with complete information to facilitate your direct rollover distribution. 
 
3.) Combination Refund Distribution and Direct Rollover Distribution  
You may request that part of your distribution be paid directly to you and the balance to be 
directly rolled into a traditional IRA or another eligible employer Plan.  Any cash distribution you 
receive will be subject to the Federal income tax withholding rules referred to in the “Special Tax 
Notice Regarding Plan Payments” section of this Guide. 
 
You will pay income tax on the amount of any taxable distribution you receive from the Plan 
unless it is rolled into a traditional IRA or another eligible employer Plan. A 10% IRS premature 
distribution penalty tax may also apply to your taxable distribution unless it is rolled into an IRA 
or another eligible plan.  The 20% Federal income tax withheld under this section may not cover 
your entire income tax liability, so you may choose to complete IRS Form W-4R to withhold a 
greater amount. 
 



 
 

If your vested account balance is less than $1,000, the entire amount will be automatically 
distributed to you unless you request in writing that the vested account balance remain in the 
Plan within 120 days after termination. 
 
DEFINED BENEFIT & DEFINED CONTRIBUTION: 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS FOR REFUNDS/ROLLOVERS  
 
Upon termination of employment, you must complete a “NDPERS Refund/Rollover Guide”.  
Defined Contribution Plan members must also complete a “Trustee Company Distribution 
Form”, which you must obtain from NDPERS.  
 
DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN:  Refunds and direct rollovers will not be issued until you have been 
off your employer's payroll system for approximately 60 to 90 days, subject to Federal and North 
Dakota State laws.  
 
DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN: Refunds and direct rollovers will not be issued until you 
have been off your employer's payroll system for approximately 45 to 60 days, subject to 
Federal and North Dakota State laws.  
 
By receiving a refund/rollover distribution of your member account balance you forfeit all service 
credit to the date of the distribution, as well as: 
 

• Retirement Benefits 
• Disability Benefits 
• Non-Vested Employer Contributions 
• Retiree Health Credit 
• Dakota Plan Health Insurance Coverage* 
• Dental Insurance Coverage* 
• Vision Insurance Coverage* 
 

* If you are participating in any of these benefits at termination, COBRA continuation is available 
for 18 months following loss of coverage as an active employee. 
 
Your termination must be bona fide.  This means there is no indication that you will return to 
NDPERS-covered employment as of the date of your termination.  NDPERS does not permit in-
service distributions.  
 
Should you become re-employed with a participating employer prior to receiving your 
distribution, no refund or direct rollover will be issued, and your retirement account will pick 
up where it left off with your previous employer.  Any NDPERS benefits available through 
your new employer will be reinstated at the same coverage levels as you had with your 
previous employer. 
 

Consult with your tax advisor for further details. 
 



 
 

SPECIAL TAX NOTICE REGARDING PLAN PAYMENTS 
Revised 1/2023 

 
YOUR ROLLOVER OPTIONS 

 
You are receiving this notice because all or a portion of a payment you are receiving from the 
North Dakota Public Employee’s Retirement Plan (the “Plan”) is eligible to be rolled over to an 
IRA or an employer plan. This notice is intended to help you decide whether to do such a 
rollover.  
 
This notice describes the rollover rules that apply to payments from the Plan that are not from a 
designated Roth account (a type of account in some employer plans that is subject to special 
tax rules). If you also receive a payment from a designated Roth account in the Plan, you will be 
provided a different notice for that payment, and the Plan administrator or the payor will tell you 
the amount that is being paid from each account. 
 
Rules that apply to most payments from a plan are described in the “General Information About 
Rollovers” section. Special rules that only apply in certain circumstances are described in the 
“Special Rules and Options” section. Please note that all references to spouse in this notice 
are references to the term spouse according to the federal law, which defines spouse as 
any lawfully married spouse, same or opposite sex. 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT ROLLOVERS 
 
How can a rollover affect my taxes? 
 
You will be taxed on a payment from the Plan if you do not roll it over. If you are under age 59½ 
and do not do a rollover, you will also have to pay a 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions (generally, distributions made before age 59½, unless an exception applies). 
However, if you do a rollover, you will not have to pay tax until you receive payments later and 
the 10% additional income tax will not apply if those payments are made after you are age 59½ 
(or if an exception to the 10% additional income tax applies). 
 
Where may I roll over the payment? 
 
You may roll over the payment to either an IRA (an individual retirement account or individual 
retirement annuity) or an employer plan (a tax-qualified plan, section 403(b) plan, or 
governmental section 457(b) plan) that will accept the rollover. The rules of the IRA or employer 
plan that holds the rollover will determine your investment options, fees, and rights to payment 
from the IRA or employer plan (for example, no spousal consent rules apply to IRAs and IRAs 
may not provide loans). Further, the amount rolled over will become subject to the tax rules that 
apply to the IRA or employer plan. 
 
How do I do a rollover? 
 
There are two ways to do a rollover. You can do either a direct rollover or a 60-day rollover.   
 
If you do a direct rollover, the Plan will make the payment directly to your IRA or an employer 
plan. You should contact the IRA sponsor or the administrator of the employer plan for 
information on how to do a direct rollover. 



 
 

 
If you do not do a direct rollover, you may still do a rollover by making a deposit into an IRA or 
eligible employer plan that will accept it. Generally, you will have 60 days after you receive the 
payment to make the deposit. If you do not do a direct rollover, the Plan is required to withhold 
20% of the payment for federal income taxes (up to the amount of cash and property received). 
This means that, in order to roll over the entire payment in a 60-day rollover, you must use other 
funds to make up for the 20% withheld. If you do not roll over the entire amount of the payment, 
the portion not rolled over will be taxed and will be subject to the 10% additional income tax on 
early distributions if you are under age 59½ (unless an exception applies).   
 
How much may I roll over? 
 
If you wish to do a rollover, you may roll over all or part of the amount eligible for rollover. Any 
payment from the Plan is eligible for rollover, except: 
 

• Certain payments spread over a period of at least 10 years or over your life or life 
expectancy (or the joint lives or joint life expectancies of you and your beneficiary) 

• Required minimum distributions after age 70½ (if you were born before July 1, 1949), 
after age 72 (if you were born after June 30, 1949), after age 73 (if you were born on or 
after January 1, 1951), or after death  

• Corrective distributions of contributions that exceed tax law limitations 
• Distributions of certain premiums for health and accident insurance 

 
The Plan administrator or the payor can tell you what portion of a payment is eligible for rollover. 
 
If I don’t do a rollover, will I have to pay the 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions? 
 
If you are under age 59½, you will have to pay the 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions for any payment from the Plan (including amounts withheld for income tax) that you 
do not roll over, unless one of the exceptions listed below applies. This tax applies to the part of 
the distribution that you must include in income and is in addition to the regular income tax on 
the payment not rolled over.   
 
