MINUTES

North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System SPECIAL MEETING Thursday, January 19, 2023 1:00 P.M.

Members Via Teams:	Chairperson Mona Rindy Ms. Casey Goodhouse Ms. Yvonne Smith Mr. Dirk Wilke Mr. Adam Miller Mr. Jason Grueneich
Others:	Mr. Scott Miller, NDPERS Mr. Derrick Hohbein, NDPERS Ms. Rebecca Fricke, NDPERS Mr. Steve Webster, SHP Mr. Dylan Wheeler, SHP

Chairperson Mona Rindy called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present.

MISCELLANEOUS

Legislative Relations

The Board heard a summary of each bill and discussed what position to take on each.

Bills:

- HB 1413 Relating to copays/deductibles go towards out-of-pocket maximums
- HB 1416 Relating to the freedom of choice for providers.
- SB 2164 Relating to NDPERS Board make-up (legislator from each chamber)
- SB 2239 Relating to Actuarially Determined Employer Contribution (ADEC), the Defined Benefit (DB) Plan remains open and gives new hires a choice between DB & Defined Contribution (DC) plans.
- HB 1442 Relating to state employee personal information
- HB 1469 Relating to Public Funds Investments
- HB 1486 Defined Benefit Plan Closure (Rep Kasper)
- HB 1501 Relating to Soybean Council Privatization.

MR. GRUENEICH MOVED APPROVAL TO TAKE A NEUTRAL POSITION ON HB 1413, OPPOSITION ON HB 1486, HB 1501, AND HB 1416; SUPPORT OF SB 2239, AND TO MONITOR HB 1442. IN ADDITION, MONITOR SB 2164 AND HB 1469, AND TAKE A NEUTRAL POSITION ON THE TWO BILLS IF NECESSARY. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED BY MR. WILKE.

Ayes: Ms. Goodhouse, Mr. Grueneich, Ms. Smith, Mr. Wilke, Mr. Adam Miller, and Chairperson Rindy

Nays: None

Absent: Ms. Ness, Representative Stemen, and Representative Dobervich

MOTION PASSED

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 1:55 P.M.

Prepared by: Jan Lund, Assistant to the Board