The 10% additional income tax does not apply to the following payments from the Plan: 
 

• Payments made after you separate from service if you will be at least age 55 in the year 
of the separation 

• Payments that start after you separate from service if paid at least annually in equal or 
close to equal amounts over your life or life expectancy (or the joint lives or joint life 
expectancies of you and your beneficiary) 

• Payments from a governmental plan made after you separate from service if you are a 
qualified public safety employee, and you are at least age 50 or have 25 years of service 
in the year of the separation 

• Payments made due to disability 
• Payments after your death 
• Corrective distributions of contributions that exceed tax law limitations 
• Payments made directly to the government to satisfy a federal tax levy 
• Payments made under a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO) 



 
 

• Payments of up to $5,000 made to you from a defined contribution plan if the payment is 
a qualified birth or adoption distribution 

• Payments up to the amount of your deductible medical expenses (without regard to 
whether you itemize deductions for the taxable year) 

• Certain payments made while you are on active duty if you were a member of a reserve 
component called to duty after September 11, 2001 for more than 179 days 

• Payments excepted from the additional income tax by federal legislation relating to 
certain emergencies and disasters 

 
If I do a rollover to an IRA, will the 10% additional income tax apply to early distributions 
from the IRA? 
 
If you receive a payment from an IRA when you are under age 59½, you will have to pay the 
10% additional income tax on early distributions on the part of the distribution that you must 
include in income, unless an exception applies. In general, the exceptions to the 10% additional 
income tax for early distributions from an IRA are the same as the exceptions listed above for 
early distributions from a plan. However, there are a few differences for payments from an IRA, 
including: 
 

• The exception for payments made after separation from service if you will be at least age 
55 in the year of the separation (or age 50 or 25 years of service for qualified public 
safety employees) does not apply. 

• The exception for qualified domestic relations orders (QDROs) does not apply (although 
a special rule applies under which, as part of a divorce or separation agreement, a tax-
free transfer may be made directly to an IRA of a spouse or former spouse). 

• The exception for payments made at least annually in equal or close to equal amounts 
over a specified period applies without regard to whether you have had a separation from 
service. 

• There are additional exceptions for payments from an IRA, including: (1) payments for 
qualified higher education expenses, (2) payments up to $10,000 used in a qualified first-
time home purchase, and (3) payments for health insurance premiums after you have 
received unemployment compensation for 12 consecutive weeks (or would have been 
eligible to receive unemployment compensation but for self-employed status). 

  
Will I owe State income taxes? 
 
This notice does not describe any State or local income tax rules (including withholding rules). 
 

    SPECIAL RULES AND OPTIONS 
 
If your payment includes after-tax contributions 
 
You can elect to rollover after-tax contributions to an IRA or another employer plan that will 
accept the contributions.  If your rollover includes after-tax contributions, NDPERS will require a 
letter of acceptance from the financial institution that the rollover is to be sent to.  The letter of 
acceptance must indicate that they will accept the after-tax portion of the rollover.  You 
may also want to request information from the financial institution regarding how the record-
keeping for the funds will be handled once the funds are deposited. 
 



 
 

If NDPERS does not receive this letter of acceptance within 6 months from the date your 
rollover application is received, NDPERS will process the rollover by sending the taxable portion 
to the financial institution and the after-tax contributions to you at your mailing address. 
 
After-tax contributions included in a payment are not taxed. If you receive a partial payment of 
your total benefit, an allocable portion of your after-tax contributions is included in the payment, 
so you cannot take a payment of only after-tax contributions. However, if you have pre-1987 
after-tax contributions maintained in a separate account, a special rule may apply to determine 
whether the after-tax contributions are included in a payment. In addition, special rules apply 
when you do a rollover, as described below. 
 
You may roll over to an IRA a payment that includes after-tax contributions through either a 
direct rollover or a 60-day rollover. You must keep track of the aggregate amount of the after-tax 
contributions in all of your IRAs (in order to determine your taxable income for later payments 
from the IRAs). If you do a direct rollover of only a portion of the payment made to you and at 
the same time the rest is paid to you, the after-tax contributions are treated as rolled over last. 
For example, assume you are receiving a complete distribution of your benefit which totals 
$12,000, of which $2,000 is after-tax contributions. In this case, if you roll over $10,000 to an 
IRA that is not a Roth IRA in a 60-day rollover, no amount is taxable because the $2,000 
amount not rolled over is treated as being after-tax contributions. If you do a direct rollover of the 
entire amount paid from the Plan to two or more destinations at the same time, you can choose 
which destination receives the after-tax contributions. 
 
Similarly, if you do a 60-day rollover to an IRA of only a portion of a payment made to you, the 
portion rolled over consists first of the amount that would be taxable if not rolled over. For 
example, assume you are receiving a distribution of $12,000, of which $2,000 is after-tax 
contributions, and no part of the distribution is directly rolled over. In this case, if you roll over 
$10,000 to an IRA that is not a Roth IRA in a 60-day rollover, no amount is taxable because the 
$2,000 amount not rolled over is treated as being after-tax contributions. 
 
You may roll over to an employer plan all of a payment that includes after-tax contributions, but 
only through a direct rollover (and only if the receiving plan separately accounts for after-tax 
contributions and is not a governmental section 457(b) plan). You can do a 60-day rollover to an 
employer plan of part of a payment that includes after-tax contributions, but only up to the 
amount of the payment that would be taxable if not rolled over. 
 
If you miss the 60-day rollover deadline 
 
Generally, the 60-day rollover deadline cannot be extended. However, the IRS has the limited 
authority to waive the deadline under certain extraordinary circumstances, such as when 
external events prevented you from completing the rollover by the 60-day rollover deadline. 
Under certain circumstances, you may claim eligibility for a waiver of the 60-day rollover 
deadline by making a written self-certification. Otherwise, to apply for a waiver, you must file a 
private letter ruling request with the IRS. Private letter ruling requests require the payment of a 
nonrefundable user fee. For more information, see IRS Publication 590-A, Contributions to 
Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs). 
 



 
 

If you were born on or before January 1, 1936 
 
If you were born on or before January 1, 1936 and receive a lump sum distribution that you do 
not roll over, special rules for calculating the amount of the tax on the payment might apply to 
you. For more information, see IRS Publication 575, Pension and Annuity Income. 
 
If your payment is from a governmental section 457(b) plan 
 
If the Plan is a governmental section 457(b) plan, the same rules described elsewhere in this 
notice generally apply, allowing you to roll over the payment to an IRA or an employer plan that 
accepts rollovers. One difference is that, if you do not do a rollover, you will not have to pay the 
10% additional income tax on early distributions from the Plan even if you are under age 59½ 
(unless the payment is from a separate account holding rollover contributions that were made to 
the Plan from a tax-qualified plan, a section 403(b) plan, or an IRA). However, if you do a 
rollover to an IRA or to an employer plan that is not a governmental section 457(b) plan, a later 
distribution made before age 59½ will be subject to the 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions (unless an exception applies). Other differences include that you cannot do a 
rollover if the payment is due to an "unforeseeable emergency" and the special rules under "If 
your payment includes employer stock that you do not roll over" and "If you were born on or 
before January 1, 1936" do not apply. 
 
If you are an eligible retired public safety officer and your pension payment is used to 
pay for health coverage or qualified long-term care insurance 
 
If the Plan is a governmental plan, you retired as a public safety officer, and your retirement was 
by reason of disability or was after normal retirement age, you can exclude from your taxable 
income plan payments paid as premiums to an accident or health plan (or a qualified long-term 
care insurance contract) up to a maximum of $3,000 annually. For this purpose, a public safety 
officer is a law enforcement officer, firefighter, chaplain, or member of a rescue squad or 
ambulance crew.  
 
If you roll over your payment to a Roth IRA 
 
If you roll over the payment from the Plan to a Roth IRA, a special rule applies under which the 
amount of the payment rolled over (reduced by any after-tax amounts) will be taxed.  In general, 
the 10% additional income tax on early distributions will not apply. However, if you take the 
amount rolled over out of the Roth IRA within the 5-year period that begins on January 1 of the 
year of the rollover, the 10% additional income tax will apply (unless an exception applies). 
 
If you roll over the payment to a Roth IRA, later payments from the Roth IRA that are qualified 
distributions will not be taxed (including earnings after the rollover). A qualified distribution from 
a Roth IRA is a payment made after you are age 59½ (or after your death or disability, or as a 
qualified first-time homebuyer distribution of up to $10,000) and after you have had a Roth IRA 
for at least 5 years. In applying this 5-year rule, you count from January 1 of the year for which 
your first contribution was made to a Roth IRA. Payments from the Roth IRA that are not 
qualified distributions will be taxed to the extent of earnings after the rollover, including the 10% 
additional income tax on early distributions (unless an exception applies). You do not have to 
take required minimum distributions from a Roth IRA during your lifetime. For more information, 
see IRS Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs), and 
IRS Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs). 



 
 

 
You cannot roll over a payment from the Plan to a designated Roth account in an employer 
plan. 
 
If you are not a Plan participant 
 
Payments after death of the participant. If you receive a distribution after the participant’s death 
that you do not roll over, the distribution will generally be taxed in the same manner described 
elsewhere in this notice. However, the 10% additional income tax on early distributions and the 
special rules for public safety officers do not apply, and the special rule described under the 
section “If you were born on or before January 1, 1936” applies only if the deceased participant 
was born on or before January 1, 1936. 
 
If you are a surviving spouse 
 
If you receive a payment from the Plan as the surviving spouse of a deceased participant, 
you have the same rollover options that the participant would have had, as described 
elsewhere in this notice. In addition, if you choose to do a rollover to an IRA, you may treat 
the IRA as your own or as an inherited IRA. 
 
An IRA you treat as your own is treated like any other IRA of yours, so that payments made 
to you before you are age 59½ will be subject to the 10% additional income tax on early 
distributions (unless an exception applies) and required minimum distributions from your IRA 
do not have to start until after you are age 70½ (if you were born before July 1, 1949), age 
72 (if you were born after June 30, 1949), or after age 73 (if you were born on or after 
January 1, 1951). 
 
If you treat the IRA as an inherited IRA, payments from the IRA will not be subject to the 
10% additional income tax on early distributions. However, if the participant had started 
taking required minimum distributions, you will have to receive required minimum 
distributions from the inherited IRA. If the participant had not started taking required 
minimum distributions from the Plan, you will not have to start receiving required minimum 
distributions from the inherited IRA until the year the participant would have been age 70½ (if 
the participant was born before July 1, 1949), age 72 (if the participant was born after June 
30, 1949), or after age 73 (if the participant born on or after January 1, 1951). 
 
If you are a surviving beneficiary other than a spouse. 
 
If you receive a payment from the Plan because of the participant’s death and you are a 
designated beneficiary other than a surviving spouse, the only rollover option you have is to 
do a direct rollover to an inherited IRA. Payments from the inherited IRA will not be subject to 
the 10% additional income tax on early distributions. You will have to receive required 
minimum distributions from the inherited IRA. 
 
Payments under a qualified domestic relations order. If you are the spouse or former spouse of 
the participant who receives a payment from the Plan under a qualified domestic relations order 
(QDRO), you generally have the same options and the same tax treatment the participant would 
have (for example, you may roll over the payment to your own IRA or an eligible employer plan 
that will accept it). Payments under the QDRO will not be subject to the 10% additional income 
tax on early distributions. 



 
 

 
If you are a nonresident alien 
 
If you are a nonresident alien and you do not do a direct rollover to a U.S. IRA or U.S. employer 
plan, instead of withholding 20%, the Plan is generally required to withhold 30% of the payment 
for federal income taxes. If the amount withheld exceeds the amount of tax you owe (as may 
happen if you do a 60-day rollover), you may request an income tax refund by filing Form 
1040NR and attaching your Form 1042-S. See Form W-8BEN for claiming that you are entitled 
to a reduced rate of withholding under an income tax treaty. For more information, see also IRS 
Publication 519, U.S. Tax Guide for Aliens, and IRS Publication 515, Withholding of Tax on 
Nonresident Aliens and Foreign Entities. 
 
Other special rules 

If a payment is one in a series of payments for less than 10 years, your choice whether to make 
a direct rollover will apply to all later payments in the series (unless you make a different choice 
for later payments). 
 
If your payments for the year are less than $200 (not including payments from a designated 
Roth account in the Plan), the Plan is not required to allow you to do a direct rollover and is not 
required to withhold for federal income taxes. However, you may do a 60-day rollover. 
 
You may have special rollover rights if you recently served in the U.S. Armed Forces. For more 
information on special rollover rights related to the U.S. Armed Forces, see IRS Publication 3, 
Armed Forces' Tax Guide. You also may have special rollover rights if you were affected by a 
federally declared disaster (or similar event), or if you received a distribution on account of a 
disaster. For more information on special rollover rights related to disaster relief, see the IRS 
website at www.irs.gov. 
 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 
 
You may wish to consult with the Plan administrator or payor, or a professional tax advisor, 
before taking a payment from the Plan. Also, you can find more detailed information on the 
federal tax treatment of payments from employer plans in:  
 
IRS Publication 575, Pension and Annuity Income; IRS Publication 590-A, Contributions to 
Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs); IRS Publication 590-B, Distributions from to 
Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs); and IRS Publication 571, Tax-Sheltered Annuity 
Plans (403(b) Plans). These publications are available from a local IRS office, on the web at 
www.irs.gov, or by calling 1-800-TAX-FORM. 
 

 
 
 
 
 

http://www.irs.gov/


 
 

CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE COVERAGE (COBRA)  
Retiring or Terminating Employees 

Revised 1/2025 
 
Please read this information carefully.  You should retain this notice for your records.  
Please disregard this notice if: 1. you transferred employment to another NDPERS covered employer, or 
2. you are still employed with your current employer and just experienced a change in your employment 
status. 
 
As a result of a recent "Qualifying Event”, your insurance coverage has or will terminate.  Under the 
Federal Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA), you and/or your covered 
dependents that are losing coverage are entitled to continue your group insurance coverage under the 
plan sponsored by your employer beyond the date coverage would normally end.  You may have already 
made an election; however, we are required by federal law to provide you this notice for your records. 
 
You and/or your covered dependents that are losing coverage are "Qualified Beneficiaries".  A family 
member added to the covered employee's contract due to marriage or birth or placement for adoption 
during a period of continuation coverage will also be deemed a qualified beneficiary for COBRA 
purposes.  The spouse or child must be added to COBRA coverage within 31 days from the date of the 
qualifying event. 
 
As qualified beneficiaries, you and/or your eligible dependents losing coverage are entitled to continue 
the same group insurance coverage that you had on the day before the qualifying event (provided that 
the company has not eliminated the policy or changed insurance carriers since the qualifying event).  
Additionally, you are also entitled to COBRA continuation coverage if you have other insurance coverage 
prior to electing COBRA coverage (including entitlement to Medicare). 
 
Under the law, you have a 60-day election period during which you must inform your employer in writing 
or by completing an application that you want continuation coverage.  This election period begins on the 
later of (1) the date you lose coverage due to the qualifying event or (2) the date you are provided your 
COBRA notification.  If you are or become mentally or physically incapacitated during this election 
period, an appointed guardian or responsible party may elect and/or pay for COBRA continuation 
coverage on your behalf.  If you choose COBRA continuation coverage, your election is considered 
made on the date you send your application and payment to the Plan Administrator. 
 
PLAN OR BENEFIT CHANGES 
If you elect continuation coverage, you will receive the same level of benefits under the plan as similarly 
situated active employees. Plan benefits may be modified or amended during the period of continuation 
coverage that may result in a change of premiums in accordance with federal COBRA regulation.  As a 
qualified beneficiary, you are entitled to the same open enrollment rights as active employees. This 
includes special enrollment rights such as adding coverage for newly acquired family members. 
 
Please be advised that notification to an individual, who is a qualified beneficiary as the spouse of a 
covered employee, shall be considered notification to all other qualified beneficiaries residing with such 
spouse at the time such notice is made. 
 
HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN MEMBERS 
If you participate in the NDPERS High Deductible Health Plan with a Health Savings Account (HSA) and 
terminate employment, NDPERS is not responsible for any further employer contributions to your HSA.  
However, prior to depleting your funds or closing your account, please contact NDPERS to verify that all 
contributions have been deposited.  
 
OTHER COVERAGE OPTIONS 
There may be other coverage options for you and your family through the Health Insurance Marketplace, 
Medicaid, Medicare, or other group plan coverage options (such as a spouse’s plan) through what is 



 
 

called a “special enrollment period”.  Some of these options may cost less than COBRA continuation 
coverage. 
 
You should compare your other coverage options with COBRA continuation coverage and choose the 
coverage that is best for you.  For example, if you move to other coverage, you may pay more out of 
pocket than you would under COBRA because the new coverage may impose a new deductible.   
 
When you lose job-based insurance coverage, it’s important that you choose carefully between COBRA 
continuation coverage and other coverage options, because once you’ve made your choice it can be 
difficult or impossible to switch to another coverage option. 
 
Additional details on the Health Insurance Marketplace are provided later in this notice.   
 
CONTINUATION PERIOD  
Your Qualifying Event entitles you and/or your covered dependents to continue coverage for the period 
of 18 months if you are qualifying due to the member’s termination of employment or reduction in hours.  
This period begins on the date your coverage under the group insurance plan would normally cease 
because of the Qualifying Event.  If you have signed an Early Retirement Agreement, whereby your 
employer will pay the premiums for a specified period, any portion of employer paid premium is counted 
towards the 18 months of COBRA continuation coverage. 
 
Continuation coverage may end before the maximum continuation period in certain circumstances, such 
as failure to pay premiums, fraud, or the individual becomes covered under another group health plan. 
 
EXTENDED COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE PERIOD 
Any qualified beneficiary in connection with a qualifying event may be entitled to an extension of 
continuation coverage from 18 to 29 months if an individual is determined under Title II or XVI of the 
Social Security Act to have been disabled at any time during the first 60 days of COBRA continuation 
coverage.  The disability extension applies only if any of the qualified beneficiaries provides notice to the 
plan administrator of the disability determination within 60 days after the date the determination is issued 
and before the end of the original 18-month maximum coverage period.  The affected individual must 
also notify NDPERS within 31 days of any final determination that the individual is no longer disabled.  
The disability extension applies separately to each qualified beneficiary including non-disabled family 
members who are qualified beneficiaries due to the termination or reduction in hours of employment. 
 
In addition, if you are the spouse or dependent of an employee who has been terminated from 
employment or whose hours of employment have been reduced, you may receive an extension of 
continuation coverage if a second qualifying event occurs (such as employee death, divorce, legal 
separation, employee Medicare entitlement or losing dependent status under the Plan) during the 
original 18-month continuation coverage period.  In such a case, the original 18-month period (or 29-
month period, in the case of a disability extension) is expanded to 36 months.  This extension applies 
only if the Plan Administrator is notified in writing within 60 days of the second qualifying event and within 
the original 18 or 29-month coverage period. This extension applies to individuals who are qualified 
beneficiaries because of the first qualifying event and who are still qualified beneficiaries at the time of 
the second qualifying event.  A reduction in hours followed by a termination of employment is not 
considered a second qualifying event for COBRA purposes. 
 
For more information about extending the length of COBRA continuation coverage, visit 
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/EBSA/about-ebsa/our-activities/resource-center/publications/an-
employees-guide-to-health-benefits-under-cobra.pdf. 
 
PREMIUMS FOR COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE 
You will be charged 102% of the applicable group premium rate for the level of coverage you select.  
Unless you expressly elect otherwise, the coverage to be continued will be that which you and/or your 
dependents (if any) had on the day before the qualifying event. However, be aware that each qualified 



 
 

beneficiary has independent COBRA election rights.  The initial premium for continuation coverage 
must be made within 45 days of your COBRA election.   
 
Insurance rates are subject to change.  Contact the NDPERS office for premium information and 
additional details.  The initial premium for continuation coverage must be made within 45 days of your 
COBRA election. 
 
Your continuation coverage will not be effective until the initial premium payment is received.  If the 
initial premium payment is not made within the indicated period, you will forfeit your right to 
continuation coverage.   Subsequent monthly premium payments are due and payable on the 1st day 
of each month for that month's coverage.  Pursuant to COBRA law, your continuation coverage will be 
terminated if your premium is not received by the last day of the month for which coverage was due. 
 
MARKETPLACE INSURANCE COVERAGE 
The Marketplace offers “one-stop shopping” to find and compare private health insurance options.  In the 
Marketplace, you could be eligible for a new kind of tax credit that lowers your monthly premiums and cost-
sharing reductions (amounts that lower your out-of-pocket costs for deductibles, coinsurance, and 
copayments) right away, and you can see what your premium, deductibles, and out-of-pocket costs will be 
before you decide to enroll.  Through the Marketplace, you’ll also learn if you qualify for free or low-cost 
coverage from Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).  You can access the 
Marketplace for your state at www.HealthCare.gov. 
 
Coverage through the Marketplace may cost less than COBRA continuation coverage.  Being offered 
continuation coverage won’t limit your eligibility for coverage or for a tax credit through the marketplace. 
 
You have 60 days from the time you lose your job-based coverage to enroll in the Marketplace as a “special 
enrollment” event.  After 60 days, your special enrollment period will end, and you may not be able to 
enroll.  In addition, during what is called an “open enrollment” period, anyone can enroll in Marketplace 
coverage. 
 
To find out more about enrolling in the Marketplace, such as when the next open enrollment period will be 
and what you need to know about qualifying events and special enrollment periods, visit 
www.HealthCare.gov. 
 
ENROLLMENT IN ANOTHER GROUP PLAN 
You may be eligible to enroll in coverage under another group plan (like a spouse’s plan), if you request 
enrollment within the eligibility window set by the other group plan. 
 
If you or your dependent chooses to elect COBRA continuation coverage instead of enrolling in another 
group plan for which you are eligible, you’ll have another opportunity to enroll in the other group health plan 
within 31 days of losing your COBRA continuation coverage. 
 
If you need a Certificate of Coverage (COC), please contact your insurance carrier for health and dental 
insurances.  For vision, please contact your employer for verification of coverage.  
 
ENROLLMENT IN MEDICARE 
In general, if you don’t enroll in Medicare Part A or B when you are first eligible because you are still 
employed, after the initial enrollment period for Medicare Part A or B, you have an 8-month special 
enrollment period to sign up, beginning on the earlier of 
 

• The month after your employment ends, or 
• The month after group health plan coverage based on current employment ends. 

 
If you don’t enroll in Medicare Part B and elect COBRA continuation coverage instead, you may have to pay 
a Part B late enrollment penalty and you may have a gap in coverage if you decide you want Part B later.  If 



 
 

you elect COBRA continuation coverage and then enroll in Medicare Part A or B before the COBRA 
continuation coverage ends, the Plan may terminate your continuation coverage.  However, if Medicare Part 
A or B is effective on or before the date of the COBRA election, COBRA coverage may not be discontinued 
on account of Medicare entitlement, even if you enroll in the other part of Medicare after the date of the 
election of COBRA coverage. 
 
If you are enrolled in both COBRA continuation coverage and Medicare, Medicare will generally pay first 
(primary payer), and COBRA will pay second.  Certain COBRA continuation coverage plans may pay as if 
secondary to Medicare, even if you are not enrolled in Medicare.  For more information, visit 
https://www.medicare.gov/medicare-and-you. 
 
HOW TO ELECT COBRA CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE COVERAGE 

1. Obtain and complete by following the instructions on the CONTINUATION OF GROUP 
INSURANCE COVERAGE (COBRA) SFN 14120 and return it to the NDPERS office before the 
Election Period Expiration Date.  The form can be found on the NDPERS website at 
www.ndpers.nd.gov. 

2. Pay the initial premium required for COBRA continuation coverage within forty-five (45) days of 
your COBRA election date.  See the Premiums for COBRA Continuation Coverage section.  
You’re responsible for making sure that the amount of your first payment is correct.  Please 
contact NDPERS to confirm the correct amount of your first payment. 

 
TERMINATION OF CONTINUATION COVERAGE 
You may lose your continuation coverage before the end of your maximum coverage period for any of 
the following reasons: 

1. If any required premium is not paid in a timely manner, coverage will cease for you and your 
qualified beneficiaries.  

2. If you or any of your qualified beneficiaries become covered under another group insurance plan 
after the date of COBRA election that does not contain any applicable exclusion or limitation with 
respect to any pre-existing condition.  

3. If all our group insurance plans are terminated (including successor plans), coverage will cease 
for you and your qualified beneficiaries.  

4. If coverage was extended to 29 months due to a disability, coverage will cease if there is a 
determination that the individual is no longer disabled.  Please note: Federal law requires that 
you inform the plan administrator within 31 days of a final determination that the individual is no 
longer disabled.  

5. If you or your qualified beneficiaries become entitled to coverage under Medicare after the date of 
COBRA election, coverage will cease for each individual so eligible.  If you are age 65 or over 
and receive or have applied for Social Security (or qualify for Social Security at an earlier age due 
to a disabling condition) you are considered to be entitled to Medicare.  

6. If you request cancellation of COBRA continuation coverage in writing.  Cancellation requests are 
only prospective from the date NDPERS receives such request. 

7. If the group insurance plan terminates the coverage for cause for similarly situated active 
employees, then the qualified beneficiary's coverage can be terminated on the same basis (such 
as for submission of fraudulent claims, etc.). 

 
IMPORTANT: The plan is required to make a complete response to any inquiry from an insurance 
provider regarding your right to coverage under the plan during the election period. Similar requirements 
exist to provide the status of COBRA coverage inquiries made by insurance care providers during any 
applicable premium payment grace periods. If you elect the continuation coverage, the initial payment 
will cover the first period of continuation coverage beginning immediately after the date that your 
coverage under the group insurance plan ceased. Please see Premiums for COBRA Continuation 
Coverage section of this document. 
 
MORE INFORMATION 
For more information about your rights under COBRA, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, 



 
 

and other laws affecting group health plans, visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employee Benefits 
Security Administration (EBSA) website at http://www.dol.gov/ebsa or call their toll-free number at 1-866-
444-3272.  For more information about health insurance options available through the Health Insurance 
Marketplace, and to locate an assister in your area who you can talk to about the different options, visit 
www.HealthCare.gov. 
 
ADDRESS CHANGES 
To protect your and your family’s rights, keep the Plan Administrator informed of any changes in your 
address and the addresses of family members.  You should also keep a copy in any notices you send to 
the Plan Administrator. 
 

 



 
 

NDPERS HEALTH INSURANCE 
For Refunds, Rollovers and Deferred  

Retirement Accounts  
 

STOP – if you did not 
have NDPERS health 
coverage as an active 
employee you are not 
eligible to be covered 
under NDPERS health 
insurance. 

Are you (and your dependents) currently covered under NDPERS 
health coverage? 

YES NO 

Read Dakota Plan Information 

Complete Continuation of Group 
Insurance Coverage (COBRA) SFN 
14120 to continue or decline. coverage. 



 
 

DAKOTA PLAN 
PPO/Basic and 

High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) 
 
This is information regarding your eligibility for the NDPERS group health coverage under 
the Dakota Plan.  The plan is underwritten by Sanford Health Plan (SHP). 

COBRA COVERAGE: 

Upon termination of employment, your NDPERS health coverage will continue to the end of 
month following the month of your separation from employment. You and your covered 
dependents may apply for COBRA coverage within 60 days of your last day of coverage 
under the group plan if you and your covered dependents were enrolled in the NDPERS 
health plan at time of separation. 
 
You will have the option to continue COBRA coverage for a maximum period of 18 months. 
 
COBRA coverage will be terminated if: 
 
 You or your covered dependents become eligible for an employer-sponsored health plan 
 You or your eligible dependents become enrolled in Medicare. 
 
The following COBRA premiums are in effect through June 30, 2025:   
 
         Single  Family  
  State Agencies     $806.62 $1,945.26 
  
Political Subdivisions enrolled prior to July 1, 2023: 
         Single  Family  
  Grandfathered     $861.82 $2,083.36 
  Non-Grandfathered     $874.92 $2,115.06 
 
Political Subdivisions enrolled after July 1, 2023: 
         Single  Family 

Premiums from July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024:   
  Non-Grandfathered      $852.24 $2,060.14 

 
 Premiums from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025:   
  Non-Grandfathered      $897.60 $2,169.98 
 
If you are a family of two on the health insurance, it may cost less for you to split your 
coverage into two separate contracts during the 18-month COBRA period.  Please contact 
NDPERS for further details and to discuss if this option is best for you.  
 
 



 
 

High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP): 
 
If you are an active state employee covered on the High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) at 
the time you terminate, your coverage in this plan will continue while you are on COBRA. 
You will have an opportunity to discontinue your participation in the HDHP plan and switch 
to the PPO/Basic Plan during the designated annual enrollment period. 
 
Once terminated, there is no longer an employer contribution to a Health Savings Account 
(HSA) on your behalf. However, the premium that you are required to pay reflects that the 
state does not pay an employer contribution and are lower than the PPO/Basic COBRA 
rates. The premiums for HDHP COBRA are: 
 

Single: $   702.86 
Family: $1,694.16 

 
NDPERS is not responsible for depositing employer contributions into your Health Savings 
Account (HSA) once you close the account.  Please contact NDPERS to verify that all 
contributions have been deposited into your HSA account prior to closing it. 
 

EXTENDED COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE: 
 
Disability 
A member of their dependent determined to have been disabled for Social Security purposes 
may extend the continuation of coverage to 29 months.  If member or their dependent 
becomes disabled at any time during the first 60 days of COBRA coverage, the member 
must provide notice of Social Security Disability determination to NDPERS.  This notice must 
be provided to NDPERS within 60 days of the date of any final determination of Social 
Security Disability, but before the end of the 18-month COBRA period. 
 
Death 
Continuation of coverage may be extended for a period up to 36 months for an eligible 
dependent. 
 
CANCELLATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE: 
 
If you wish to cancel your NDPERS health coverage, you must submit a written request 
providing the contract holder’s name, PERSLink Member ID or last four digits of Social 
Security number, and effective cancellation date. Cancellations will only be done at the end 
of the month. We cannot cancel your policy for a partial month or do a retroactive 
cancellation of a policy. NDPERS must receive your cancellation request by the end of the 
month prior to the effective cancellation date. 

 
 



 
 

Additional Features of Dakota PPO/Basic and HDHP Plans: 
 

DISEASE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM: 
 

A disease management program is offered through SHP.  Please contact the Care 
Management Department at 1-877-652-1847. 
 
 
DAKOTA WELLNESS PROGRAM: 
 
Wellness Portal, powered by WebMD: 

 
Resources available on the portal include a Health Assessment (a confidential report and 
custom resources), Wellness Tracking, and Daily Habits (guided programs to help with 
healthy habits and condition management).  Covered members and their eligible spouses can 
earn points to be redeemed towards gift cards and prizes.   
 
After you receive your health insurance ID cards, you will receive a member packet that will 
explain the wellness program in detail. 
 
Fitness Center Reimbursement: 
 
Covered members and their eligible spouse can earn up to a $20 credit monthly for visiting a 
participating health club a minimum of 12 days a month. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

DAKOTA HEALTH PLAN FEATURES 
PPO/BASIC 

For complete features of the Dakota Plan visit https://www.ndpers.nd.gov/ 
 

Preferred Provider Organization (PPO/BASIC): 
 
The Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) is a group of hospitals, clinics and physicians who 
have agreed to discount their services to members of NDPERS. You have "freedom of 
choice" in selecting which physician or medical facility to use for services. No referral is 
needed. If you choose a provider who participates in the PPO program, you will have lower 
out-of-pocket expenses. PPO benefits are only available in the State of North Dakota, unless 
the medical facility provides services at a satellite location in another State. 
 
DEDUCTIBLE AND COINSURANCE: 
 
Deductible, copayments, and coinsurance maximums accrue on a "Calendar-Year" basis, 
January 1 - December 31. 

Plan Features: Basic 
(Self-Referral or 
Out-of-State) 

PPO 
 

Deductible for All Services 

-Per Person $500 $500 

-Per Family $1500 $1500 

Copayment for Physician Office Visits (no 
limit) 

$ 35 $ 30 

Copayment for Emergency Room $ 60 $ 60 

Coinsurance on all covered services except 
Physician Office Visits 

75/25 80/20 

Annual Coinsurance Maximum 

-Individual $1500 $1000 

-Family $3000 $2000 

Annual Out-of-Pocket Maximums (Deductible and Coinsurance)** 

-Individual $2000 $1500 

-Family $4500 $3500 

*Out-of-network coverage is at the Basic level. 
**Office visit and emergency room copayments and prescription drug copayments and 
coinsurance are additional. 

 
     

https://www.ndpers.nd.gov/


 
 

PREVENTIVE SCREENING SERVICES- PPO/BASIC COVERAGE: 
Wellness Services 

 Copayment PPO 
Plan 

Basic 
Plan 

Special Conditions 

Well Child Care (to member’s 6th 
birthday) 

$30/$35 100% 100% Deductible does not apply. 

Preventive Screening Services 
(members 6 and older) 

$30/$35 100% 100% Maximum benefit allowance 
of $200 per member per 
benefit period for any non-
routine screening services. 
Deductible does not apply. 
Benefits beyond the 
maximum benefit allowance 
will be subject to cost 
sharing amounts. Deductible 
does not apply. 

Immunizations  100% 100% Deductible does not apply. 

Mammography & Pap Smear 
Screening Services  

 100% 100% The number of visits for 
mammography varies by 
age group. Maximum benefit 
allowance of 1 Pap smear 
per benefit period. Refer to 
benefit plan for details. 

Prostate Cancer Screening 
Services  

 80% 75% Refer to the benefit plan for 
details. Deductible does not 
apply. 

 
For a Complete list of benefits please refer to the Certificate of Insurance/Summary 
Plan Description. 
 

SUMMARY OF BENEFITS AND COVERAGE (SBC): 
 

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) added a new requirement for the disclosure of a Summary of 
Benefits and Coverage (SBC).  The Summary of Benefits & Coverage (SBC) for the various 
NDPERS group health insurance plans are located on the NDPERS website and can be 
found under the Additional Information section for each plan (PPO/Basic - Grandfathered, 
PPO/Basic Non-Grandfathered and High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP)). These documents 
provide a comprehensive resource for the purposes of comparing coverage levels across all 
plans. 
 



 
 

PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE: 
 
Deductible, copayments, and coinsurance maximums accrue on a "Calendar-Year" basis, 
January 1 - December 31. 
 

Plan Features: Basic 
(Self-Referral or 
Out-of-State) 

PPO 
 

Prescription Formulary Generic Drug 

- Copayment $7.50 $7.50 

- Coinsurance ($1,200 maximum per person 
per benefit period, covered at 100% after 
$1,200 maximum is met) 

12% 12% 

Prescription Formulary Brand-Name Drug*** 

-Copayment $25 $25 

- Coinsurance ($1,200 maximum per person 
per benefit period, covered at 100% after 
$1,200 maximum is met) 

25%  25% 

Prescription Non-Formulary Drug 

-Copayment $30 $30 

-Coinsurance 50% 50% 
  
***One copayment amount per prescription order or refill for a 1–34-day supply. Two 

copayment amounts per prescription order or refill for a 35–100-day supply. Benefits are 
subject to the Outpatient Prescription Drug Coinsurance Maximum Amount. Deductible does 
not apply. 

MAIL ORDER PRESCRIPTION DRUGS: 

Please contact OptumRX at 1-866-833-3463 if you have questions regarding the mail order 
prescription plan. 
 
 
 
 



 
 

HIGH DEDUCTIBLE HEALTH PLAN (HDHP) 
 
If you are an active state employee covered on the High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) at the 
time you terminate, your coverage in this plan will continue while you are on COBRA. You will 
have an opportunity to discontinue your participation in the HDHP plan and switch to the 
PPO/Basic Plan during the designated annual enrollment period. 
 
Once terminated, there is no longer an employer contribution to a Health Savings Account 
(HSA) on your behalf. However, the premium that you are required to pay reflects that the state 
does not pay an employer contribution and are lower than the PPO/Basic COBRA rates. The 
premiums for HDHP COBRA are: 
 

Single: $   702.86 
Family: $1,694.16 

 
NDPERS is not responsible for depositing employer contributions into your Health Savings 
Account (HSA) once you close the account.  Please contact NDPERS to verify that all contributions 
have been deposited into your HSA account prior to closing it.  

 

 

 

 

 

 



 
 

LIFE INSURANCE CONTINUATION 
For Refunds Rollovers and Deferred 

Retirement Accounts 

 

Do you currently have NDPERS Life Insurance? 

YES NO 

STOP 

Do you want to convert your 
group life insurance to individual 
insurance or apply for portable 
coverage under a term life policy? 

YES NO 

STOP You will receive a packet 
from Voya Financial that will 
provide information on 
conversion and portability 
options. 



 
 

         LIFE INSURANCE CONTINUATION   
 
TERMINATION OF COVERAGE: 
 
You will receive a packet from Voya Financial that will include details on converting your life 
insurance to an individual policy or for portability of your existing term life insurance policy.  If 
you have questions on conversion or portability options after you’ve received your letter from 
Voya, please call Voya Customer Service at 1-800-955-7736.  
 
You will have 60 days from the loss of coverage date to convert your life insurance coverage.  
If NDPERS does not receive timely notification of your termination date from your employer, 
this may limit your ability to convert your life insurance.  
 
 



 
 

 

DENTAL INSURANCE  
For Refund, Rollover and Deferred 

Retirement Accounts 

Are you (and your dependents) currently covered under NDPERS 
dental coverage? 

YES 

Read Dental Insurance  
Information 

Complete Continuation 
of Group Insurance 
Coverage (COBRA) 
SFN 14120 to continue 
or decline coverage. 
 

STOP – if you did not 
have NDPERS dental 
coverage as an active 
employee you are not 
eligible to be covered 
under NDPERS dental 
insurance. 

NO 



 
 

DENTAL INSURANCE 
 
This is information regarding your eligibility for the NDPERS group dental plan underwritten 
by Delta Dental of Minnesota. 
 
TERMINATION OF COVERAGE: 
 
If you defer your retirement benefit or take a lump sum distribution of your retirement 
account, your coverage will end with your employment termination. 
 
COBRA COVERAGE: 
 
Upon termination of employment, your NDPERS dental coverage will end on the last day of 
the month for which premiums were paid. You and your covered dependents may apply for 
COBRA coverage within 60 days of the loss of coverage date: 
 
 If you, as an active employee, and your covered dependents were enrolled in the 
NDPERS dental plan on the day before your last day of coverage. 
 
You will have the option to continue COBRA coverage for a maximum period of 18 months.  
COBRA coverage will be terminated if: 
 
 You or your covered dependents become eligible for an employer sponsored dental plan 
 
The following COBRA premiums are in effect through December 31, 2026:   
 
 Individual Only   $  42.24 
 Individual and Spouse  $  81.50 
 Individual and Child(ren)  $  94.62 
 Family     $134.74 
 
Late applications must include a check payable to NDPERS for the first months’ premium.  
Applications received after the 60-day COBRA enrollment period will not be accepted, and 
you will have forfeited your right to continuation coverage. 
 
EXTENDED COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE: 
 
Disability 
A member of their dependent determined to have been disabled for Social Security purposes 
may extend the continuation of coverage to 29 months.  If member or their dependent 
becomes disabled at any time during the first 60 days of COBRA coverage, the member 
must provide notice of Social Security Disability determination to NDPERS.  This notice must 
be provided to NDPERS within 60 days of the date of any final determination of Social 
Security Disability, but before the end of the 18-month COBRA period. 
 
Death 
Continuation of coverage may be extended for a period up to 36 months for an eligible 
dependent. 



 
 

CANCELLATION POLICY: 
To cancel NDPERS dental coverage, a written request must be submitted.  The request must 
provide the contract holder’s name, PERSLink Member ID or last four digits of Social Security 
number, and effective date.  NDPERS must receive a cancellation request by the end of the 
month prior to the effective date.  Cancellations will only be done at the end of the month.  We 
cannot cancel a policy for a partial month or do a retroactive cancellation of a policy. 
 
COVERAGE QUESTIONS? 
For additional information concerning coverage call 1-800-448-3815.  Reference Group # 
537482. 

 



 
 

VISION INSURANCE 
For Refund, Rollover and Deferred 

Retirement Accounts 
Are you (and your dependents) currently covered under NDPERS 
vision coverage? 

YES 

Read Vision Insurance  
Information 

Complete Continuation of 
Group Insurance Coverage 
(COBRA) SFN 14120 to 
continue or decline 
coverage. 
 

STOP – if you did not 
have NDPERS vision 
coverage as an active 
employee you are not 
eligible to be covered 
under NDPERS vision 
insurance. 

NO 



 
 

 

VISION INSURANCE 
 
TERMINATION OF COVERAGE: 
If you defer your retirement benefit or take a lump sum distribution of your retirement 
account, your coverage will end with your employment termination. 
 
COBRA COVERAGE: 
 
Your NDPERS vision coverage will end upon your date of separation from employment.  
You and your covered dependents may apply for COBRA coverage within 60 days of your 
separation of employment if: 
 
 If you, as an active employee, and your covered dependents were enrolled in the 
NDPERS vision plan, and 
 
You will have the option to continue COBRA coverage for a maximum period of 18 months.  
COBRA coverage will be terminated if: 
 
 You or your covered dependents become eligible for an employer sponsored vision plan 
 
The following COBRA premiums are in effect through December 31, 2025:   
  
 Individual Only   $   5.03 
 Individual and Spouse  $ 10.06 
 Individual and Child (ren)  $   9.16 
 Family     $ 14.19 
 
Late applications must include a check payable to NDPERS for the first months’ premium.  
Applications received after the 60-day COBRA enrollment period will not be accepted. 
 

EXTENDED COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE: 
 
Disability 
A member of their dependent determined to have been disabled for Social Security purposes 
may extend the continuation of coverage to 29 months.  If member or their dependent 
becomes disabled at any time during the first 60 days of COBRA coverage, the member 
must provide notice of Social Security Disability determination to NDPERS.  This notice must 
be provided to NDPERS within 60 days of the date of any final determination of Social 
Security Disability, but before the end of the 18-month COBRA period. 
 
Death 
Continuation of coverage may be extended for a period up to 36 months for an eligible 
dependent. 



 
 

CANCELLATION POLICY: 
To cancel NDPERS vision coverage, a written request must be submitted.  The request 
must provide the contract holder’s name, PERSLink Member ID or last four digits of Social 
Security number, and effective date.  NDPERS must receive a cancellation request by the 
end of the month prior to the effective date.  Cancellations will only be done at the end of 
the month. We cannot cancel a policy for a partial month or do a retroactive cancellation of 
a policy.   
 
COVERAGE QUESTIONS:  
For additional information concerning coverage call 1 (800) 507-3800. 

 



 
 

NDPERS ADMINISTERED 
FLEXCOMP PLAN 

 

Are you currently enrolled in an NDPERS Administered Flexcomp plan? 

YES 

A COBRA Flexcomp Notice 
will be mailed to you. 

Complete the Continuation of Coverage 
in Medical Spending Account (COBRA) 
SFN 53512 
 

STOP 

NO 



 
 

NDPERS FLEXCOMP PLAN 
Third Party Administrator: ASIFlex 

 
 
The NDPERS Flex Comp Plan is available to eligible employees of the State of North Dakota, 
participating District Health Units and members of the Legislative Assembly.  Employees of 
the university system and political subdivisions are excluded from participation in the plan. 
 
TERMINATION OF COVERAGE 
 
MEDICAL SPENDING ACCOUNT 
 
If you retire or terminate employment during the plan year, you will be offered continuation 
coverage through the end of the plan year on December 31.  You will have 60 days from your 
separation of service in which to elect continuation coverage by completing the Continuation 
of Coverage in Medical Spending Account (COBRA) SFN 53512.  Unless you elect 
continuation of coverage, your participation will end on the last day of the month of your 
separation from service. Eligible expenses incurred through the end of the month of your last 
working day may be submitted for reimbursement. 
 
Employees who elect continuation coverage are permitted to pre-pay the remainder of the 
medical flexible spending account pledge through the end of the current plan year from their 
final salary paycheck. Eligible expenses incurred through the remainder of the calendar year 
may be submitted for reimbursement. 
 
Payments may also be paid with after-tax dollars by personal check or money order 
throughout the plan year.  If you elect to pay for continuation coverage with after-tax dollars 
throughout the plan year, your contribution will be the amount currently being payroll 
deducted plus a 2% administrative charge.  Coverage will be extended to the end of the 
current plan year but may terminate sooner if the premiums are not paid within 30 days of 
their due date, which is the 1st of every month.  
 
If you have completed participation through the end of the year in which you left employment 
and fulfilled your yearly pledge, you have the option to have eligible expenses incurred during 
the “grace period” from January 1 through March 15 of the new plan year to be reimbursed 
from any remaining balance.  
 
DEPENDENT CARE ACCOUNT 
 
Your contributions will cease, and payroll deductions will stop the end of the month of your 
separation from service.  You may continue to file claims for qualifying expenses that 
occurred through the last day of the month of your separation of service up to the remaining 
balance in your account. 
 
The final day for accepting claims for the plan year from either your Medical Spending or 
Dependent Care Reimbursement account for services received while you were a participant 
is four months after the plan year ends on December 31, or April 30. 

 



 
 

If participation terminated due to a separation of service and you return to state employment 
within 30 days in the same plan year, your election will be reinstated as it was immediately 
prior to the separation of service.  If you return to state employment after 31 days but in the 
same calendar year, you cannot participate for the remainder of the plan year.  This includes 
medical and dependent care flexible spending accounts and ability to pre-tax eligible 
insurance premiums through the NDPERS flexcomp program.  



 
 

DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN 
FOR REFUND, ROLLOVER AND DEFERRED 

RETIREMENT ACCOUNTS 

YES NO 

STOP A Deferred Compensation 
Plan Termination Notice will 

be mailed to you. 
 

 
Are you currently enrolled in an NDPERS Deferred 
Compensation plan? 
 



 
 

       457 DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN 
 

Lump sum payments for accumulated annual leave, sick leave, commissions, bonuses and 
overtime pay, or back pay may be deferred on a pretax basis to your deferred compensation 
plan account.  These deferrals are treated as part of your annual deferrals, and are subject to 
the IRS 457 Plan limits in effect for the year in which the deferrals occur.  Lump sum deferrals 
are subject to FICA taxes before deferral. 
 
You must elect to defer sick leave, annual leave and back pay payments while actively 
employed and in the month prior to the month of termination by completing the 457 Deferred 
Compensation Plan Enrollment/Change Form SFN 3803.  Please see the following page 
for detailed instructions on how to complete this form if you elect to defer your lump 
sum payout into your 457 Deferred Compensation Plan.  The regulations do not allow 
deferrals for retirement or severance incentive payments or buyout payments. 
 
You may not begin to receive distributions from a deferred compensation account until you 
have been off the payroll of a covered employer for one month.  You may elect to begin 
distribution immediately after you have satisfied the 31-day period of separation from 
service, regardless of your age, or you may defer payments to a future date.     
 
If you elect a lump sum distribution of your plan account, you will be subject to a 20% 
Federal income tax withholding requirement.  The Provider Company will send you a 1099R 
statement the year in which you receive a distribution from your account. There is no IRS 
10% penalty or requirement for age 59 ½.  
 
You also have the option to do a direct rollover to an eligible 401(a), 401(k), 457(b), 403(b), 
IRA or another qualified plan that accepts eligible rollover distributions.  If you do a direct 
rollover, taxes are not due until you begin receiving a distribution from your account.   
 
Once you have begun distribution, you have the option to suspend or change the amount of 
the distribution; so long as your required minimum distribution begins at age 70½ (if you were 
born before July 1, 1949), age 72 (if you were born after June 30, 1949), or age 73 (if you 
were born on or after January 1, 1951). 
   
Please consult with your investment Provider representative for assistance in selecting a 
payment option or if you have any questions regarding your tax liability or withdrawal 
penalties. 

 
 
 
 



SFN 3803 – Instructions on How to Complete for Lump Sum Deferral 

Complete 
Part A 

Complete 
Part B 

Check #5. 
Enter last day 

of 
employment 

Complete Part E 

N/A for lump 
sum deferral. 
Part C is used 

for newly 
enrolled 
Defined 

Contribution 
2025 members 
in the first 30 

days of 
employment 



SFN 3803 – Instructions on How to Complete for Lump Sum Deferral 

 

Estimate 
the 

amount 
you will 
be paid 
out and 

enter 
here 

This the month 
prior to when 
your sick and 
annual leave 

will be paid to 
you. For 

example, if you 
are leaving 

employment in 
July, then this 
would be July 

wages 

Sign and date. Must be dated and received the 
month prior to termination. For example, if 

leaving employment in July, this must be 
received by NDPERS in June 
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